Book Notification

Tai Randolph & Trey Seaver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tai Randolph & Trey Seaver Mystery Books

The Dangerous Edge of Things (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darker Than Any Shadow (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood, Ash, and Bone (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deeper Than the Grave (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seventh Rule of Swimming (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Even Past (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zero to Sixty (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reckoning and Ruin (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Small Favors (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Liquor, Larceny, and the Ordinal Classification of Courtship Rituals (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Necessary Ends (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creature Comforts (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assault & Reverie and Other Stories (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Tai Randolph & Trey Seaver series is a popular book series comprising of mystery and suspense novels penned by a very famous American author named Tina Whittle. It is comprised of a total of 5 books, which were released between the years 2010 and 2016. All the books of this series depicted the lead characters in the role of Tai Randolph and Trey Seaver. Tai Randolph is introduced into the series as an owner of a gun shop based on the theme of the Confederate, while Trey Seaver is shown as a security expert in the corporate field in Atlanta, Georgia. Author Tina Whittle has set every book of the series is Atlanta, Georgia. The series sometimes also known by the name, The Tai Randolph series.

This is because out of the two characters, Tai Randolph is given slightly more importance, and so the series is based on his name. Author Whittle has a belief that the self is something very changeable and fluid. This has also been argued by many cognitive scientists, claiming that the self is one form of illusion. Such a belief was developed by author Whittle because she was always fascinated with the identity-based issues, such as how people go on to create a self sense. She used to always wonder whether the processes of the creation of self are accidental or subconscious. This belief of the author can be easily seen in her writings, particularly in the description of the characters of Trey Seaver & Tai Randolph. She has attempted to explore the identity issues through her writings. Whittle has described the chief character, Trey Seaver, as becoming a victim of a brain injury that becomes traumatic for him.

He acquires this trauma after getting involved in a serious car accident. Trey Seaver becomes so traumatic because of the injury to his head that he begins dealing with multiple cognitive challenges. As Whittle has researched and read a lot about neuroscience and cognitive psychology, she ended up developing Trey Seaver into a very complex person. On the other hand, Tai Randolph is shown as an energetic, brash, and bold character. She never feels afraid of speaking whatever comes to her mind in any situation. Author Whittle considers herself to be of exactly opposite nature as that of Tai Randolph. The readers are introduced to Randolph’s character for the first time as a 30 year old woman struggling with some quagmire issues. While celebrating her 30th birthday, she finds it difficult to keep herself true to the ideals she has set in her life. Tai appears to be a headstrong and determined woman, who tries to leave her past behind and move forward.

At the age of 30, she engages in a romantic relationship for the first time. She discovers that the biggest obstacle to her improvement is her own family. Tai finds a best friend in the form of Trey Seaver. Tai moves from her Savannah-based hometown and settles in Atlanta with the hope of finding new opportunities to succeed in life. Trey is a former sniper and an ex-team member of SWAT. He is a mathematics geek and seems perfect in every sense. The only things that seems problematic in his personality are his cognitive issues. When Tai and Trey indulge in a romantic relationship with each other, Trey makes it very clear to Tai that he feels it very essential to keep his personal and professional lives separate, to which Tai also agrees.

The first book of the Tai Randolph and Trey Seaver series written by author Tina Whittle is entitled ‘The Dangerous Edge of Things’. This book was released by the Poisoned Pen publishers in the year 2010. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Tai Randolph is still trying to adjust to her new life of being the owner of a Confederate themed gun shop. She receives a huge shock after learning a murdered body is discovered in the driveway of her brother. To make matters worse, her ever-so-respected brother flees to the Bahamas. Tai Randolph is left to deal with all the firing questions from the police department of Atlanta in relation to the murder and her close relationship with the number one suspect.

As Tai struggles to clear the name of her family from this mess, she faces more complications from Trey Seaver. This expert field agent is given the task of the murder investigation and he seems too good in his work. After recovering from a near-fatal car accident, Trey has become emotionally damaged. But, he manages to be focused and does not fear anything or anyone. Tai becomes surprised in dismay to learn that Trey is very impervious to threats, clever deceptions, and bribes.

She investigates on her own to find out the identity of the victim and any clues about the actual murderer. Her investigation leads her from the adult entertainment’s glamor in Atlanta to Tuxedo Road’s treachery. Tai comes up with a list of potential suspects. But, before she could unravel the real killer, she is made to deal with another dead body and numerous threats to herself. In the end, Tai Randolph realizes that she will have to trust Trey Seaver, the most dangerous she has ever come across in life, to solve the crime.

The next novel of this series is called ‘Darker Than Any Shadow’. It was also published by the Poisoned Pen publication in 2012. The main characters of this novel include Trey Seaver, Rico, Tai Randolph, etc. At the beginning of the story of this book, it is depicted that the arrival of summer proves too much for Tai Randolph as she is already facing the heat because of the demanding job of running the gun shop of her uncle. She learns about her friend named Rico going on to compete in the slam poetry title at the national level. Atlanta is already filled with hundreds of performance poets, who look hungry for fame and Rico has also added himself in that category.

Tai also has the burden dealing with her new relationship with Seaver. In spite of finding him very fascinating, Tai feels that their relationship cannot work out for very long because of the over-working mind of Trey. She thinks of him as a walking lie detector than someone to love. Just when things begin to get back to normal in Tai’s life, one of the fellow poets of Rico gets killed and Rico is taken in by the police authorities as the prime suspect. Now, Tai has to carry out another investigation to prove that her friend is innocent and has nothing to do with the murder. Eventually, she does the needful to save her friend and prevent him from getting punished for a crime not committed by him.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Tai Randolph & Trey Seaver

Leave a Reply