Book Notification

Madison Avery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Madison Avery Books

Once Dead, Twice Shy (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Early to Death, Early to Rise (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something Deadly This Way Comes (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Madison Avery series is a popular book series of mystery, urban fantasy, thriller, and suspense novels. It is written by a well known American author named Dawn Cook under the pen name of Kim Harrison. This series consists of 3 novels and 1 novella in total, which were released between the years 2007 and 2011. Each and every book of this series features the chief protagonist in the form of Madison Avery, who roams around the city as a soul without a body. She dies at 17 years of age at the series’ beginning and then gets the command of the dark angels of heaven. Madison Avery controls all such angels, who are always filled with the eagerness of killing someone. While performing her duties in the heaven, Madison also searches for the reaper who killed her and turned her into what she has become. In addition to Madison Avery, the other important characters described by author Harrison include Josh Daniels, Nakita, Chronos, Barnabus, G.R.A.C.E, and Seth Kairos. Author Harrison began writing the series in 2009 and has so far published three successful works. For the purpose of writing the short story Prom Nights from Hell, she collaborated with author Meg Cabot. This short story was the first one to feature Madison Avery in the lead role. It came out in 2007 and featured another lead character named Dim as Madison Avery’s partner. Author Harrison is believed to be working on developing a new book in this series, which she is expected to finish very soon and publish in the days to come.

Kim Harrison is the pseudonym of the New York Times bestselling writer Dawn Cook for writing urban fantasy and alternate history stories. She is particularly well known for writing the Rachel Morgan series of urban fantasy novels. In this book series, Harrison has shown that a worldwide pandemic spreads in a world of alternate history that is believed to be cause by tomatoes with genetic modifications. This pandemic result in the death of a huge number of human population. This series was quite successful and helped author Harrison to make a name for herself as a prominent urban fantasy novelist. Under her original name, author Harrison has penned the Truth series and the Decoy Princess series. The books of these two series were the first ones that author Harrison published in her writing career. She has received appreciations and praise from a number of critics and fellow authors. Harrison has even succeeded in making it to the top of the NY Times Bestseller list once in her literary career. Author Kim Harrison was born in 1966 in the Midwest. Her upbringing was done in her hometown in the Midwest for most years of her early life. Harrison used to call herself a tomboy as she was the only girl in her family full of boys. Harrison developed an interest in writing at a very young age, but she chose not to explore it so soon. Instead, Harrison took a rather unorthodox approach and developed her writing skills slowly with the passage of time. Harrison has said that she used to avoid courses of English language in her academic studies beyond what was required for her to learn in her high school & college days.

The debut book of the Madison Avery series written by author Kim Harrison is entitled ‘Once Dead, Twice Shy’. It was released by the HarperCollins publishing in the year 2009. Author Kim has mentioned the chief characters of this book as Josh Daniels, Barnabas, Seth Kairos, Madison Avery, Nakita, and Chronos. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Madison knows about the existence of beings that the normal humans are unable to see, touch, or hear. She too is one of them and is able to sense other such beings. Madison Avery was killed on a prom night by her own prom. After her death, her soul becomes the target of a dark reaper. This reaper seems to be intended to get rid of Madison’s soul and body. And just when the reaper was about to finish his job, Madison Avery snagged the glowing strange amulet of the reaper and got away safely. Because of this, she gets stuck on the Earth, however, she is not alive. She is as much dead as any other dead person, but has not gone to the other world. The amulet that she snatched from the reaper provides Madison with a bodily illusion. This allows Madison to remain on the fine line between death and life. And even after all this has happened with her, Madison Avery does not have any idea why the reaper had come after her. Finally, Madison decides that she is not going to tolerate whatever fate throws at her by just sitting around. She takes the help of a good reaper, her crush Josh Daniels, and a guardian angel, gathers a little ingenuity, and heads towards taking control of her destiny before some other ill fate comes her way.

The series’ next book is entitled ‘Early to Death Early to Rise’. This novel too was published by Harper Collins in 2010 and features the same set of central characters as in the previous novel. At the beginning of the story of this book, it is depicted that Madison Avery is 17 years old, dead, and in-charge of dark angels in heaven. She had the dream of fitting in the new school, but before she could accomplish that death came to her. Since then, she has been managing to get a body’s illusion through a strange amulet and trying to manage her way with the assistance of a helpful angel. She is search of the reaper that killed and bring the same fate to him. Her boyfriend, Josh Daniels, does not know that Madison has died and appears to him only as an illusion. Later, Madison learns that she has become a timekeeper and her job is to manage the angels who carry out the murky orders of fate. Not being the one to follow rule sincerely, Madison feels that it is time to bring about some changes in the system. She takes assistance from some unexpected allies and forms a reaper’s rogue group. This group of reapers does not abide by any rules of heaven. Shortly after, Madison begins to develop her newly acquired skills as a timekeeper and feels that she possesses something that she may never learn to control. And the tough journey ahead makes things difficult for her even more. Madison reaches a point where she feels an urgent need of some divine intervention.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Madison Avery

Leave a Reply