Book Notification

The Bernicia Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Bernicia Chronicles Books

The Serpent Sword (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cross and the Curse (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood and Blade (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kin of Cain (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer of Kings (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warrior of Woden (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Storm of Steel (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fortress of Fury (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Lord and Land (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forest of Foes (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bernicia Chronicles series by Matthew Harffy
Author Matthew Harffy writes the “Bernicia Chronicles” series of historical novels. The series began publication in the year 2015, when “The Serpent Sword” was released.

This action-packed historical fiction series is set during the turbulent times of seventh century Britain. The first, which is a tale of vengeance and coming of age.

Watching a documentary about Northumbria’s Golden Age sowed the kernel of an idea for the series, after he lived in Northumberland as a child, which had a profound impact on him.

“The Serpent Sword” is the first novel in the “Bernicia Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2015. Britain in 633 A. D. A young farmhand named Beobrand, sure that his brother’s death was murder, goes off on a quest to get revenge in war-torn Northumbria. When he witnesses some barbaric acts at the hands of the warriors that he thinks of as his friends, Beobrand questions the path he’s chosen and vows to bring these men to justice.

Beobrand, who is ruthless in pursuit of his enemies, faces some challenges that alter him permanently. Right when a great sword is being forged by beating rods of iron together, so his foes turn him from the farm boy he was into a man that stands strong in all the gore and clamour of the shieldwall.

While closing in on the slayer of his kin, and the bodies began piling up, will Beobrand be able to mete out the revenge he so craves without sacrificing his own honor, maybe even his own soul?

This is a stunning debut novel that is confident, fast, and adrenaline-pumped. With some gripping action and some powerful language, Matthew tells a story of love, courage, and revenge. It is compelling and vivid, making for some historical fiction at its brutal best. Harffy’s characters are all portrayed with humanity and depth.

“The Cross and the Curse” is the second novel in the “Bernicia Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2016. Anglo-Saxon Britain 634 A. D. Warlords fight across all of Britain in order to become the very first king of the English. Beobrand, after a shocking victory over the native Waelisc, returns a hero.

His valour is being rewarded with land and wealth by the king of Northumbria. He goes back to his new estate with his new wife just to find himself being surrounded by some new and old foes.

With death and treachery on every side, he fears that he will lose everything that he holds dear. Out on a quest for redemption and revenge, he accepts the mantle of lord, leading his men right into the darkest of nights and the bloodiest of battles.

This is a tremendous read that strikes the right balance between fiction and fact, the romantic and the plausible, and is able to illuminate the Dark Ages in rare and unexpected ways. Matthew has created an authentic and gritty world that is home to a hero that shows the reader the complexities of what it really means to be a human.

“Blood and Blade” is the third novel in the “Bernicia Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2016. Anglo-Saxon Britain 635 A. D. Oswald is King of Northumbria now. But his plans to build further conquests and alliances get quickly tossed into disarray once his wedding to a princess of Wessex gets interrupted by news of a Pictish uprising.

Oswald, who rushes north, leaves Beobrand to escort this young queen to her new home. Their path is cluttered with uncertainty and danger, and Beobrand has to attempt to unravel lies and secrets if they are going to survive.

At the same time, old foes are starting to close in, looking to get brutal vengeance. Beobrand is going to give his blade and blood in service to his king, but is that going to be enough to avert disaster and save his kin and kith from the evil forces surrounding them?

“Killer of Kings” is the fourth novel in the “Bernicia Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2017. Anglo-Saxon Britain 636 A. D. Beobrand now ha his riches, land, and men. He should really be content now. Yet he is unable to find some peace until his foes are food for the ravens. However before Beobrand is able to embark on his blood feud, King Oswald orders him to head south, and escort the holy men that bear sacred relics.

When Penda of Mercia marches some warhost into the southern kingdoms, Beobrand and the rest of his men get thrown into the middle of the conflict. Beobrand quickly finds himself fighting for his own honor and life.

In the chaos that the south is tangled up in, dark secrets are being exposed, bringing into question a lot that Beobrand believed was true. Can he really unearth the answers and get the revenge he so craves? Or is the blood-price going to prove to be too high, even for a warrior of his skill and his battle-fame?

“Warrior of Woden” is the fifth novel in the “Bernicia Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2018. Anglo-Saxon Britain 642 A. D. Oswald has now reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led he king to some even greater victories. Rewarded for his prowess in battle and fealty, Beobrand now is a wealthy warlord and has a sizable warband. Stories about Beobrand’s fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure that he’s collected are told throughout the halls of the land.

Many are the very kings that bow to Oswald. Yet there are still those that look upon his realm with quite a covetous eye. And there’s a ruler that is never going to kneel before him.

When Penda of Mercia, who is the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is called upon once more to stand in this epic battle where the blood of many is going to be shed in the kingdom’s defense. However in this climactic between the Christian Oswald and the pagan Penda there is more at stake than mere sovereignty. This is a fight for the very souls of the people of Albion.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Bernicia Chronicles

Leave a Reply