Book Notification

Suzanne Goldring Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Powerless (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Name is Eva (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burning Island (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Without a Name (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shut-Away Sisters (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman Outside The Walls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Never Came Back (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Suzanne Goldring is a historical fiction author that previously made a name for herself working in the corporate world. Credited with introducing barcoding in the United Kingdom, she has worked as a public relations consultant and is a specialist in travel and business.
Still, Suzanne had always been a huge reader of fiction works and ultimately she turned toward the writing of novels she loved to read. In 2019, Goldring published “My Name is Eva” her debut novel, and has never looked back since.

She now has more than half a dozen novels to her name most of them about the extraordinary lives of ordinary people. Two of her novels made the list of the First Three Pages of a Novel competition at the Winchester Writers’ Conference.

In addition to her published novels, she has also made available her work “The Way We Lied,” which can be read as a serial on her website. According to the author, she makes use of her experiences to pen many of her engrossing novels.

Goldring has always been a lover of books ever since she was very young. Aged just thirteen, she penned her first novel and at some point believed that she was going to pursue it as a career.

Nonetheless, she would be sidetracked by academic work and after graduation, she got steeped in the weeds of family responsibilities and corporate public relations.

Ultimately, Suzanne got back to fiction writing as she realized she just could not keep the voices in her head silent any longer. She knew that if she never started she would live to regret it.

At the time she was involved in the writing of speeches, newspaper and magazine articles, corporate brochures, and press releases. Having been a writer all her life it was not so difficult to develop her imagination and creative skills to write fiction.
Still, her earlier efforts were not that great and two of her earliest manuscripts have been dumped in a dark and deep drawer and may never see the light of day.

Suzanne Goldring has said that she writes so that she can tell stories that need to be told. Most of her works are thoroughly researched and offer insights into people’s motivations including how they think and behave.

When she is not writing her novels, she can usually be found in the garden. Aside from reading, there is nothing she loves better than digging up potatoes and weeding. Since moving to her cottage she has created a wildlife pond, a vegetable bed, and five new herbaceous beds.

My Name is Eva by Suzanne Goldring asserts that keeping a promise can sometimes have dire consequences. The lead in the novel is Evelyn Taylor-Clarke who lives in the English countryside at the Forest Lawns Care Home.

Her fellow residents are not as sharp of mind as she is but she does not mind. Unlike the other residents, she does her buttons correctly and perfectly applies her lipstick. She also remembers everything including her many secrets.

The one thing she will never forget is a promise she made to her lover. She will do anything in her power to find out the truth about his death, regardless of what it would cost her. When Pat her niece finds the photo of a small girl in an old biscuit tin she has some tough questions for her aunt.

There is a passport with another name and a photo of a little girl entitled Liese 1951. Evelyn finds herself transported back in time to “The Forbidden Village” in Germany where a woman named Eva had trodden in a place where no one else dared.
It was a place of shivering prisoners where she hoped to find the man that had been responsible for the death of her husband.

It makes for a compelling, haunting, and gripping work about betrayal, courage, and love set in a war-ravaged Germany.

Suzanne Goldring’s “The Shut Away Sisters” is the story of a heroic sacrifice, a brutal and long war, and two ordinary sisters. The work is set in 1915 in London where East End London has to deal with a shower of Herman bombs as hungry children make long queues for rations.
This is where Florrie a fifteen-year-old has to grow up really fast while her father fights in the muddy trenches. She had turned to Edith her elder sister for comfort only to find she had been changed by war. She is now a woman with bags under her eyes and is unusually quiet.

Florrie has noticed that she often leaves the house in secret on most nights. When she follows Edith one night she unearths a shocking secret. But she will need to keep her sister’s secret for the sake of her family even though she could pay a huge price for it.
A few years later while running from a relationship gone bad, she finds refuge in Florrie’s house. Sitting on the carpet and looking at photos of her aunt during the war, she notices how she transformed from a young carefree girl with hope in her eyes to a hollow-cheeked and sad woman.

Was there a dark secret behind the locked door in the little house they shared?

“Burning Island” by Suzanne Goldring is a work set in 1943 in Corfu. It follows three-year-old Anna and Matiolde a five-year-old that kissed their mother for possibly the last time.

Their home has been invaded by the Nazis and are being sent to the northeastern end of the rocky island where they are to be hidden by Agata and her husband until the end of the war. Anne and Matiolde are soothed by the many bedtime stories Agata their host tells them.
While no Nazis have yet to find the home built on the rocky hillside, she knows they have never stopped looking for, Jews. But things go horribly wrong when a German soldier unexpectedly appears on the hillside on the day her husband is away on business.

Fast forward to 2016 and Amber and her husband just arrived on the island of Corfu looking for a new start. However, they grow apart with each passing day as they deal with the pressures of pregnancy and unwelcoming neighbors.

Amber soon finds herself drawn to the story of two little girls that had once been hidden by their parents during the Second World War.

It makes for a compelling, heart-wrenching, and gripping read about survival against all odds.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Suzanne Goldring

Leave a Reply