Book Notification

Texas Grooms Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Texas Grooms Books

Handpicked Husband (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bride Next Door (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Family for Christmas (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lone Star Heiress (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Holiday Family (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Chance Hero (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Holiday Courtship (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Texas Cinderella (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tailor-Made Husband (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Texas Christmas (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Romance lovers, beware. Winnie Griggs’ titillating novels are about to flood your bookshelves.

Winnie Griggs is the celebrated author of The Texas Grooms, a series of romance novels set, of course, in the Southern State of Texas. The mathematician-turned-author peppers her stories with suspenseful twists and unpredictable turns.

Winnie has bona fide Southern roots. Her parents raised her in the Bayou country of Southeast Louisiana. The romance novelist moved with her sweetheart of 25 years to the small town of Piney Hil, in Northwest Louisiana.

The author’s educational background may raise some eyebrows. Winnie possesses a degree in Mathematics with a minor in computer science. She worked in the Information Technology field when she graduated from college, but her real interest has always been writing romance novels. Friends submitted her work to numerous writing contests, and it won prizes. Her dream of being an author came true when she made her sale in 2000.

2000 was a year of changes for Winnie. Apart from celebrating her silver wedding anniversary, her eldest daughter went off to college, her eldest son assumed new household responsibilities and her youngest twin children entered high school. The biggest milestone of that year came when she received a call from her editor for her second book. Winnie is a member of many writing groups, including the Romance Writers of America.

The Texas Grooms: Overview

The Texas Grooms romance novels is a series of stories set in 19th century Texas. They reveal how ordinary characters overcome insurmountable obstacles in their relationships. What is so engaging about these stories is the plot twists that Winnie introduces. In so doing, she brings excitement to her characters’ ordinary lives.

Winnie effectively communicates the romance of the south. The ladies in her novels are typical Southern belles, with a Scarlett O Hara edge. The young men are romantic Southern heroes in the vein of Rhett Butler.

Handpicked Husband

The first cannot-put-down book in this series is Handpicked Husband. As the name suggests, it deals with the theme of arranged marriages.

Female protagonist Regina Nash, a free-spirited photographer, is ready to try married life. In true Southern fashion, her grandfather picks gentlemen for her. Regina faces a dilemma; she risks losing the custody of her nephew if she does not marry one of them.

She sets about trying to persuade her grandfather and his envoy, Adam Barr, that she is unsuitable as a wife. She tries, with some hilarity, to fend off a few suitors. Adam’s task is to ensure that she marries one of the men her grandfather has chosen for her.

Adam sees through her ploy; she has too much warmth, wit, and personality not to be a good mother. Unwittingly, he becomes attracted to her himself. But he remembers his task; he is to make sure that she gets engaged to one of her grandfather’s choices, not marry her himself. Regina’s attempts to foil her grandfather’s plans will keep readers huddled up by the reading lamp for hours.

The Bride Next Door

The second novel in the series describes a conflict between romance and big city dreams. The female protagonist, Daisy, hopes to settle down in Turnabout, Texas, after years of wandering. She wishes to either open a restaurant or settle down with the right man. She hopes to meet a man who loves her for who she is, not someone who is looking to marriage as a way to avoid gossip mongers.

She meets Everett Fulton, a roving reporter, who makes a temporary stop at Turnabout. He marries Daisy because of gossip neighbors hear through a connecting door, but he has no intention of following through on his marital promises. Instead, he has deeply entrenched dreams of leaving Turnabout. He cannot provide the warmth, security, and love that Daisy craves.

A tussle ensues between the two. Daisy’s love for him is true, but he remains cold and distant, continuing to formulate his big city plans. Daisy sets about trying to convince him to stay in Turnabout Readers wonder about the success of this endeavor.

A family for Christmas

The third novel in this series is a heartwarming story about an unlikely family unit. Eve Pickering arrives in a small Texas Town. She has a tumultuous past, and people often judge her for it. When Eve meets an orphaned boy, the rumor mongers go out in full force. Not about to abandon the child, she looks for ways to care for him. When Chance Dowson offers them shelter, she grabs it, wanting to give the boy the warm Christmas which he has never had.

Chance came from the city to strike it out on his own. He bears a painful secret; Eve gives him the comfort and strength he needs to deal with the hurt he has experienced. He renews confidence in his dream and finds a new direction for it.

He becomes drawn to Eve but is afraid that she will not accept him. He tries to form a new family unit with her and little orphan Leo.

Review of Texas Grooms

These novels offer the excitement of romance, which is always a huge draw. Winnie manages to balance the thrill of romance with reality; she dwells on controversial topics like arranged marriages, ambition and the difficulties people face as they try to form a family unit. She gives readers a clear picture of Texas as it was in the 19th century.

Winnie gives readers a historical perspective of the South. They get an idea of the traditional mindset of Southerners at the time. Many embraced strict family values. Arranged marriages were the norm, and unconventional family units less accepted. Wanting to grow, and go beyond a small town was a need that many young men had at the time.

A standout feature of this series is that each novel has different characters from earlier ones. Apart from the fact that everyone comes from Texas, there is no link from one novel to the next. Readers do not have to read preceding books to get the full gist of the stories.

The author clearly shows consummate writing skills. Each of her novels makes a satisfying, gripping read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Texas Grooms

Leave a Reply