Book Notification

Temeraire Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Temeraire Books

His Majesty's Dragon (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Throne of Jade (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Powder War (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Feast or Famine (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empire of Ivory (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory of Eagles (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tongues of Serpents (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vici (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crucible of Gold (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of Tyrants (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
League of Dragons (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Golden Age and Other Stories (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Temeraire Books

Vici(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
His Majesty's Dragon(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Throne of Jade(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Powder War(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empire of Ivory(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory of Eagles(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tongues of Serpents(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crucible of Gold(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of Tyrants(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
League of Dragons(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Golden Age and Other Stories(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Feast or Famine(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Temeraire is a series of novels written by Naomi Novik, an American writer born in New York City 1973. The series is composed of eight books mostly based on fantasy and alternate history. The first book of the Temeraire series that is, His Majesty’s Dragon won the Compton Crook Award in 2007 and was nominated for the Hugo Award for the Best Novel. The writer give a clear flow of the chronological events taking place in the series.

The series basis its story on Legend of the Napoleonic wars where Naomi introduces dragons as the soldiers in the war. The series intrigues the reader’s mind by creating an imagination on how the Napoleonic war would have been like if it were fought using dragons. Temeraire involves two main characters. The first character is Captain William Lawrence, who is a captain in the British army who is directly involved in the Napoleon war. The other main character is Temeraire, a Chinese dragon. The meeting of the two characters is vividly explained in the first novel of the series. Captain William names the dragon Temeraire. The name is that of a famous French ship that was captured by the British Temeraire becomes Captain’s William companion and the series is based on the adventures of these two characters in the Napoleon’s war.

Temeraire and William discover that dragons are treated differently in the different countries that the war is taking place. In Britain, for instance, the dragons are treated as beasts of burden. It was thought that undomesticated dragons could easily turn Feral and hence an Aviator should always there as every egg hatches. This incident explains how William got to be Temeraire’s master. In China, dragons are not harnessed at birth but are raised by other dragons, attend school and after studies are considerers eligible to choose a companion for them. In France, the dragons are treated more or less the same as those in Europe. Dragons in Africa are thought to be Feral, at least by the European’s standards. It is so because many ships disappeared as they tried to seek shelter in the African shores.

The first novel His majesty’s Dragon describes the events that lead to the two main characters meeting. It explained how Captain William’s crew captured a French ship that had an unhatched dragon egg that was just about to hatch. The egg hatched soon after the seizure of the vessel, and William had to harness it to avoid it being Feral. The Aerial Cops try to reassign Temeraire to another handler, but it refuses and sticks to William. Temeraire and William must learn fast to fit into the ways of the Britain Aerial Corps and also participate I their first battles to prevent Bonaparte from capturing the British Isles.

The After their success in the battle of Dover William Temeraire are confronted by forces from the Imperial China. The Chinese are eager to recover their Dragon. According to the Chinese law, William who is a commoner is not worthy of a dragon like Temeraire. After several failed attempts to retrieve the dragon, the Chinese and the British agree on a deal for Temeraire and his flight crew to accompany the Imperial envoys back China. During the transit, attempts are made on William’s life so as to separate him from the dragon. It is also during this voyage that Temeraire contracts a respiratory illness from Volatilus. Temeraire’s health is restored and later on arrival in China he gets to meet his Family members and learn about his true heritage. William, on the other hand, tries to adapt by learning Chinese and also forms an alliance with the French ambassador. Laurence must unravel the motives of the Chinese without upsetting the one of the most established empire of the time.

The Black Powder War that is the third book of the series talks about William and Temeraire’s exit from China. They are to return via Istanbul where they were to recover three dragon eggs bought by the British Government. They encounter a lot of challenges but manage to get to Istanbul. On arrival, they are betrayed by the Sultan, who is convinced by Lien who makes a Private visit to Temeraire and declares that she has set herself to destroying his life and everything he holds dear. In the end, William steals the eggs and escape to Europe and later Australia. William learns of the Napoleon’s victory in the war of Austerlitz.

In the fourth book of the series, William and Temeraire are back in Britain. The dual are shocked by the news that Britain has very few dragons to spare due to a flu-liked disease that has infected most of the dragons. The two try to campaign for Dragon equality in the British society. William’s campaign is short-lived as Temeraire, and his crews are sent to Africa to search for a cure for the flu.

In the fifth book of the series, Williams and Temeraire are separated following Williams’s imprisonment due to Temeraire misconduct. Later William is reported to have died when the ship he was aboard was sunk. Temeraire goes rogue on receipt of the news. Napoleon invades, and Temeraire takes upon himself to mobilize as many dragons as possible to save Britain.

The sixth book which is the Tongue of the serpents begins with William and Temeraire in New South Wales. In this book, Williams and Temeraire are decommissioned to Australia so as make a new beginning for themselves on the unfamiliar but promising new continent. The seventh book, Crucible of Gold, talks about Williams’s reinstatement to the Navy to assist in the Napoleon war. The second last novel of the series, Blood of Tyrants talks about Williams and Temeraire’s plan to seek help from China. They soon discover that their quest may be difficult as there are other forces at play in China.

The series is entertaining and involves the audience in active imagination through a vivid explanation of the setting and the scenes in which the story is taking place. Temeraire is a masterpiece and hence a must read for all those who fancy alternate history.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Temeraire

One Response to “Temeraire”

  1. Gary Fothergill: 1 year ago

    I received a box set of the first 3 books as a present and have thoroughly enjoyed them.
    Thank you for the enjoyment of spending some time in an alternate history. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.


Leave a Reply