Book Notification

Suzanne LaFleur Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Beautiful Blue World Books

Beautiful Blue World (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Threads of Blue (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Love, Aubrey (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eight Keys (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Listening for Lucca (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Counting to Perfect (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

uzanne LaFleur is a prolific author of children’s books, who hails from Newton, Massachusetts, United States. In her writing career, she has written a novel series and a few standalone novels. Author Suzanne is particularly very popular for writing the Beautiful Blue World series of novels. She was born in a small town near Boston, Massachusetts in the year 1983, and spent her initial years growing up there. Later, she moved to Natick, Massachusetts, and lived there for some time. While growing up, Suzanne enjoyed getting involved in a number things that many people enjoy doing. Some of them included swimming, watching cartoons on Saturday mornings, listening to stories, eating pizza with her family on Fridays, riding bike, etc. Along with these things, she also liked to write scribbles, which she believes that many people didn’t like to do at that time. Suzanne used to do scribbling on papers even though she did not know to write any words or letters yet. One thing she always used to do after scribbling is that she would roll the piece of paper in the form of a scroll and whenever she used to find persons interested in listening to her stories, she would unroll it and read it out loudly. When author Suzanne was studying in the 4th grade at the age of 9 in Wellesley’s Evangelist Elementary School, she was given a composition book with blank pages and was told to complete it by writing 5 lines every day. She did it for some days and then increased her daily quota of lines into pages. As she moved closer towards completing the composition book, her interest in writing stories had reached its maximum level. Soon, author Suzanne decided that she would be writing books for the people of her age after growing up. However, she was told by the elders to change her mind as she had a lot of time in her hand and numerous career options to look at. But, she knew that she was not someone who would change her mind after taking a decision.

While studying in college, Suzanne began focussing on becoming an author. She had already started doing things that would help her become a noteworthy author. It was because of this interest in writing and love for stories that author Suzanne went on to graduate with a double major in European History and English from the Washington & Lee University, located in Lexington, Virginia. Her course allowed her to study everything from language origin to fantasy stories to creative writing. Eventually, Suzanne received a degree with honors for her young adult speculative book known as The Story of Green. Following this, author Suzanne enrolled herself at the graduate school at the New School in the New York City for an MFA degree in Children Writing. It was during the course of this program that she began writing Love, Aubrey. And by the time Suzanne completed the course duration, she had finished writing the book and it became the first published book of her writing career. As of today, author Suzanne manages her time between her homes in Natick and New York City. Nowadays, she has given up bike riding, however, she continues to enjoy her other like swimming, sharing stories, music, developing stories, watching cartoons, eating pizza, etc. In spite of the busy schedule of writing and developing stories, author Suzanne manages to take out some time for herself.

The Beautiful Blue World novel series written by Suzanne LaFleur is comprised of 2 books in total, which were released between the years 2016 and 2017. Both the novels of this children’s book series feature the chief characters in the form of Mathilde and Megs. The plots of the series take place in the fictional country of Sofarende. The debut novel of this series is entitled ‘Beautiful Blue World’. It was released by the Listening Library publication in the year 2016. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that a Mathilde is a 12 year old girl living in Sofarende and having a best friend named Megs. When a war breaks out it Sofarende, Mathilde fears that the coming days will be full of bombings, food shortages, and feuding neighbors. However, she believes that as long as she is with her best friend Megs, both of them will be alright. Later, it is learned that the country’s army is taking in children as new recruits and paying quite good money to the families of the recruited children for the service. Mathilde knows it very well that Megs is going to pass the recruitment test very easily if she volunteers for it. And even Megs is looking forward to it as she sees this opportunity as a means of saving her family. But, if Megs becomes successful in joining the army then she and Mathilde will get separated forever and Mathilde does not want this to happen. Overall, the story turns out to be a good description of a war in which children are able to do the same things as the adults and kindness is used a weapon to fight the war. This book has been nominated for the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award, which is expected to take place in 2018.

The second installment of this series is called ‘Threads of Blue’. It was published in the year 2017 by the Wendy Lamb publishers. Once again, the main characters are depicted as Megs and Mathilde. At the beginning of the start of this book, it is depicted that Mathilde gets taken away from her family because of a war that takes place in her country, Sofarende. The army of her country had recruited her to serve in the war and was employed with a few other children to work on a secret project headed by the military intelligence. After a little while in the mission, all the other children except Mathilde run away to a place of safety, which includes even Mathilde’s dearest friend Megs. Now, as Mathilde is left all alone, she decides to go ahead with the mission and complete so that she can help bring the war to an end and let peace prevail in her motherland. All the while in the secret mission, Mathilde seems haunted by her bold choice of working for a better future of her country rather than her own. However, she gains strength from the fact that she kept her promise that she had made to Megs about being with her always. In the end, Mathilde is shown making her way through a new war at a new stage of her life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Suzanne LaFleur

Leave a Reply