Book Notification

Sweetfern Harbor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sweetfern Harbor Books

Posies and Poison (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead in Bed (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captain Dead Man (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghostly Tours (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turkey, Pies and Alibis (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery, Snow, and Mistletoe (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Festival Turmoil (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scandal at the Gala (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Elusive Wampum (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chest of Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bead Seller (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fe Fi Fiddle Die (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Is This Suitcase Taken? (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hidden Entity (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finishing the Game (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Panic in the Treats (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Orchestrated Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worst Race Scenario (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Milkweed Grows (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghouls of Engagement (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sledding Away with Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Haven't Yacht a Clue (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Found a Secret (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blizzard You Out (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Sweetfern Harbor” is a bestselling series of cozy mystery novels by cozy mystery author Wendy Meadows. The author is a bestselling author that has made a name for herself writing novels with engaging plots and witty and sassy female sleuths.

She has primarily been influenced by the likes of James Patyterson, Ellery Adams and Joanne Fluke who are some of the genre’s greatest authors.
Before she became a mystery author, Wendy went to the Sessions School of Design in New York and for a time worked as a graphic designer. With her background in design, she has been known to design her book covers. Wendy published “Posies and Poison,” the debut novel of the “Sweetfern Harbor Mystery” series in 2017.

When she is not penning stories about her female detectives that employ tactful techniques to solve crime she loves to engage in different hobbies.
She can often be found coloring her adult coloring books, working on her hobby farm, relaxing on her back porch, and playing video games. She also loves to spend quality time with her family and their cats and dog.

Wendy Meadow’s “Sweetfern Harbor Mystery” series follows the life and times of Brenda. She is introduced as a woman whose uncle left her his estate, which includes the Sheffield Bed and Breakfast in the small town of Sweetfern Harbor.

The B&B is a Queen Anne style mansion from the 1890s, where many of the townsfolk like to spend time. As a native of Michigan, small town dynamics are not something Brenda is used to and hence Sweetfern Harbor is something of a shock to her sensibilities.

Still, she makes friends with the citizens and soon comes to love the peace and quiet. This is a welcome change from the bustling city life and soon thinks she will enjoy being part of the small town community.

She used to work as an assistant for a private investigator and always thought she had it in her to become one. She had never made the leap until she moves to Sweetfermn Harbor and is forced into the business due to strange murder mysteries.

What is interesting is that her closest friends and family are often implicated and in some instances she also finds herself implicated.

“Posies and Poison,” the first novel of the “Sweetfern Harbor” mysteries, opens to Brenda Sheffield receiving a letter that is sure to change her life forever. Her uncle Randolph just left her the Sheffield Bed and Breakfast in her hometown of Sweetfern Harbor.

She had then been working as the assistant to a private investigator but must go back home to take up her inheritance. She is spellbound by the enticing townspeople and colorful shops of Sweetfern Harbor and thinks this is one of the most picturesque and peaceful places in the country.

But she soon learns that the small town is not as peaceful as it seems. Lady Pendleton is a despicable but very wealthy woman who regularly raises rents on homes and businesses and has been known to ruin people she has a vendetta against.

Things get very interesting when Lady Pendleton’s car comes within inches of crashing into the Sheffield Bed and Breakfast. When Brenda goes out to investigate the incident, she finds the old lady slumped over her steering wheel.

The coroner pronounces her dead and with no one else knowing much about investigations Brenda is enlisted by the handsome Detective Mac Rivers to help in resolving the mystery.

Sweetfern Harbor mystery series second novel is “Dead in Bed” which opens with Brenda Sheffield happy to host an east coast ating trop in her bed and breakfast. There is a lot of excitement in the small town as the locals get to watch one of the most famous troupes in the country.

Ellen Teague, the most popular actress in the troupe, takes residence in the second floor suite while Chester Boyd, her assistant, will be living in the adjoining room. Ellen is a narcissistic and demanding boss and Chester has to cater to her every whim.

Following a great performance at the Harbor Park, some lawyer pulls Brenda to the side and tells her that he represents Ellen Teague. The latter has laid a claim to the Sheffield Bed and Breakfast that she claims was left to her by her uncle Randolph.

Ellen and Brenda get into a confrontation which attracts the attention of the rest of the troupe. She thinks nothing of it and retreats to her apartment only to be woken up in the early hours of the morning by one of the troupe members. Ellen is dead and she is the prime suspect.

“Captain Dead Man,” the third novel of the “Sweetfern Harbor” mystery series by Wendy Meadows, opens to excitement running through the smalltown of Sweetfern Harbor. The much anticipated July boat races are nearing and Brenda Sheffield could not be more busy running her B&B.

She has solid bookings for weeks out and turns down many hopeful customers who make dozens of calls every day. She could not be happier as she has also been propositioned by Detective Mac Rivers. The two love birds head to the Morning Sun Coffee Shop, where they meet three boisterous friends.

Scully is a boisterous man who is the current champion of the races and he takes jabs at his friends with Captain Pratt joining in from time to time. Captain Eddy is not much of a speaker but his affable nature draws his own group of fans.

During the day, Mac and Brenda are invited to see some racing boats that have been built by Wally Doyle, a celebrity boat builder. The following morning when they are invited to take private tours they first head to Captain Eddy’s boat. They assume he is inside his boat given that he was not in the company of the other two captains.

They are shocked to stumble upon Captain Edy sprawled out in his cabin, seemingly dead. Initial investigations indicate that this is not a death by natural causes.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sweetfern Harbor

Leave a Reply