Book Notification

Lord of the Isles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lord of the Isles Books

Lord of the Isles (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Queen of Demons (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Servant of the Dragon (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistress of the Catacombs (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goddess of the Ice Realm (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Master of the Cauldron (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Crown Of The Isles Books

The Fortress of Glass (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mirror of Worlds (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gods Return (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Lord of the Isles series is a well known series of epic fantasy books. It is comprised of a 6 books in total, which were released between the years 1997 and 2004. The series is written by a popular American novelist named David Drake. Other than being the largest epic fantasy series by author Drake, this series is also famous for depicting the elements of the technology of the medieval era and the Sumerian religion. David Drake has written altogether 9 books in this series, of which the first six form the main series while the last three are clubbed together as a trilogy series called Crown of the Isles. The main characters in all the 9 books consist of Garric or-Reise, Sharina os-Reise, Ilna os-Kenset, Liane bos-Benliman, Cashel or-Kenset, and Tenoctris. In addition to all these lead characters, a number of other important secondary characters as also depicted by Drake that keep recurring in the plots from time to time. As per the description of author Drake, the stories of each and every book centers around the lives of 4 youths hailing from a tiny village located on an island in a fictional world called Isles. One of those youths is Garris or-Reise, who discovers at the start of the series that he is directly related to the last king that ruled Isles around a millennium back. During the rule of the king, Carrus, a stranger had risen that fueled magic and allowed certain sections to use spells. This resulted in the shattering of the nations’ cohesion, the killing of Carrus, and eventually sinking the Yole island. Throughout the series, author Drake has shown how Garris overcomes all the obstacles and claims the throne of the Isles. The novels also depict how Garris tries to unite all the islands once again. Throughout the journey of Garris and his companions, numerous supernatural and physical foes challenge them, but get overcome by them. Drake has described the basic storyline of many novels as the characters getting separated, taken to distant periods of parallel universes in time by hostile entities, which they defeat and reunite. Magic is described in the books through the use of a now-obsolete language known as Old Script.

David Drake was born on September 24, 1945. He is quite popular for his contributions in the fantasy and science fiction genres. Apart from being famous as an author, he is also known to have been a lawyer and being a veteran of the Vietnam War. As of now, author Drake has established himself among the prominent novelists of the genre of military science fiction. Drake completed his graduation from the Iowa University with a Phi Beta Kappa. He majored in Latin and history with honors. Previously, he had enrolled himself at the Duke University’s Law School, but there was an interruption in his studies for a couple of years when he went on to serve in the United States Army. During his time in the Army, Drake was stationed as an interrogator in the 11th Armored Cavalry in Cambodia and Vietnam. After his service period came to an end, Drake completed his studies and then started working as a lawyer for some time. He even laid down the foundation of a small scale press company called Carcosa, along with two of his friends named Jim Groce and Karl Edward Wagner. Over the course of his writing career, Drake has collaborated with many authors. He is best known for his independent science fiction series called Hammer’s Slammers. He is also known to have written the space opera series known as RCN or Republic of Cinnabar Navy, which was inspired from the novels of Aubrey-Martin. Among the authors that he has collaborated with include S.M. Stirling, Eric Flint, and Karl E. Wagner. It is said that Drake usually provides the outlines of the plots in 5,000 to 15,000 words and his co-author carries out the actual work of developing novels out of the outlines. Most of the plots written by Drake are often seen using mythology, history, and literature. From his 1990 novel, Northworld, onwards Drake has typically explained his books’s background in the preface or an afterword. Also, Drake often describes a context of the political systems in his plots. Some of the famous works of David Drake are available at the Baen Free Library for downloading free of cost.

The debut book of the Lord of the Isles series written by author David Drake is entitled ‘Queen of Demons’. It was released by the St. Martin’s Press in the year 1998. The book follows the exciting and adventurous journey of 3 men named Garric and Cashel, and 4 women named Ilna, Sharina, Tenoctris, and Liane. They get split up initially and then reunite in the end. In between the two events, they end up defeating their enemies, the Beast and the Queen. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Valence III, who is the current ruler of the Isles, enters a pact with the Beast for gaining the control of the kingdom from the Queen, who is his own wife. In the meantime, the lead characters take a journey from Erdin to Valles. They get on board a ship called Lady of Mercy. Garris has the intention of becoming the king and take back what belonged to his ancestors. When the characters witness the remains of a dead man on the ship, Tenoctris fears that it is a sign of bad luck. Liane receives a sash from Ilna before the sailing of the ship, which will tell her if any trouble comes to Liane. As the ship is about to reach Valles, a giant lens appears above which causes a wreckage and swallows the remains of the ship.

Another successful book of this series is called ‘Servant of the Dragon’. It was also published by the St Martin’s Press in 1999. Once again, the same 6 characters are depicted as the leading ones by Drake. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that 7 wizards make use of a mummified creature for casting a spell and raising the Yole island from the depths of the ocean. Meanwhile, the chief characters set foot in Valles and witness the sudden appearance of a blude bridge at a place where there was no such thing present for centuries. Tenoctris investigates about the magical bridge and comes to the conclusion that is not related to the evil Malkar Throne, but is very dangerous. When Tenoctris is busy trying to learn something more about the bridge as well as the mysterious things happening around it, a giant bird appears, captures Sharina in its claws, and flies away. All the others go on the chase of the massive bird and make attempts for saving Sharina.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lord of the Isles

Leave a Reply