Book Notification

Tales of Alus Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tales of Alus Books

The High King (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emperor's Shadow War (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter’s Edge (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Mage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Mage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hero’s Welcome (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forging New Steel (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Hall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winds of Change (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage Visions (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unexpected Heir (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage Bonds (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle Mage Broken Empire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Caves of Time (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The fantasy author Donald Wigboldy is an extremely adept author at creating far off fantasy worlds and realms with his words. Taking the readers on a journey, he writes in a clear and concise manner, whilst simultaneously allowing his audience to immerse themselves in his stories. With tales of vampires and werewolves, he’s no stranger to writing about the paranormal, as his stories manage to draw from a whole range of different inspirations. Keeping them grounded though, he also works on crafting solid characters as well, with his many readers relating to them and their various plights. Readers from all across the world have taken to his work too, with them resonating on a universal level for everyone. Creating series that manage to keep the reader continually coming back for more is also another well established talent of his. Showing a skill on the page, both in short and long-form narrative, he builds arcs that continue to keep his audience guessing throughout. Whilst it may be his ever expansive worlds that get noticed first, it’s also his attention to detail that really manages to flesh his stories and characters out. His high-concept fantasy series ‘Tales of Alus’ perfectly encapsulates this talent of his, capturing his love and passion for the craft. Following on in the footsteps of such historically infused fantasy as ‘Game of Thrones’, it combines both realistic elements of history and fantasy. Featuring kings and queens battling alongside mages and sorcerers, it manages to transport the reader to the far off realm of Alus. Learning to protect the kingdom from any external forces, the defenders seek to defend the realm against any and all dangers. A classic set of tales featuring good versus evil, these really do stand the test of time and will continue to do so for quite some time to come.

The series itself first started out in 2011 with the title ‘The High King’, which would establish to many books that were to follow. Over the years Wigboldy has come to produce and publish eleven books so far and counting, with the franchise coming a long way in a relatively short amount of time. Using a grand narrative arc to underpin the entire series as a whole, it really manages to work at building the world contained within. This has allowed scores of readers worldwide to immerse themselves in the work, with more and more discovering it every day.

The High King

First published in 2011 on the 27th of April, this is a series that has come a long way over a relatively short amount of time. Brought out on the Kindle, it would work at creating a vast world filled with fantasy and adventure, all whilst making it easy to relate to for the reader too. Setting up the over-arcing narrative of the series as a whole, it definitely manages to create a fun and engaging novel for its readers.

Very much a novel of its genre, this manages to lay out all of the fundamental groundwork needed to pave the way for the forthcoming series. Not only that, but it also manages to create a large and expansive world, complete with its own folklore and myths, making it feel whole for the reader. The characters themselves are also really well realized, as they bring a sense of immediacy that gives the action a wholly realistic feel to it. With real motivations driving them, it allows the reader to really relate to them as people, giving it an entirely universal feel.

The greed of the King of Marshalla has lead his band of ever powerful sorcerers to bring dragons and gargoyles into their realm. Now he has formed an invincible army that will defeat the countries of the North Continent, leading many to fear his next moves. Following a duel between a sixteen year old boy and some of the King’s Guards, Simon, the brother of Gerid Aramathea, is killed. This leads Gerid to flee the country with the hope of returning and making those responsible pay for their heinous crimes. Will they manage to gain the revenge that they seek? Is order ever going to be restored to the land? What will become of them when they face the High King?

The Emperor’s Shadow War

Initially released in 2011 on the 23rd of May, this second title in the ‘Tales of Alus’ series was published not long after the first. Continuing on from the last story, it provides another subsequent story set within this rich and highly immersive fantasy world. Providing the readers with more of what they’ve now come to expect, Wigboldy manages to keep the action and excitement flowing throughout.

After waking up amongst the dead on a battle field, Dante finds himself retracing the path of the dark army that attacked them. That’s when he’s given a mission by his king to go and prevent the Dark Emperor from transporting his forces using the Alus into their realm. Darius is an apprentice wizard who also hopes to seal the portals and prevent the forces from entering their realm, along with the wizards of Aerworld. Both on a mission to help save their world, they will overcome all manner of dangerous obstacles and enemies that lie their path. Will they manage to complete their mission and save everyone? Can they seal the portal in time before the enemies come through? What will become of the Emperor’s Shadow War?

The Tales of Alus Series

A franchise expertly crafted from start to finish, this really is a series that makes the most of its core premise, really following through. With ideas of destiny and strength in the face of adversity, it definitely has a lot of fun with its subject matter as well. It manages to achieve this by getting to the heart of its characters, as Wigboldy has a clear understanding of what drives them as people. Accessible to readers both young and old, it really manages to resonate on a universal level with its classic timeless tales. This looks set to continue for quite some time to come too, with the series looking set to continue indefinitely for years to follow.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Tales of Alus

Leave a Reply