Book Notification

Tessa Harris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dr. Thomas Silkstone Books

The Anatomist's Apprentice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Shall Not Rest (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Breath (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lazarus Curse (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Raven (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets in the Stones (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Constance Piper Mystery Books

The Sixth Victim (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Angel Makers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Deception (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Beneath a Starless Sky (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Light We Left Behind (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Notebook (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tuscan Daughter (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hailing from Louth in Lincolnshire, Tessa Harris is a British author of great repute, as she’s written a number of novels over the years, along with writing for many reputable publications as well. Creating an extensive backlog of work, she’s managed to produce many books that have delighted both the critics and the public alike, as her popularity grows day-by-day, nationally as well as internationally. With many new readers discovering her work every day, she has built herself a niche within the publishing industry, along with writing some screenplays as well.

Early and Personal Life

Growing up in the United Kingdom, Tessa Harris always had a keen passion for the written word from an early age, something which she took through into adulthood. Always looking for some new material she was never short of ideas for her next novel, as she’s take in inspiration from the world around, giving her characters a sense of believability whatever time-period they had been placed in. This was something that was derived from her down-to-earth nature which can be seen reflected in her work, as it remains relatable to both her and her many scores of readers.

Studying at Oxford University, she practiced history, as she gained a unique insight into the past managing to lend her work a deeper level of depth and accuracy. This also managed to pave the way for much of what was to come in her subsequent career as a writer, fueling her passion for historical fiction, as well as her keen interest in both mystery, suspense and intrigue. Whilst it was set in a different time period though, she was always able to draw the narratives back to contemporary themes, allowing the readers to remain invested in the many suspense filled arcs contained within.

Working within the journalism industry for some time before embarking on her career as a writer of fiction, she honed and refined her craft, articulating her voice. Starting out in a major London publication where she became the women’s editor there, she went on to become a features writer for Best magazine, providing them with much of the material. With other highly reputable publications such as The Guardian under her belt, she has managed to build a name for herself prior to her becoming a novelist, all whilst setting up her unique and idiosyncratic style and overall tone.

In 2005 she was made editor of the Berkshire Life magazine, as well as becoming literary publicist for a documentary making company as well. All of this experience was to then feed back into her work, as she made a name for herself that became highly regarded throughout the literary industry. Not only that, but in the year of 2000 she won a screenplay writing competition and her work was optioned by a major film studio, much of the subsequent research being reused later on in her career for another novel, and with that her fate as a major writing talent was to be sealed in the following years to come.

Writing Career

Writing her first novel in 2011 as she released her initial debut ‘The Anatomist’s Apprentice’, Tessa Harris embarked on her long-running and highly successful Dr. Thomas Silkstone series. Totaling over five entries so far, with a sixth one expected very shortly, she has managed to build upon an extremely entertaining and engaging character. This is something that her many readers have also come to appreciate as she manages to attract both the critics and the general public alike.

As she gains various awards for her work, along with a number of different translations as well, taking her novels worldwide, she is making progress in the literary industry at an exponential rate. Setting up the characters in such a strong manner, they have created a lasting impact on her audience, with many readers eagerly awaiting the next installment of the Thomas Silkstone franchise. As her career grows from strength-to-strength, she continues to progress as a writer, which is something that is expected to continue long into the foreseeable future.

The Devil’s Breath

This is the third installment in the Dr. Thomas Silkstone franchise, as it continues the exploits of its eponymous investigator during his time in the eighteenth century. First published on the first of January in 2013, this was to be the next adventure in the ongoing saga of the doctor, as he gets his next case to investigate. Following in the same style and tone, it manages to recapture the overall ambiance of the series, giving the readers more of what they want with it.

Emerging from his home into the streets of Oxfordshire, Joseph Makepeace seems to be suffering from convulsions, as his eyes appear open wide, as if he’s witnessed an evil terror. The local residents though are more suspicious and believe him to be possessed by the devil itself, having entered his soul and causing him to act in such a manor. Then his son and daughter are found to have had their heads bashed in with a shovel, as they lie murdered, a discovery which appears to seal the fate of Joseph as the culprit for many. Will Dr. Thomas Silkstone be able to get to the truth and past the superstition? Can he find the real culprit before it’s too late? What will become of them all as they feel the burn of the devil’s breath?

The Lazarus Curse

Set in the 1780s once again, this novel is the fourth installment in the Dr. Thomas Silkstone franchise, as it heads back to the London of the time seeing what the eponymous investigator does next. First written and published on the first of January, 2014, through the Kensington publishing house, this continues the action with his next case. Still retaining the same tone and style, it manages to bring the reader back into the narrative with ease and confidence, showing a writer with a clear sense of purpose now.

With rumors of a potion that can allegedly raise the dead abound, Dr. Thomas Silkstone finds that he must once again get to the heart of the matter. Investigating the disappearance of the sole survivor of an ill fated scientific expedition, he finds he must uncover what has really been going on. It is in the journal of this particular botanist that details containing the potion’s formula is said to exist and it is with this information that Dr. Thomas Silkstone must take forwards his investigation. Can he find out the truth? Who will be the next victim? Just what is going on with the Lazarus Curse?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tessa Harris

One Response to “Tessa Harris”

  1. Suiska Rhodes: 8 months ago

    When is the 6th Dr. Silverstone book coming out? Love them.


Leave a Reply