Book Notification

Ted Darling Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ted Darling Books

Baby's Got Blue Eyes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Little Boys (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
When I'm Old and Grey (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shut Up and Drive (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only the Lonely (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wild Thing (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walk On By (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Preacher Man (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Time Ever (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cry for the Bad Man (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Game You Play (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Girls Are (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Down Down Down (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cuckoo is a Pretty Bird (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Old Town (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of the Line (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's Oh So Quiet (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Woman's Heart (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Way to Say Goodbye (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody Hurts Sometimes (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Little Lies (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Ted Darling series is a set of bestselling detective mystery novels by mystery fiction author L.M. Krier. The writer was born in Cheshire and spent much of her childhood in Stockport, which is also where she got his elementary education.
From there, she went to Harris College, Preston where she studied for a journalism degree. She would then work as a general reporter in Greater Manchester, where she found a job with a weekly newspaper.

She would practice as a journalist for several years as she worked as a coroner’s inquest and court reporter. L.M. Krier had her first commercial writing achievement when a popular California-based television production company bought her story.
They paid a small sum which seemed huge to the teen, given that she wrote it covertly under her desk at school when she was bored with her usual bring lessons.

At some point, she put writing on the back burner for nearly a decade, as she ran and owned a holiday riding center in the windy answer plateaus of Wales.

To make up the shortfall of income from her new business, she used to work as a case tracker for the Crown Prosecution Service during the off-season.

When L.M. Krier moved to France to take care of her ailing mother who was then suffering from dementia, she earned a living as a freelance copywriter.

When her mother died she began writing and made her debut when she published “Baby’s Got Blue Eyes” in 2015. This would be the novel that spawned the popular “Ted Darling” series of novels.

The work was inspired by a dream she had about Detective Inspector Ted Darling as a fully formed character that she just had to write about. The following day, she got down and penned her first chapter as she remembered it from the dream.

She then sent it to her alpha reader friend in Italy, who simply replied with I want more. This was all the encouragement she needed as she went on to pen more than 18 novels in the series and has shown no signs of slowing down.

The “Ted Darling” series of novels is a throwback to classic crime fiction novels. It is a series of novels that has a normal police detective that did not necessarily clash with their superiors.

The lead is detective inspector Ted Darling, who lives with his very talented and understanding partner Trev. In their work, they have to investigate grisly murders in their division and use their skills and experience, and a very unique approach.

This makes for gripping stories that will grab readers by the collar and never let go right to the very end. Unlike the newer brand of detective crime fiction, Ted is a very different kind of detective, despite his obvious talent.
He is not one to go it alone or drink heavily as he follows police procedures and works with his team of detectives perfectly.

Unlike his drinking and constantly rebellious contemporaries, DI Ted Darling has the admiration and respect of his fellow law enforcement officers and superiors.

However, this does not make DI Ted Darling a boring character as the author paints him as a character with depth and warmth who is adept at solving some intriguing even complex murder mysteries.

In “The First Time Ever” Detective Inspector Ted Darling is introduced as an unimposing short man that looks younger than his age. But he is one of the best detective officers and this makes him advance fast through the ranks.
He is a loyal friend, skilled martial arts expert, good solver of mysteries, intuitive investigator, and deadly sniper. Working with Trev, they make a fantastic partnership.

Ted has a promising career until he meets someone who could change his entire perspective in life. The only problem is that he does not like that he is a police detective.

Working as a police officer and particularly as a detective is something he has aspired to ever since he was nine. The question he now has to consider is whether he will be able to fit in with his new surrogate family.

He is a highly trained killer but he is a likable man who is particularly good with people. Almost everyone wants to talk to him as he inspires trust. Because of his skills he has risen through the ranks at CID and is now facing his first murder investigation.

The big question is, Did he make the right choice moving from the regular police force into investigations or did he just commit career suicide?

“Baby’s Got Blue Eyes” the second novel of the “Ted Darling” series of novels continues to follow the life and times of Detective Inspector Ted Darling.

The DI is refreshingly unique in his take on things which has made him one of the most effective detective officers in the CID. He is a well-respected and liked police officer whose team looks to him for guidance.

Things get interesting when the bodies of dead women start turning up in his jurisdiction. They get right into the investigation but after a lot of putting every suspect under the microscope and solid police work, they have hit a brick wall.
When a third body is discovered, it has a very personal message to Ted. Could the killer be someone that is known to him personally?

His imagination is sent into overdrive and he scrambles to find suspects that include the most unexpected people. However, his new line of inquiry may be one of the most dangerous yet.
It is an enjoyable detective crime mystery that makes for some gripping reading.

In “Two Little Boys,” the third novel of the “Ted Darling” series of novels. At the opening of the novel, Detective Inspector Darling is bidding farewell to Jim Baker his old friend and boss.

He is also welcoming Superintendent Caldwell otherwise known as the Ice Queen who will be his new boss. The worst thing about having a new sheriff in town is that she demands that he adopts a more professional appearance.

Ted is not too happy about having to wear a suit and tie, but Treve his partner would like to send a thank you note to Caldwell.

If that was not bad enough, they would have to investigate the vicious murder and rape of a young man which could result in something very sinister.

The inquest unearths hidden nightmares and memories for Ted and dents his relationship with Trev.

It makes for a beautiful suspenseful read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ted Darling

One Response to “Ted Darling”

  1. Diane Middleton: 5 months ago

    Have loved the books and am wondering if there is a book 22?


Leave a Reply