Book Notification

The Hollows Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Hollows Books

Dead Witch Walking (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good, the Bad, and the Undead (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Which Way But Dead (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fistful of Charms (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
For a Few Demons More (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outlaw Demon Wails (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Witch, Black Curse (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Magic Sanction (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pale Demon (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hollows Insider (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perfect Blood (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble on Reserve (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ever After (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Undead Pool (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch With No Name (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sudden Backtrack (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waylaid (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Turn (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
American Demon (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Million Dollar Demon (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble With the Cursed (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demons of Good and Evil (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demon's Bluff (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hollows Graphic Novels

Publication Order of The Hollows Collections

Dates from Hell (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Woods (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hollows Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Return to the Hollows Books

The Hollows series comprises thirteen novels, eight short stories, two graphic novels and a compendium by Kim Harrison. It is an urban fantasy set in the suburbs of Cincinnati. Story explores the world of supernatural species witches, vampires, pixies, werewolves, and humans spending heavily in genetic engineering. Story is in post era of a virus outbreak that nearly eliminated humanity. A virus called T4 angel Virus that originated from tomato spreads quickly around the world. Humans now fear tomato based food.

Series unfolds in first person point of view of detective Rachel Morgan working for Inlander Security. Rachel is a witch who has been assigned a dirty job but finds herself involved in a conspiracy that is surrounded by the heavy mist of mystery. Rachel is decommissioned and she ends up living with two its coworker Ivy Alisa Tamwood and Jenks.

Ivy is a vampire who is partner of Rachel Morgan in Vampiric Charms. Her skills lie in organization and planning. However, her struggle with vampiric nature continues throughout the series due to history of traumatic adolescence because of undead vampire Piscary. She is too sensitive towards the protection of Rachel and Jenks.

Jenks is 18-year-old Pixy who is another close associate of Rachel. He is skilled, swordsman, saboteur, and specialist in reconnaissance. Jenks’s dragonfly wings change color with his emotions and does carry a wicked sense of humor. Although, he looks young but he is nearing the end of a pixiy’s life span. He is the only married member in the team and his wife Matalina takes care of their 54 children as pixies have ability to give multiple birth.

First Book: Dead Witch Walking

Rachel is assigned a job of bringing in a Leprechaun for tax evasion. Leprechauns are known for granting three wishes and on capturing Rachel demands for three wishes instead of bringing in. Rachel wishes to get out the contract with I.S. However, her coworkers Jenks, a pixie and Ivy, a vampire also demands for the wishes. Both decide to help Rachel work off the bounty I.S. will put on her for quitting.

With bounty on her head, she is kicked out of her house and starts living with his coworkers. To work off his bounty, she gets an opportunity in the form of a businessman named Trent Kalamack. Trent is suspected of being involved in dealing Brimstone drugs. As Rachel begins her investigation, multiple death threats are thrown at her. To gather more information, she sneaks into Trent’s office in the form of a mink but she is compromised. While in captivity, she learns Trent is a bio drug manufacturer and distributor. The angel virus created through bio drug nearly wiped out the humanity in the past.

Rachel still in the form of mink is forced to fight a rat for Trent’s entertainment but she evades. Rachel and his coworkers plan to offer this information in the form of informant to Federal Inland Bureau. Rachel trades an informant for bounty pay off but before informant is placed in custody, Trent kills him. To make herself safe, she again sneaks into the Trent’s office. In the end, Rachel is able to leave with Trent believing Rachel is summoning Demons. With evidence, Rachel stays safe and Trent has no choice but to stay away from Rachel.

Second Book: The Good, the bad and the undead

Rachel is brought in to interview Sarah Jane a witch who claims Dan Smather, her boyfriend, is missing. Rachel is teamed with I.S.’s Detective Glenn Edden, who she believes is just a burden on the back. Ivy is unsecured with Glenn and she insists to accompany them in the investigation. Just before their meeting at Piscary’s where Dan Smather worked, Rachel reacquaints with Dr. Anders. Anders is not too happy to see her in ley-lines class, and her equation with I.S. Ander believes Rachel is there to accuse her of killing other witches in the class to eliminate the competition.
To Rachel’s surprise, the trail of the case leads right back to Trent. Rachel believed she has another chance to settle the equation. Therefore, the hunt for the Witch Killer begins for Rachel that uncovers unexpected truths about Trent, her roommate Ivy and herself. As Rachel was trying to corner Trent, Ivy resisting was fighting her vampire urges to protect someone close to her. Meanwhile there is demon named Algaliarept is trying to possess Rachel. At the end, the story unfolds to violent climax where several secrets are revealed and mysteries are uncovered.

Third: Every Which Way But Dead

Book is third in the Series where Rachel is preparing to make a deal with the demon Algaliarept. Rachel wants Algaliarept to testify against the undead Vampire Priscary who has killed Ley-line witches, attempted murder on Trent and Rachel. In exchange, Rachel will lose her immortal soul. Same fact is kept hidden from Jenks and Ivy.

When Rachel meets Al she comes across Ceri’s soul who is Al’s current familiar and has no conscious of her own. Rachel demands to set free Ceri’s soul. As soon as Al restores the soul, Rachel grabs Ceri and jumps into Sanctified ground. Al is offended as the Rachel is in violation of agreement with him but Rachel pulls out the original agreement, which states that Rachel would be familiarized, but with her soul that has her own will.
Rachel takes Ceri to Ivy and Jenks, who are surprise to see Rachel unscathed. They invite Keasley to put some sort of spell to reduce the pain of Ceri. This event opens whole lot of drama for Rachel. She already has troubled relationship with Ivy, and questionable one with Kisten, a vampire. Rachel’s story takes her on to a journey where she is not only fighting against the unwanted elements in the city but also fighting to pay the rent, bills and protection.

Kim Harrison, the writer of the series has created an unbelievable world of supernatural creatures that is too real for alternative reality. Her vampires has complicated textures with traditional layers of seducers and predators. Although this series is yet to be made into a movie or TV, it is slowly becoming a fiction piece that inherits a huge potential of becoming one.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Hollows

Leave a Reply