Book Notification

T. Greenwood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Breathing Water (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nearer Than the Sky (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Undressing the Moon (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Rivers (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hungry Season (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Glittering World (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grace (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bodies of Water (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forever Bridge (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where I Lost Her (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Hour (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rust & Stardust (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Keeping Lucy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Such a Pretty Girl (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Still Point (By: Tammy Greenwood) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author T. Greenwood was born in St. Johnsbury, Vermont. Besides being a writer, she is also a photographer. She teaches creative writing online for The Writer’s Center and for San Diego Writer’s Ink. She lives with her husband Patrick and their two daughters in San Diego, California and spend their summers in Newark Pond, Vermont at her family’s camp.

She started writing her own stories when she was only seven years old. At the age of nine, she wrote her first “novel”, using her dad’s huge blue electric typewriter.

Most days, Greenwood works in her pajamas. Beyond that, it is the writing itself as well as the creative process that thrills her. She has an abiding and deep love of story and language. The mere fact that she has been able to parlay this into a “job” is still mind boggling to her.

While writing, she writes daily and will not allow herself to stop until she has hit her daily word count goal. She finds that the only way to get through writer’s block is just to keep writing. Writer’s block, she finds, is just the manifestation of self-doubt.

“Bodies of Water” was one of the finalists for a Lambda Foundation award. She was given a Sherwood Anderson Foundation Award in the year 1999. Greenwood has won four San Diego Book Awards, and five of her books have been BookSense76/IndieBound picks. She has gotten grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, Christopher Isherwood Foundation, and the Maryland State Arts Council.

Her debut novel, “Breathing Water”, was released in the year 1999. Her work is from the genre of literary fiction.

“Breathing Water” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1999. Effie Greer flees the tiny, New England community of Lake Gormlaith after a tragic boating accident. Max, her boyfriend and a man with an explosive temper and a shattered past, has accidentally killed a young black female who was visiting the town for the summer. Effie, unable to deal with her own role in the girl’s dying, goes drifting from different cities until she finds out that Max died from a heroin overdose.

She decides to go back to Lake Gormlaith so that she can confront the events from her past and aid in rebuilding her family’s cabin, the house she grew up in and the place she shared with Max. Shortly after she arrives, small gifts begin appearing mysteriously at her door and Effie eventually finds some salvation in the most unlikely of people.

“Nearer Than the Sky” is the second stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2000. Indie Brown was just four years old when she was struck by lightning. When the story would be retold again and again, her mother heroically saved her life. The way Indie remembers the event is quite different, although hazy. A lot of Indie’s childhood memories are just like this: tinged with unsettling and vague images and suspicions. Her mom, Judy, always fussed over her pretty youngest daughter, named Lily, just as much as she ignored Indie.

This neglect as well as her beloved older brother’s death are the reasons she lives in rural Maine, a long ways away. It is also why her relationship with Lily is filled with tension, and why she dreads ever going back to Arizona. She has got no choice, since Judy is horribly ill, and Lily, who is struggling with a challenge of her own, needs her aid.

Back in Arizona, faced with their mom’s instability and Lily’s hysteria, India slowly starts to confront the truth about her half-remembered past as well as the legacy that continues to haunt her family. While she revisits her childhood, with the lost innocence and nightmares, she finds that she has to reevaluate the choices during adulthood, including some of her precious relationships.

“Undressing the Moon” is the third stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2002. Piper Kincaid, age thirty, feels too young to be dying. Cancer has taken away all of her strength; she would otherwise be all alone but for a friend from childhood that has come home just by chance. With all of the questions about her future lying before her, she is adrift in the past, remembering that fateful summer she turned fourteen and her life was changed forever. Her nervous dad’s search for a job seemed like it had stalled for good, while he hung around the house watching her mom’s each and every move.

What he and Piper both dreaded most finally happened: Her artistic, restless mother, who showed Piper beauty and smelled of lilacs, finally left them. Without anybody to rely on, Piper had a tough time to hold on to what was really important. She had a brother that loved her as well as a teacher that was enthralled with her own potential. Her dad’s distance and her mom’s absence, and a uncomfortable secret threatened her delicate balance.

Piper is left once again with the jagged pieces of a shattered life. If she ever is going to put herself back together again, she is going to have to start with that summer that broke all of them.

“Two Rivers” is the fourth stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2009. Harper Montgomery lives a life that is overshadowed by guilt and grief. After the death of his wife twelve years ago, Harper has narrowed his world down to raising Shelly, his daughter and working at the local railroad. He is still wracked with sorrow for his loss and plagued by the role he played in a long ago and brutal crime, he wants to make amends for the mistakes he once made.

A train derails in Two Rivers and Harper gets a chance for atonement. A pregnant fifteen year old girl is one of the survivors, and she needs a place to stay so Harper offers to take the girl in. he quickly suspects that Maggie’s sudden appearance is not just the simple case of happenstance it appeared at first glance to be.

Book Series In Order » Authors » T. Greenwood

Leave a Reply