Book Notification

Tanya Bird Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Companion Books

The Royal Companion (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Common Girl (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Majestic Impostor (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Obsession (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Captain's Prize (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rebel's Queen (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Kingdom of Walls Books

Defender of Walls (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defender of Hearts (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defender of Crowns (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Roman Hearts Books

A Gladiator's Oath (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Charioteer's Promise (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Legate's Pledge (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Breathing Water (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shards of You and Me (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kingdom of Chains (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Tanya Bird

An Australian author, Tanya Bird is well known for historical romances and fantasy novels, creating fun and engaging stories. Really immersing her readers she draws from a range of different stories, establishing worlds and introducing characters who really are compelling. This has seen her become a household name for many across the world, allowing her to become an internationally recognized brand name in effect. Reaching an international audience, she’s managed to set herself apart from other writers currently working within her field today.

Her romance is filled with plenty of high-emotions, really taking it up a level for her readers, allowing it come alive off the page. She really understands the tropes of her genre, having fun with them in the process, as she effectively makes them her own. This has seen her find a voice all of her own, as her style is unique and idiosyncratic, saying something completely different in the process. There’s a lot to unpack within her work, as it has many layers to it, delivering on each and every single one of them.

The characters that she creates are also extremely well drawn too, feeling fully three-dimensional as if they’re living, breathing people. This is something that can be seen reflected within the success she’s found with her audience too, as readers from around the world relate to her writing. Keeping them continually coming back for more, she always has something to say too, making herself heard through her work. There’s a lot more to come as well, as she will carry on writing for some time to come, working on into the foreseeable future.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Australia, Tanya Bird would grow up with a keen passion for both reading as well as writing, finding her voice as an author. This would grow over time, allowing her to discover her own path, and becoming the novelist that she wanted to be. During the course of her education this would also grow, allowing her to develop her style as an author and learn her craft.

Gaining a lot of experiences over the years, she would continually be seeking inspiration to put back into her next big idea. She has gained numerous qualifications throughout the years, including a Bachelor of Professional Communication from Monash University. Currently living in Melbourne, Australia, with her husband, she continues to write to this day, with a lot more to come still.

Writing Career

The first book that Tanya Bird would write was called ‘The Royal Companion,’ and this would come out back in 2017. This would also be the first in the ‘Companion’ series of novels, which would incorporate elements of the paranormal and fantasy into the romance novel. There would also be other series too, such as the ‘Roman Hearts’ novels, and the ‘Kingdom of Walls’ series as well.

Largely focusing on romance and fantasy, she would also be hugely interested in history, something which has greatly inspired her. Winning numerous awards over the course of her writing career too, she’s not without critical acclaim either, as well as being a member of the Romance Writers of Australia. This has seen her rapidly grow in prominence over time, reaching readers from all over, as more and more discover her work every day.

The Legate’s Pledge

Originally published in 2019 on the 31st of July, this would be the third and final book in the ‘Roman Hearts’ series of novels. Combining history and romance, it’s an entertaining story using fictional events set in a real time-period, with its own characters and story. Continuing on from the previous too book, it concludes what came before, bringing everything together in a satisfying manner, with many of the characters returning for the last time.

This finale to the historical series set in Roman times is hugely entertaining, with plenty of of strong characters throughout. The story is extremely engaging, and it’s a fun and highly compelling novel with a lot going on and happening at every single level. With large and expansive set-pieces, it balances them well against the more intimate human dramas taking place throughout.

Facing the known largest army in the world, Brei realizes she must kill the leader of these legions heading her way. Not believing in the war any more, General Nerva Papias is tired of the fighting, as he heads north ready to kill all in his path. That’s when he meets the warrior who changes everything, as he takes her captive only to find that his heart may want something else. Will they be able to overcome this hurdle? Where will this journey take them both? What will become of the legate’s pledge?

The Rebel’s Queen

Initially released in 2020 on the 27th of April, this would be the sixth novel in the ongoing series ‘The Companion.’ With elements of both fantasy and romance, this features plenty of drama and excitement, as well as a lot of passion. It’s also the last book in the series, concluding the events of the previous five books too, bringing it all to a conclusion.

The books themselves are best read in order, as the story carries on chronologically, but there’s definitely a lot for the reader to invest themselves in. There’s plenty of action throughout, coming at a good pace, keeping it both lively and exciting, balancing it well against the characters as well. Its world is also well drawn, feeling wholly immersive and real for the reader, allowing them to fully explore.

Married to someone inhumane, Cora feels that she’s got nothing to show from it from the last three years, with no child, and it seems this will forever be her future. Then the rebel prince is arriving, and it seems the corridors of power within the kingdom are shifting, as he is coming for the crown itself. As a mountain rebel, Brom is leading the Nydoen people, and he is next to rule all, with his brother, the now self-destructing king, needing to step aside and allow Brom to take his place. Will the transition be painless? Is Cora’s future really all that certain? What will become of the rebel’s queen?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tanya Bird

Leave a Reply