Book Notification

The Medieval Murderers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Medieval Murderers Books

The Tainted Relic (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sword of Shame (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Shadows (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Prophecies (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
King Arthur's Bones (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sacred Stone (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hill of Bones (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Murder (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The False Virgin (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deadliest Sin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Medieval Murderers are a group of historical fiction authors that includes Bernard Knight, Ian Morson, Michael Jecks, Karen Maitland, Susanna Gregory, Philip Gooden and CJ Sansom.

The Medieval Murderers are a group of popular historical fiction authors formed by none other than Michael Jecks. Michael Jecks banded some of the writers of the Crime Writers Association, namely, Bernard Knight, Ian Morson, Susanna Gregory, Phillip Gooden and CJ Sansom together to form the Medieval Murderers. They give talks and perform at the literary events in order to promote their genre – historical mysteries. They are highly in demand for their witty, informative talks and book performances all over the Britain.

Every author of this group is a successful writer in his/her own right. From giving out the speeches laced with humor about writing, editors and murderers, they built upon their success and collaborated to produce a series of successful books under their group’s name, the Medieval Murderers. Their stories manage to fuse the right amount of thrill, mystery, atmosphere and facts about the medieval times, making them a winning combination.

Michael Jecks is the masterful storyteller of murder stories set in the medieval times. He has written well over about 10 books in the hugely popular Templar series. He is a popular speaker at literary and after-dinner events. He was the Chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association in the year 2004-2005. He has acted as a judge of several literary events including the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger. His novel, The Death Ship of Dartmouth was one of the books selected under the category of the best crime novel for the Theakston’s Old Peculier prize for the year 2007.

Michael Jecks took up his passion for writing in a more serious vein after he was fired from his job as the computer salesman. He indulged in his love of the medieval times and wrote “The Last Templar” with his hero Sir Baldwin Furnshill, which was the start of the acclaimed, long-running Templar series. He has also written several other novels including the trilogy on the Hundred Years War, short stories and contemporary ebook.

Bernard Wright is a forensic pathologist who took to writing murder mysteries with his hero Crowner John, Sir John De Wolfe set against the 12th century backdrop. He is a prolific writer, writing in several genres ranging from contemporary fiction, non-fiction books on medicine, forensics, medico-legal books, television scripts. In addition, he is the non-fiction judge for the Crime Writers Association’s Dagger awards. Bernard Wright has also received the honorific appointment of Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 1993, by the Queen.

Ian Morson is a singer, theatre lover, and author of the famous Falconer and Nick Zuliani series. He has also written several plays, poems and short stories for several magazines and collected works. His love for Oxford prompted him to use it as the background for his William Falconer books. Nick Zuliani is a Venetian crime investigator whereas William Falconer is an Oxford regent master.

Susanna Gregory, a Cambridge academic working on environmental pollution is well-known for her medieval murder mystery series starring Matthew Bartholomew, who is a physician teaching medicine at Cambridge in the medieval times. She has also collaborated with her husband under the pseudonym Simon Beaufort for the Geoffrey Mappestone novels.

Susanna Gregory started her career as a coroner’s officer and then moved on to study environmental pollution in Cambridge. She pursued her PhD there and worked in the Arctic and Antarctic to study the climate effect on animals.

Philip Gooden is a fiction and non-fiction writer. His historical novels include the Nick Revill series and his non-fiction works on the English language. In 2006, his non-fiction book Faux Pas won the award for the best English language book at the English Speaking Union awards. In 2007-2008, he was appointed as the chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association.

His Nick Revill series set in the Elizabethan times, where the protagonist Nick Revill, a theatre artist finds himself involved in the matters of monarchy and murder. The themes of the mysteries are inspired by Shakespeare novels like Hamlet, Richard II.

CJ Sansom is a historical mystery writer who studied history, trained as a solicitor, before quitting his job to pursue his passion of history and started writing historical murder novels. His Matthew Shardlake novels set in the Henry II era are well-known and he has won awards like the 2005 Ellis Peters Historical Dagger and the Sidewise Award for Alternate History. His Shardlake series has been highly commended in the Dagger in the Library awards by the Crime Writers Association.In 2012, the BBC Radio show adapted his novel “Dissolution”.

The Medieval Murderers have written a series of books, where each book has a central theme around which each writer crafts his own novella. The writing styles vary, but the story itself is coherent and entertaining, as the writers traverse the history with their own protagonists, investigating the mystery.

The Tainted Relic is the first novel written under the Medieval Murderers brand. This is the story of a cursed religious relic, a piece of the original Holy Cross. It leaves a trail of murder and devastation in the lives of those who hold it. This tantalizing story starts from the Crusaders’ capture of Jerusalem, through the medieval times and finally to the modern era. The murders it leaves behind are investigated by the famous heroes of historical fiction: Sir Baldwin Furnshill, Crowner John, William Falconer, Matthew Bartholomew, Nick Revill, Matthew Shardlake.

Following the success of the Tainted Relic, The Sword of Shame is the second novel in the Medieval Murderer series. It follows the story of a cursed sword from the 11th century till to the present. The writers give an introduction about the cursed sword, forged in the Saxon times. Then an employee of Crowner John is embroiled in a murder mystery entangled with the sword. Crowner solves the mystery and the Sword is sold off to a travelling knight. This sword keeps reappearing at several times in the course of time, ensnaring the leading characters of the writers in murder and intrigue. How every hero comes out of his predicament caused by the cursed sword forms the story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Medieval Murderers

Leave a Reply