Book Notification

The Hunger Games Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Hunger Games Books

The Hunger Games (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catching Fire (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mockingjay (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunrise on the Reaping (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of The Hunger Games Books

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunger Games(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catching Fire(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mockingjay(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunrise on the Reaping(2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

About The Hunger Games Books:

The Hunger Games trilogy is series of young-adult dystopian novels written by American novelist Suzanne Collins, the first book bears the name of the trilogy, followed in order by “Catching Fire” and “Mockingjay”. In the first novel, the eponymous Hunger Games occur.

These are a televised annual event in which the Capitol randomly selects a boy and a girl-known as tributes-between the ages of 12 and 18 from each of the twelve districts that comprise Panem, pitting them against each other in a contest to the death from which only one may emerge victorious. The book is told from the perspective of the female Tribute from District 12, Katniss Everdeen.

In the second book of the trilogy-Catching Fire-, once again we follow the story of Katniss Everdeen, now 17 years old, who must deal with the fallout from her act of defiance during the ending of the Hunger Games. The main characters from the trilogy are:

  • Katniss Everdeen: The protagonist of the trilogy. She is a sarcastic, strong-willed teenager. She’s 16 years old at the beginning of the first book and lives in the 12th District, which is known for its coal mining operations and as one of the poorest districts of Panem.

    She is a skilled hunter with a bow and often goes off to do so outside the borders of District 12 in order to feed her family, although to do so is illegal. Her hair is long, dark, and worn in a single braid down her back most of the time; her skin is olive, and her eyes gray. Her best friend is Gale Hawthorne.

    She lives with her mother and sister in the Seam, a run-down sector within her district. Her father was a coal miner who died before the events of “The Hunger Games” in a work-related accident. When Primrose -Katniss’ sister- is chosen as a Tribute during the first book, Katniss volunteers in her place. Collins has referred to Katniss as “a futuristic Theseus”.

  • Peeta Mellark: Katniss’ counterpart as the male Tribute of District 12 during the Hunger Games, he’s the son of a baker. He’s been in love with Katniss since he was five years old and once saved her from dying due to hunger.
    Peeta is portrayed as charming, a cunning strategist, and selfless. His hair is blonde and his eyes blue, much unlike the other residents of the Seam who are referred to as mostly dark-haired.
  • Gale Hawthorne: Katniss’ best friend, she and gale met when she was 12 and he 14, shortly after their parents died in the same mining accident. Gale is also her constant hunting partner in the woods outside of District 12.
  • Haymitch Abernathy: Katniss’ and Peeta’s mentor. He was the victor of the 50th Hunger Games, which occurred 24 years before the events of the first book. Dangerous and cunning, he sleeps with a knife in his hand. He promised to sober up to train Katniss and Peeta for the Hunger Games and helped them get sponsors during the competition. He’s described as a rather burly middle-aged man.
  • Effie Trinket: She’s the escort of the Tributes from District 12, Katniss and Peeta. Very formal and proper, she possesses a distinct Capitol accent and dresses in their eccentric manner since she’s a resident there. Manners are important to her as well as keeping a tight schedule, values which she unsuccessfully attempts to pass onto her wards. She war in charge of picking the Tributes for the 74th Hunger Games, which occur in the first book.
  • Cinna: He is the stylist assigned to Katniss during the Hunger Games as well as her close confidant. He is smart and supportive. His work in the Capitol also includes designing dresses for whichever Tribute is assigned to him and he achieves great success working with Katniss.
  • President Coriolanus Snow: The leader of Panem for at least 25 years at the beginning of the trilogy. Though he’s referred to as the president, the method of his election is left unclear. He’s the sole ruler of the government of Panem as well as being in charge of the yearly Hunger Games and the military forces of each district.
  • Primrose “Prim” Everdeen: Katniss’ younger sister. Only 12 years old in the beginning of the first book, she was originally chosen to be her District’s tribute but her sister volunteered in her place, triggering the events of the trilogy. She has a goat named Lady which she milks everyday and a cat loyal only to her named Buttercup, which is described as “the world’s ugliest cat” by Katniss.
  • Mrs. Everdeen: She is Katniss’ mother. Her character undergoes a great depression before the trilogy after her husband dies in a mining accident. She essentially abandons her two daughters to their own devices by locking herself in her room and ignoring events around her. As a result of this, Katniss takes on the reins of the household and must learn to fend for herself. Her hair is blond, her eyes blue and her skin pale, common characteristics of the merchants of District 12.

The first book was published on September 14, 2008 by Scholastic with an initial print run of 50,000 copies which ended up being quadrupled and by 2010 it had sold over 800,000 units and been translated to over 26 languages, all of which qualifies the book as a best-seller. “Catching Fire” followed soon after in September 1, 2009 and the final installment, “Mockingjay”, was released in August 24, 2010.

All three books have received generally positive reviews and have not only been released in hardcover, but also in paperback, eBook formats, and as audio books. The success of the first book and its sequels led to the trilogy being adapted to the big screen by Lionsgate Entertainment.

The first movie “The Hunger Games” was produced by Color Force, the script adapted by Billy Ray alongside Collins and directed by Gary Ross. It received good reviews when released in March 23, 2012, especially for the actor who interpreted Katniss Everdeen, Jennifer Lawrence. The parts of Peeta Mellark and Gale Hawthorne were played respectively by Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth.

The movie adaptation of the second book in the trilogy, “Catching Fire”, is expected to be released on November 22, 2013 with no date set yet for the adaptation of the third and final novel.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply