Book Notification

Tess Rothery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lady and her Cat Mystery Books

A Deadly Affair in Petit-Paris (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Miracle Lake Mystery Books

Romance is Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Taylor Quinn Quilt Shop Mystery Books

Assault and Batting (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound and Deceased (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cups and Killers (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dutch Hex (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor's New Quilt (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fruit Basket Upset (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Bones (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stitch in Crime (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tess Rothery
Tess Rothery is an avid knitter, quilter, publishing teacher, and writer. She lives with her cozy family in Washington State where the rainy days are best spent with a dog by her side, something mysterious to read, and a mug of hot coffee.

Tess was the Mystery/Suspense Category winner for the 2012 Christian Writers of the West Phoenix Rattler Contest, and has a Drammy from the Portland Civic Theatre Guild.

Tess served as the Vice President of the Portland chapter of the American Christian Fiction Writers Association for two terms.

She’s taught indie publishing at the Oregon Christian Writers Summer Coaching conference for the American Christian Fiction Writers, and at the Southwest Washington Writers Conference.

She has a history degree from Portland State University and she still lives in the rainiest part of the Pacific Northwest.

“Assault and Batting” is the first novel in the “Taylor Quinn Quilt Shop Mystery” series and was released in 2019. Taylor Quinn has got it all, at least by millennial standards, anyway. A home in the city, a good job, and somebody that she loves sharing life with.

However when her mother dies unexpectedly, she does not hesitate to drop everything for her family. With an elderly grandpa at home, a little sister still attending high school, and the family quilt shop to run, she knows exactly where she needs to be. Belle, Taylor’s sister, fears that her mom’s death was her own fault. She believes that her birth mother might just have wanted her back badly enough to kill.

The Quinn girls, in order to lay Belle’s fears to rest, seek out precisely what went down the night of the accident. However in doing so, Taylor finds herself getting tangled up in a mess of secrets, envy, and some small town gossip which threatens to unravel this family she loves so much.

Ripping out the stitches which hold her dear family together might be the one and only way to keep their lives from falling apart.

“Bound and Deceased” is the second novel in the “Taylor Quinn Quilt Shop Mystery” series and was released in 2020. Taylor Quinn believed she was all done with murder.

She had settled into her life as the owner of Flour Sax Quilt Shop in Comfort, Oregon, finally. It was not all that exciting, however there were compensations, like spending time with handsome Hudson the handyman, and getting the chance to be closer to Grandpa Ernie.

However when her new friend Sissy Dorney’s favorite aunt dies under rather mysterious circumstances, Taylor’s the very first person she turns to for some help. The deceased was a celebrated quilter and newlywed that just might have been murdered for her money, however then again, it could actually have been plain old romantic jealousy as well.

Taylor, without any shortage of motives or suspects, has got her work cut out for her, however she is still up to the task. After all, Comfort is a small town, and the townies look out for each other.

“Cups and Killers” is the third novel in the “Taylor Quinn Quilt Shop Mystery” series and was released in 2020. Everyone keeps saying that it is time to send Grandpa Ernie to some old folks home, however Taylor Quinn is not so sure she agrees. Like Grandpa says, “Everybody that moves there dies.”

And since the latest death at Bible Creek Care Home was the chaplain getting stabbed in the back during the yearly resident tea party, Taylor is starting to believe her Grandpa.

A member of the waitstaff believes she saw the killer and turns to the one person she knows can help: Taylor Quinn, Comfort, Oregon’s favorite amateur detective. Even though Taylor is not so sure she is the right one to solve every murder, she is ready to help. After all, Comfort is a small town, and townies take care of one another.

“Dutch Hex” is the fourth novel in the “Taylor Quinn Quilt Shop Mystery” series and was released in 2020. Topsy-turvy millennial issues torment Taylor Quinn here in this twisty story. Parts of the mystery are scattered all over however Taylor believes she can see a pattern.

Taylor is living her best life some two years after her mom’s death. She has got stable business, a steady boyfriend, and the coup of hosting a hugely popular quilting expo in her tiny town. If that weren’t enough good news, outtakes of her mother’s old YouTube show have exploded on the internet, which brings money and fame to all those involved.

Things are quite literally perfect until the keynote speaker for the quilt expo fails to show up for her morning class. It would seem as though this young woman died of some allergic reaction, however looks can be deceiving.

Taylor is willing to do anything she can in order to make her town safe, since murder has a way of killing business. However some amateur detectives, a tangle of troubled teens, and haunting clips of her deceased mom have her tied all up in knots. Her grief’s come back in full force, and it almost overwhelms her. This may be the murder which makes her pack it in for good.

“A Deadly Affair in Petit-Paris” is the first novel in the “A Lady and her Cat Mysteries” series and was released in 2021. Birdie, a displaced aristocrat, would much rather die than say no to a friend. However solving this murder may get her killed.

Birdie Idlebrick, the daughter of the fourth Earl of St. Chad, hasn’t ever said no to a friend that was in need. Even now she is attempting to catch a straying husband en flagrante. However spying takes a rather dangerous turn once she stumbles upon a corpse.

Solving crime is no easy task in a tiny American town filled with overprotective men and superstitious elders. Throw in Birdie’s stress-induced auditory hallucinations, and you have got a recipe for trouble. Thankfully, when she believes she hears her cat talking, he’s only got useful things to tell her. However despite her helpful kitty, a love-bitten chaplain, and one ridiculously handsome detective, her impulsive heart pulls her right into the lion’s den. Can Birdie catch this violent killer before it is off with her head?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tess Rothery

Leave a Reply