Nick Petrie Series

The Inn at Holiday Bay Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Inn At Holiday Bay Books

Boxes in the Basement (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Letters in the Library (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Message in the Mantel (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Answers in the Attic (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Haunting in the Hallway (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pilgrim in the Parlor (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Note in the Nutcracker (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blizzard in the Bay (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Proof in the Photo (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gossip in the Garden (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghost in the Gallery (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Turkey in the Trap Room (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cookies in the Cottage (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Details in the Document (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Clue in the Clam (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Portent in the Pages (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Poison in the Pudding (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lantern in the Lighthouse (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hint in the Hashtag (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pawn in the Pumpkin Patch (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Secret in the Santa (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Riddle in the Review (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Clue in the Carriage House (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Witness in the Wedding (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Christmas in the Candlelight (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

“The Inn at Holiday Bay” series is a set of cozy mystery novels by Kathi Daley, a well-known romance and mystery author. Daley is best known as the author of the “Zoe Donovan Mystery” series even though she has more than fifteen series to her name. Her novels are usually mystery works with just the right touch of romance, which makes them even more intriguing and interesting reads. Reviewers have said that many of her readers are attracted to her novels for the mystery but get hooked into them for the romance.

The USA Today bestselling author currently lives with her husband, children and several grandchildren in beautiful Lake Tahoe. When she is not writing her novels, she can be found hiking the many miles of desolate terrain that can be found all around her home. Daley is the author of more than 150 novels in fourteen series that she sets in more than thirteen states across the United States. She always finds it a joy traveling to the many locations in which she sets her works. She has also said that traveling adds a touch of authenticity and gives some great inspiration when she is writing.

“The Inn at Holiday Bay” series of novels by Kathi Daley is the story of Abby Sullivan, a woman that suffers personal tragedy. Her family had been wiped out when a careless driver swerved into them killing them on the spot. Overwhelmed by grief, she packs up her things and leaves San Francisco for the tranquil small town of Holiday Bay Maine. In the town, she is adopted by Ramos, a giant dog with an inferiority complex and a drifter Coon cat named Rufus that has also had a very tragic past. Abby knew she needed to heal and that required some alone time away from the hustle and bustle of the city. But then she finds herself saddled with an Inn that she is growing to love, a cat that will not leave, and a new family that she has grown very fond of. In the first novel of the series “Boxes in the Basement,” the community is up in arms over the murder of a local girl. In “Letters in the Library,” the second novel of the series, Abby finds a bunch of letters in her Inn while doing a remodel. Intrigued by the secrets in the letters, she sets out to unravel a fascinating mystery. In “Message in the Mantel” the third of the series, Abby and her friend Georgia are making plans for a grand opening celebration. During a remodel of the old fireplace mantel the remodeler makes a startling discovery.

“Boxes in the Basement,” the debut novel of “The Inn at Holiday Bay” series opens to a woman working on surviving a terrible personal tragedy. A year earlier, she had purchased a late 19th century era mansion without seeing it. The appeal was that it was in a small coastal town in Maine she believed was perfect for a new life. The old mansion requires a lot of work and mystery writer Abby has almost zero knowledge about restoration and remodeling. Could she have made a big mistake in the purchase? She quickly finds out that the town is full of friendly people including Lonnie Parker the contractor. The man just loves the old rundown mansion that was constructed on a bluff that overlooks the ocean. They make plans to bring the Inn at Holiday Bay, her old house back to life and it looks like it will be an interesting ride. They soon meet Georgie Carter, a younger woman who has also experienced personal tragedy. Abby becomes fast friends with Georgia and they start living with their pets in the guest house on the property. Meanwhile, four boxes that could provide clues to the murder of a girl in the town are found in the basement of the rundown house.

The second novel of “The Inn at Holiday Bay” series “Letters in the Library” Abby has once again got down to writing. She has settled down and is making friends. She hopes to turn the inn into some kind of event offering outdoor concerts, theme weekends, special events, destination weddings and wine tastings once she is done with the major renovations. She intends to make her new friend Georgia the property and events manager once they are done remodeling. Lucas Fitzgerald who had been doing the plumbing finds a stack of envelopes in the wall of a library that had been written by a woman named Victor to another named Ursula in 1948. The women are intrigued by the letters as they contain a fascinating secret. Abby had once found boxes in her basement that had the photos and possessions of teenage girls. One of the girls was later found to be Karen Stinson, whose body had been dumped in the river the previous year. The authorities believed she had been hiking when she had an accident and fell into the river. But then Colt Wilder the Police Chief found new information and asked his friend to review the results of the autopsy as he thought there was foul play involved. Even though he doesn’t want to reopen the case just yet, he wants someone to conduct some unofficial investigations.

“Message in the Mantel,” the third novel of the series sees the remodeling going on well for Abby. But then she learns that the mantel that was being remodeled had a lot of interesting secrets. They cannot wait to sample some of the secrets the mantel has offered up. In the meantime, Colt has been investigating the death of an octogenarian that had been assumed to have passed on from natural causes. He intends to buy the old man’s house and requests Abby to give it a once over and tell him what she thinks of it. While checking out the house she questions some aspects of the man’s death and gets Colt thinking. There are mysteries turning up right, left and center and the big question is which one should they prioritize? During this time, Abby decides that she will bring everything she left in San Francisco to her new home. It is a fascinating read as she leaves behind her former life and starts a new one full of danger but also excitement.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Inn at Holiday Bay

2 Responses to “The Inn at Holiday Bay”

  1. Karen dykstra: 2 years ago

    I’m hooked. Can’t wait for a new book to come out. Thankyou for giving us the opportunity to enjoy your books and allow us a chance to fall in love with the small town atmosphere and the area where you have set the stories

  2. Janie Elick: 2 years ago

    Am loving this series. Not even half way through and can’t put them down.


Leave a Reply