Book Notification

Ted Mark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Man from O.R.G.Y. Books

The Man From O.R.G.Y. (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 9-Month Caper (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dr. Nyet (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Real Gone Girls (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
Back Home at the O.R.G.Y. (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come Be My O.R.G.Y. (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Here's Your O.R.G.Y. (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Son, The Double Agent (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hard Day's Knight (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Around the World is not a Trip (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dial O For O.R.G.Y. (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Room at the Topless (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tight End (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ted Mark Laugh Romp Books

Pussycat, Pussycat (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nude Wore Black (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Nude For Hire (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nude Who Did (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nude Who Never... (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Was a Teeny-Bopper for the CIA (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon
Square Root of Sex (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rip It Off, Relevant! (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Right On, Relevant (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stroke of Genius (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stroke of Lightning (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ted Mark was an American published author of fiction. His full name is Theodore Mark Gottfried. He used the pen name of Ted Mark, Harry Gregory, Katherine Tobias, and more.

Ted was born October 19, 1928. During his lifetime he composed over a hundred books. Some of them were fictional using pen names, while others were nonfiction on topics that ranged from inventors to Holocaust denial to Libya. Using his Ted Mark pseudonym, the author wrote several titles that began getting published in the sixties.

One of these was The Man From O.R.G.Y., the first to kick off a series by the same name. The satirical story was a best seller and the title is a reference or originated from The Man From U.N.C.L.E. The story featured the character of Steve Victor. The books also came out during the height of the James Bond spy movie craze. “O.R.G.Y.” stands for ‘Organization for the Rational Guidance of Youth’. The operation is run by one man and is dedicated to researching sex.

Mark also put out other stand alone titles, such as the 1967 book Circle of Sin or the same year release of I Was a Teeny Bopper for the CIA. The stories would often feature spies and gorgeous women.

The Man From O.R.G.Y. was adapted and made into a feature film that was released in 1970. The movie also went by the title “The Real Gone Girls”. The film was directed by James Hill and is a comedy. It starred Louisa Moritz, Robert Walker Jr., Lynne Carter, Steve Rossi, and Slappy White. The movie was filmed in New York City and Puerto Rico. The movie itself has sex and espionage included in it. It was the feature film debut for Louisa Moritz.

The movie centers around Steve Victor, played by Robert Walker Jr. The man is a scientific investigator and a spy that works for a group called O.R.G.Y. When he gets a mission, he’s off to find out where three prostitutes are that are owed fifteen million from their manager, who is dead. The only thing that he knows about them is that the women each have a distinctive tattoo. Getting in his way are Luigi and Vito, assassins that helped finance a burlesque business.

Meanwhile, another lady of the night does not want her part of the money because she is married and does not want her rich husband to find out what she’s up to. However, she gives Victor some pointers about how to find the other women. Victor will later find out that they are both dead. Apparently Gina may want that money after all. As Gina turns on Vito and attempts to kill Victor, this is a critical moment that will see one or both of them dead. Overall the movie did not get overtly positive reception or reviews, which had an effect on Ted Mark’s career in screen writing.

Ted was born in the Bronx to parents that were Russian immigrants. They would eventually move to Far Rockaway. His father served in World War I and made tools. His business took a huge hit when the Depression rolled around. Ever since the author was young, he wanted to be a writer. When he had completed a year at college, he chose to go work in the publicity department as an office boy at Warner Brothers.

Ted would then start writing for Scamp, a men’s magazine, in the 1950s. He published his first ever novel in 1964 using the pen name Leslie Behan. It was titled “The Midway at Midnight”. He continued to write, getting on the typewriter for hours at a time on a daily basis. He was a prolific writer and could churn out five books per year, and started to do well.

By now he had a family and they moved to Cedarhurst. The author was even something of a celebrity for the area, getting featured in the paper as a best selling writer that had recently moved to the new town. His publishing relationship with Lancer Press went south, but he scored a book deal for multiple novels with Dell. He would later get a deal with Playboy Paperbacks, writing under the pen name of Blakely Saint James.

In the seventies, Ted Mark took a new job at Drake Publications as editor. The new position meant that his writing output did slow down a bit. He also served as editor to High Society for some time, a magazine. He also co-founded with other authors the National Writers Union in 1980, a group whose purpose was to advocate for authors.

In the 1980s, the author began to write stories using his own name. He would write for younger readers, although the books could be read by anyone. He wrote biographies of individuals and then followed that up with books that dealt with public and political issues. He was a supporter of feminism, marching to support women’s rights, and had also marched for civil rights as a young man.

Ted Mark passed away in Manhattan in 2004 from cancer complications.

The Man From O.R.G.Y. is the first novel in the series by the same name. Steve Victor is a man on a mission, and that is to conduct studies about sex.

As part of this, he goes all over the world. From Damascus all the way to Baghdad, Tokyo and Calcutta, Victor is dedicated to his studies. But when he somehow becomes involved with the Chinese’s attempt to steal nuclear secrets from the Soviets and Nikita Khrushchev’s downfall, have things gotten too involved?

Read this classic paperback to find out what happens!

The 9-Month Caper is the second novel in The Man From O.R.G.Y. series by Ted Mark. In the first story, readers got to meet Steve Victor for the first time.

In this engaging sequel, Victor is in Miami when a beautiful woman comes up to him wanting to know his reasons for departing from Tokyo abruptly. The reasons why involve the studious man going to the Caribbean, taking on an army and Castro at the same time. What will happen? Read The 9-Month Caper to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ted Mark

Leave a Reply