Book Notification

Suzy K. Quinn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Bad Mother Books

The Bad Mother's Diary (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Mother's Detox (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Mother's Pregnancy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Mother's Holiday (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Mother's Christmas (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Mother's Virus (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Mother's Wedding (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Take This Woman (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don’t Tell Teacher (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not My Daughter (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen Bee (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Huxley Sparks and the Book of Secrets (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Greatest Love Story Ever Told (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Lies We Tell Mothers: One Woman's Stumble Through 33 Parenting Myths to Happy Families (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Suzy K Quinn is the pseudonym of Susanna Quinn, a British mystery and romance author who also writes comedy, and psychological thrillers. Once she had her second daughter in 2013, she decided to go the self-publishing route and was lucky once again to have the romantic comedy titled “Bad Mother’s Diary,” become a bestseller on Amazon Kindle. That book has since spawned an entire series of entertaining, easy-to-read, and relatable books.

Quinn’s novels have been translated into over 7 languages and have gone on to sell more than 750,000 copies across the globe. She currently lives with Demi her husband and daughters in Wivenhoe, Essex, and frequently travels to Mexico as she is interested in the study and writing of Mayan stories. When she is not writing her stories, she loves to spend time with friends and family and also does some traveling cooking and drinking.

Suzy and her sister Cath got into writing from a very early age. They had both entered a competition to write a novel at school and been declared joint winners of the award. They had then had aspirations of becoming authors and both have fulfilled their dreams. Quinn went to the University of Nottingham from where she studied Sociology. After graduation, she started working as a ghostwriter and journalist working for several papers including “The Sun,” “The Guardian,” “Sunday Times Magazine,” and “The Guardian.”

However, she had been writing for years having started as a kid writing stories and carrying on right into adulthood. Even though he had achieved some success very early on, the identification of himself as a professional author came in bits and pieces. Nonetheless, since she craved safety and security, she worked as a journalist first and book writing was some kind of hobby as she did it in the background when she was free. By the time she got published under Hodder & Stoughton, she was thirty years old.

Quinn is best known as the author of the Bad Mothers series of books. Each book is a standalone that can be enjoyed on its own, but they also tell an overarching story about Juliette Duffy’s life as well. The stories are told in the form of Juliette’s diary as she tells about her life. Juliette is easy-going, but unapologetic as she tries to cope with life as a new mother. Any mother will relate and sympathize with some of the things that she goes through in these books. Juliette deals with depression, weight gain, and relationship issues while trying to be a good mother. The great thing about Juliette as a character is just how obvious she is with herself and the kind person that she is, she is a character that is easy to root for as she goes through these adventures. The Bad Mothers series has drawn comparisons to the Bridget Jones’ Diary series because of its humor as well as the diary setting.

The series began in 2015 with the release of The Bad Mother’s Diary. The journal musings of Juliette is a unique way to tell this story, but it ultimately works in favor of it. The book sees a woman named Juliette who wants a happy family with her three-month old daughter and her father. Nick, the father, has proposed to her, but she’s having doubts about whether she should have said yes. Since the baby was born, he has spent more time bar hopping than staying home with the baby. Now, Juliette must decide if she wants to stick with her baby daddy or go with her childhood sweetheart, the handsome Alex Dalton. There are some great comedic bits in this novel including a part with a dirty nappy that is all too funny and relatable.

The series continued with Bad Mother’s Detox. This book picks up where the last one left off as Juliette is trying to make things work. She’s taken a job working in her parents’ local pub which is far away from her relationship in London.

The Bad Mother Begins is a look back at what it was like when Juliette got pregnant and all the things that come with it. This is Juliette at her most unapologetic as she deals with her pregnancy. She never apologizes for herself as she deals with her baby’s father Nick and his mother who won’t stop invading their lives. The humor really shines here as Juliette deals with them as well as her other family members including her grandmother who smokes forty cigarettes per day and loves drinking alcohol, and her parents who couldn’t be more different. Her father is a clean living man who does everything the right way while her mother does everything to excess. This is a good book for anyone who has been or is pregnant.

The holidays are front and center in Bad Mother’s Christmas. This novel does a great job of giving good holiday feelings and capturing the spirit of what it is like during that time of year. Of course, it wouldn’t be a Juliette Duffy book without her experiencing some drama with Nick and Alex. Juliette is hoping for the perfect blended family Christmas, but other people have their plans to make sure that won’t happen. Can she get it together in time for Christmas?

The Bad Mother’s Virus is the fifth book in the series and a piece of pandemic fiction. This one sees Juliette trying to plan a wedding during the time of COVID-19, a wedding that might never happen. She’ll also do her best to cheer up her grandmother who is quarantined on a cruise ship while also dealing with the troubles of self isolation. A great book to read if you are feeling gloomy or fed up over the pandemic and in need of a pick me up.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Suzy K. Quinn

Leave a Reply