Book Notification

Malin Fors Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Malin Fors Books

Midwinter Sacrifice / Midwinter Blood (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summertime Death / Summer Death (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Autumn Killing (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Savage Spring / Spring Remains (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fifth Season (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Water Angels (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Souls of Air (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Earth Storm (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Malin Fors series is a popular crime fiction series of the Scandinavian origin. This series is written by a well known Swedish author named Mons Kallentoft. It is comprised of 5 books in total, which were released between the years 2011 and 2014. Each and every novel of this series features the chief protagonist in the form of Malin Fors. Author Kallentoft has described Malin Fors as a detective inspector living in Linkoping, Sweden. She is in her thirties and is divorced. Malin Fors is also a teenage daughter’s mother. Malin Fors seems to be quite ambitious in her detective work. Her body is quite athletic, making her look like a hardcore detective inspector. After being left by her husband and having no one to support her emotionally, makes Malin Fors develop drinking problems. Her daughter, Tove, takes care of her as much as she is able to, but Malin Fors still feels the deficiency of a loving partner. She indulges herself in her work so much that she does not realize when she becomes a workaholic. Whenever Malin Fors feels like she is not able to control her emotions, she reaches out to Daniel. He works as a journalist and considers himself to be the partner of Malin Fors. Malin always likes to have rough sex with Daniel, and the two indulge in sensual activities every now and then. In spite of all the shortcomings in her life, Malin Fors is considered an efficient detective. Her colleagues believe the she possesses a 6th sense that helps her find out answers of even the most difficult mysteries. However, the people from her department also think that she is very complex to work with because of her nature and fearless attitude. Author Kallentoft started writing the series in the year 2007 and also published its debut novel, Midvinterblod, in the same year. This book was written in the Swedish language and was first published in Sweden. English is the first foreign that it was translated into later in 2011. It was published under the title Midwinter Sacrifice in U.K. The following year, the book made its debut in the United States as Midwinter Blood. This time, it was given a more direct and correct translation as per the original title in Swedish. As of now, the series is still going on as author Mons Kallentoft is working on a new title that he is expected to publish very soon in the coming days. Kallentoft has said that he has planned to write at least 10 more books in this series.

Mons Kallentoft is a famous Swedish novelist, who is fond of writing Scandinavian crime fiction books. He is particularly very popular for writing the Malin Fors book series. Author Kallentoft was born on April 15, 1968. His upbringing was done in Ljungsbro, Sweden; a small town located near Linkoping. In addition to being an author, Kallentoft is also a well established journalist. Currently, he resides in Stockholm. Author Kallentoft made his debut as a writer in 2000 with the release of his book Pesetas. This was a standalone book being Swedish. He went on to publish his first book in English in 2011 under the name of Midwinter Sacrifice, which was originally published in 2007 as Midvinterbod in Swedish. The books penned by author Kallentoft have been translated and published in as many as 28 foreign countries. His literary career consists of only 8 books so far. The most prominent ones among them are the ones that feature Police Detective Malin Fors in the role of the chief protagonist. All of his books are widely popular among his fans in many countries. He hopes to continue writing interesting crime fiction stories over the course of the next few years and gain more popularity as a novelist. Mons Kallentoft has received several prestigious national awards for his successful books. Some of the prominent awards won by him include the Katapultpriset award in 2001, the Hagdahlpriset award in 2008, the Gourmand World cook-book award in 2005, and the Premio Espana award in 2009. Mons has worked with the translator named Neil Smith for the English translations of most of his books.

An initial book of the Malin Fors series written by author Mons Kallentoft is entitled ‘Summer Death’. It was released by the Atria-Emily Bestler Books publishers in the year 2013, after its first publishing in 2008. The book’s story takes place in Linkoping, Sweden, and consists of the main characters as Malin Fors, Tove, and a few others as well. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that in the middle of a very hot summer, the tiny town of Linkoping in Sweden gets plagued by multiple forest fires and sweltering waves of heat. Things become tougher for detective Malin Fors after she learns about the discovery of a teenaged girl lying bleeding and naked in a park. When Malin Fors visits her, she seems unable to recollect anything about how she ended up in that state. Later, another teenage girl is found in a similar state near the shores of a nearby beach, except that she is not alive to tell her story. The case seems to be going out of hand of Malin Fors when a few more dead bodies of young girls are discovered from different corners of the city. Malin gets so much involved in this case that she starts dealing with it on a personal level. She fears for the safety of her own daughter and sees all the victims likewise. Malin Fors becomes determined to catch the brutal serial killer and provide justice the innocent victims by making him pay for his gruesome crimes.

Another mind blowing book of the series is entitled ‘Autumn Killing’. This book was also published by the Emilt Bestler publication in 2014, following its first publishing in 2009. Once again, Kallentoft has done the setting of the novel in Linkoping and has mentioned the central characters as Jerry Petersson, Tove, and Malin Fors. At the beginning of the story of this book, it is depicted that Linkoping experiences the autumn season and the first rains have already started to pour down the countryside. But, instead of enjoying the romantic climate, the residents of Linkoping get dreaded with fear when a brutally stabbed dead body is found floating in Skogsa Castl with its face pointing downwards. The castle is owned by Jerry Petersson, who had purchased it recently. Jerry also works as an entrepreneur and lawyer, and is notoriously ruthless in all the cases he represents in court. The discovery of the body in his castle causes negative impacts on his business, making him go out of business. Malin Fors struggles to keep her mind in sound state when she learns that there was a murder attempt on her daughter, Tove. She appears to be having a hard time in dealing with both the cases at the same time. The investigations she carries out makes Malin Fors gets closer to the unknown history of the town and that of the past of her family. Meanwhile, she unravels some long hidden secrets that make her the target of a brutal killer, who is determined to go to any lengths in preventing the secrets from coming out in the open.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Malin Fors

Leave a Reply