Book Notification

The Knights’ Tales Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Knights' Tales Books

The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Sir Givret the Short (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Sir Gawain the True (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of Sir Balin the Ill-Fated (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Knight’s Tales are a series of children’s novels based on the Arthurian legends as adapted by Gerald Morris. The author of the Squire’s Tales that are also set in the Arthurian legends universe, Morris writes the Knight’s Tales series in the same setting. However, these novels are meant for younger readers than his previous series, as they have the right combination of plumb good writing, authenticity, as well as being smart and funny. The series of novels are generally geared towards the preteen readers, who may have developed the thirst for the Arthurian novels after having seen them in other media. Written for children between the ages of seven to thirteen, the novels can be a great introduction to the great legends given that they are a tad shorter than the preceding series. With most of them ranging between ninety and three hundred and fifty pages, issues of attention with kids of that age should not arise. The series of novels is good for children who need an introduction to King Arthur’s Round Table and Camelot, before they move to the meatier side of things. Taking their cues from the classics, the Knights Tales series are not only hilarious, but are also readable and a great substitute for the “Squire’s Tales” for younger readers.

One of the biggest selling points of the “Knight’s Tales” series of novels are the great pen and ink illustrations by Aaron Renier. Known for the graphics in novels such as Spiral-bound the Wisconsin native’s style is a great complement to his particular sketching style. He introduces his comic book sensibilities, which fit perfectly with the goofiness that Morris is trying to convey to his younger readers, without becoming too goofy. Even in instances where you would expect a lot of goofiness, Renier does it well to ensure everything is presentable. For instance, when Lancelot is pictured with an arrow sticking out of his behind, the entire scene is beautifully rendered with bare trees and tall grasses.

The “Knight’s Tales” series of novels are fun light amazing narrative with pointed commentary, and dry wit that will be great reads for both children and young adult readers. They are funny and cute rendition of the Arthurian legends, and though they will not qualify as parodies, they may also not be classified among serious literature. They have a lighter tone and are different from his previous series, Morris targets the novels to a younger audience hence writing stories with a lot of author license throughout the series. They portray some of the most interesting of the narratives such as the Knight of the Pillow narrative, or Sir Lancelot’s first meeting with King Arthur which are sure to delight readers from any age group. The novels do alternate between the more serious sequences and the comedic humor, making for moments of hilarity and a few for meaningful contemplation.

The biggest draw of the “Knight’s Tale” series of novels is in the idea of the indomitable knight, which makes such characters irresistible. With their damsels in distress, the chivalry, shiny metal suits and the high-speed horse chases and races, the novels are delightful depiction of the medieval world of Sir Lancelot. Many readers would have at one time during their childhood played the game of being a knight going off on grand quests or going to war to earn their knighthood. Most people never outgrow their childhood fascination with medieval adventure and these novels may thus be a great fit for anyone who likes to attend the Renaissance Festivals. Whether one believes of the knights as rock stars, librarian, teacher, or parent, there is no better way to get your child an introduction to the Arthurian legends. Aaron Renier makes beautiful graphic illustrations, that have been well spaced in the texts to complement the light and fast pace of the plot. They are more like a longer version of the “Princess Bride” fantasy novel and are definitely the type of novels that would be best to buy for children before introducing them to the more complex “Squire’s Tales”. The novels may be read as standalones in no particular order, as they do not have a unifying story arc, except for the similarities in the lead characters, all of whom are the major and minor knights of the Arthurian legends.

“The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great” is a lighthearted novel featuring Sir Lancelot, who is on his way to King Arthur’s court in Camelot. He immediately shows himself a different type of character with his exceptional athleticism and his handsome looks. He is a vain and ditzy man who takes the phrase a knight in shining armor too literally. He is of the belief that he would not be accepted for knighthood if he presented himself with armor that is not so shiny. In one of the most hilarious moments of the novel, a group of knights attacks him but after defeating them, he is angry that they tried to get his armor dirty. He does not want to ever meet the king with his dirty armor and insists on cleaning and buffing his armor before he proceeds. However, the knights he had just defeated turn out to be part of a tournament, the prize of which is a seat on King Arthur’s Round Table.

“The Adventures of Sir Givret the Short” is another wonderful story about one of the Arthurian legends lesser known knights, Sir Givret. The man Givret has not yet attained his knighthood at the beginning of the novel, though he boasts greater wisdom than any notable knight of the Roundtable. However, despite his wisdom, the other knights do not think much of his advice, and even go as far as laughing at his advice and calling him a coward when he speaks to them before embarking on a quest. The King recognizes his ingenious plan, which saves the kingdom from humiliation. He finally grants his wish and knights the short man as a lord of his Roundtable, and sends him on a quest. However, it is one of the most terrible of duties he could ever have asked for as he has to oversee the kingdom’s most foolish of knights. He manages to turn around the knight yet remains humble and wise, which sees him, rise through the ranks of the knights of the Roundtable. While it is more subtle as compared to the first novel, the novel is still a fun read for both adults and young children.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Knights’ Tales

Leave a Reply