Book Notification

The Four Kingdoms Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Four Kingdoms Books

The Princess Companion (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Princess Fugitive (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Happily Ever Afters (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Princess Pact (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Midwinter's Wedding (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Princess Game (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Princess Search (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Coronation Ball (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Beyond the Four Kingdoms Books

A Dance of Silver and Shadow (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Tale of Beauty and Beast (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Crown of Snow and Ice (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Dream of Ebony and White (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Captive of Wing and Feather (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Princess of Wind and Wave (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Return to the Four Kingdoms Books

The Secret Princess (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mystery Princess (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Desert Princess (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Golden Princess (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Rogue Princess (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Abandoned Princess (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Four Kingdoms Series by Melanie Cellier
Author Melanie Cellier writes “The Four Kingdoms” series of young adult fantasy novels. The series began publication in the year 2016, when “The Princess Companion” was released.

“The Four Kingdoms” series is her first complete set of young adult fairy tale retellings. These stories predate the events in her “Beyond the Four Kingdoms” series, and they provide further context and background to the events in the new series. For those that enjoy adventure, intrigue, and clean romance, then try these books.

Each one of these books can be read as a standalone novel, but to get the most enjoyment, they should be read in chronological order.

“The Princess Companion” is the first novel in “The Four Kingdoms” series and was released in the year 2016. A stormy and dark night, Alyssa, alone and lost, finds herself pounding on the door of some castle. After living her entire life in the deep forest, she has no clue what to expect on the other side.

What she finds is an incredibly handsome prince and two unruly young princesses. Alyssa takes the Princess Companion job, realizing that her life is going to change. What she does not yet realize that the royal family is going to be caught up in some unexpected intrigue and danger and she may just be the sole thing that stands between destruction and her kingdom.

This story reimagines “The Princess and the Pea”, and reimagines some of the rewards and risks that come when a royal family goes looking for a true princess. Romance and danger await this woodcutter’s daughter, here in this royal palace.

“The Princess Fugitive” is the second novel in “The Four Kingdoms” series and was released in the year 2016. Princess Ava was once a weapon: strong, sharp, and beautiful. However when she fails at her most important of tasks, she is forced to flee from her family. Only Hans, her personal bodyguard, stays loyal. He claims he knows the real Ava but she finds that tough to believe, seeing as how she has been the villain for so long that she cannot remember anything else.

Ava, while deep in exile, finds out that her kingdom needs a hero and she may be the only one that could save it. The only catch? She is going to need to ally herself with the same people she blames for her own downfall. However in this game of life and death where the stakes are a whole kingdom, winning over her enemies is just going to be the start. Could one fugitive save her kingdom, her people, and toughest of all, herself?

In this reimagining of “Little Red Riding Hood”, the girl in the red hood’s been devoured by the wolf and has to decide if she is willing to battle for her freedom. No matter what the cost.

“The Princess Pact” is the third novel in “The Four Kingdoms” series and was released in the year 2017. Spinning straw into gold was just the start of this story. Marie, who is the dutiful princess of Northhelm, chafes from the rigid protocol that governs her life. Then one growing darkness threatens the entire kingdom and reveals the lie at the center of her entire life. One pact that changes it all.

She joins Rafe (a charming and handsome newcomer), throwing off all convention, on a quest to save her kingdom. Except he does not know that she has got a mission all her own, to learn the truth on her identity. She finds herself being increasingly drawn to his good humor and strength, and is torn by her double purpose. With time running short and destruction and death looming, she is going to have to unravel the bargains that surround her and decide where her real allegiance lies.

A hidden identity is only one of the things that Marie is going to have to unravel in this new twist on the classic fairy tale of Rumpelstiltskin.

“A Midwinter’s Wedding” is a novella in “The Four Kingdoms” series and was released in the year 2017. This is a retelling of “The Frog Prince” fairy tale.

Princess Cordelia has become used to getting overshadowed by all her siblings. She is offered up an opportunity to go to her brother’s wedding in a faraway kingdom, and she jumps at it. In Northhelm, she is finally going to have the chance to stand out, and possibly even be able to find romance.

However not everything in the Northhelmian court is like it seems. With her brother being distracted by the wedding, just Ferdinand, the ugliest guy at court, is willing to listen to her concerns. One observant princess and an oddly amphibious soldier might be the sole thing that stands between disaster and all Four Kingdoms.

Cordelia is going to have to overcome deceit, prejudice, and danger if she wants to find romance and save the day.

“The Princess Game” is the fourth novel in “The Four Kingdoms” series and was released in the year 2017. Celeste is known as the Sleeping Princess, but she’s far from asleep. She has been cursed since her sixteenth birthday—but not in the way the rest of the kingdom believes. All they see is her breathtaking beauty, which is marred by her foolishness. She is the only one that knows that she still has her intelligent mind. And it is a secret she has to keep at all costs.

Over the years she has grown accustomed to this necessary deception. Her life depends on it after all. She is even found a way to keep her kingdom safe, working from the shadows. However now there is a dangerous new threat that’s emerged, one Celeste is unable to defeat all on her own. She requires the aid of the newly-arrived prince. One who is much too charming and handsome. Somehow she needs to keep this secret, save her kingdom, and figure out a way to free herself from this curse. The last thing she’s got time for right now is sleep.

It is only the princess’ mind that is asleep, in this reimagining of the classic fairy tale, and sometimes appearances can be deceiving.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Four Kingdoms

Leave a Reply