Book Notification

Sword of Cartimandua Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sword Of Cartimandua Books

The Sword of Cartimandua (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Horse Warriors (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invasion - Caledonia (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roman Retreat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revolt of the Red Witch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Druid's Gold (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trajan's Hunters (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Frontier (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hero of Rome (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roman Hawk (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roman Treachery (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roman Wall (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roman Courage (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ulpius Felix: Warrior of Rome (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ulpius Felix: Warrior of Rome is a prequel to the series.

Sword of Cartimandua is a historical fiction series by Griff Hosker. The series covers a period that is not often highlighted in history. The first-century marked the beginning of Roman rule in Britain. Skirmishes, war, and assassinations were the order of the day during this era. The tribes of Britain were disadvantaged, but they did not go down without a fight. They often formed alliances in an effort to overthrow the Romans. The Sword of Cartimandua Series highlights significant events that occurred during the British invasion and the tensions that followed after that. Historically accurate yet intriguing, this series will teach you a lot on this crucial part of British history.

The Sword of Cartimandua

The Sword of Cartimandua is the first book in The Sword of Cartimandua series. This book stars Ulpius Felix, the cavalry leader. You will also find details about his unconquerable troopers. Marcus, an auxiliary cavalryman, and Ulpius Felix save the last Brigante queen and change the course of the Romano British history. These two brave young men fight the Carvetii warriors, spies, and assassins who are out to kill the queen. With skill and determination, these two men form a formidable force that goes on to win many wars during this exciting period in history. This fictional story is based on events that occurred at the beginning of Britain’s Roman rule.

Cartimandua was the last Queen of Brigante. The historical warrior queen made a pact with Emperor Claudius only to disappear in AC. 69. This was a characteristic year in history when Roma had four emperors. The presence of many emperors caused many upheavals throughout the Empire. The warrior queen owned a magnificent sword and had a team of troopers who were willing to die for her. For a while, Felix and his team managed to keep the queen’s enemies at bay. The crafty warriors also had a way of collecting intelligence to ensure that the queen is not caught unawares. Their unity also saw them succeed in a period where spies were rife, and no one could be trusted. Despite the team’s many successes, the queen is killed in the first century.

This story covers an important time in history. The author covers the start of the Roman rule in the British Isles up to Emperor Hadrian’s time. Felix is an intriguing character, and it is fun to follow him and his brothers through their numerous adventures. The author has done a great job of describing the mysterious queen, her sword, and the brotherhood amongst Felix’s troop that saw them thrive where others failed. It is incredible that when faced by treachery, cavalry turns into a weapon as powerful as the legendary Catimandua Sword. Everything from the descriptions to the names are so well done, it is hard to tell where the facts end.

The Sword of Cartimandua takes you on a trip down memory lane to a time when the Romans were expanding their territory. As the Romans moved deep into the English Isle, they engaged in many battles and, at times, helped some of the allies they made along the way. Get to read about the Soldiers who marked the beginning of the Roman rule and the adventures they engaged in. This is an enlightening read that will open your eyes to some of the events that shaped our history. The author highlights all the intriguing details, and the writing is interesting enough to keep you glued to the pages up to the end.

The Horse Warriors

The Horse Warriors is the second book in The Sword of Cartimandua series. Again, the author takes us through the early days of the Roman rule in Britannia. The Cartimanduas legacy lives through the sword symbol, and the fierce fighters are now under the leadership of Felix’s faithful lieutenant. Thanks to the failed Boudicca’s rebellion, the region is filled with tension, and there is no doubt that trouble awaits. Auxiliary cavalry is acting as the legion when a rude aristocrat from Rome takes command of the whole frontier. This puts the entire region in danger. The ala officers have to fight the traitors within them as they battle the enemy.

Once again, the Britain tribes are rising against the Romans. Boudicca, charismatic caractacus, and mighty venutius are long dead. The queen and other loyal Rome supporters are also dead, but the fight continues fueled by the Druids of Mon persecution. How far will the Britain tribes go in an effort to protect their land? Who will cross the Roman’s and pay dearly for it? This book comes with an interesting historical perspective that will make you rethink what you know about history. Even though it is part of a series, this piece is self-contained enough to be enjoyed as a standalone.

This is an entertaining tale that highlights a period in history that is not often talked about. Here, you will meet intriguing characters who bring events that happened in the past to life. One interesting character in this book is Fainch, the witch who wishes to revenge the priest and priestesses’ death cause by the Roman soldiers. The author skillfully crafts fact into fiction resulting in a fast-paced and action-packed story with numerous historical references. In addition to flawless narration, the backdrop for these tales is historically accurate. The author has done his footwork in creating historically accurate characters. Hosker also incorporates vivid descriptions of the various conflicts and battles.

The Horse Warriors comes with as much treachery and murder as the first book in this captivating series. As the plot thickens and the characters develop, this series is getting even more intriguing. Get ready for adventure and a few surprises along the way. Once again, the author will take you on a journey filled with skirmishes and battles within the northern borders. The details are well researched and accurate, the characters are compelling, and the pacing is just right. Toward the end, the author also includes historical notes that will help you differentiate between fact and fiction. Go for this book if you are in the mood for some action and an exciting lesson on Britain’s history.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sword of Cartimandua

Leave a Reply