Book Notification

The Naturalist Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Naturalist Books

The Naturalist series by Andrew Mayne
Author Andrew Mayne pens “The Naturalist” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2017, when “The Naturalist” was released.

The series stars Theo Cray, who is a computational biologist and a professor, who also pursues serial killers. He uses his knowledge and expertise in maths and computer technology to good use while chasing serial killers.

“The Naturalist” was a finalist for a Thriller Award and it spent six weeks at the number one spot for all books on Amazon.

“The Naturalist” is the first novel in “The Naturalist” series and was released in the year 2017. Professor Theo Cray has been trained to see patterns where other people just see chaos. When mutilated corpses that are found deep in the Montana woods leave the police hunting blindly for clues, Theo’s able to see something that they missed. Something that is unnatural. Something that only he’s able to stop.

Since Theo is a computational biologist, he is more familiar with microbes and digital code than the darker arts of forensic sleuthing. However, a field trip out to Montana suddenly lands him right in the middle of one investigation into the grisly murder of a former student of his. While more details, and more bodies, start coming to light, the local police figure that the killer is either some grizzly that has gone rogue. Or it’s Theo himself.

Racing in order to stay a step ahead of the cops, he must use all of his scientific acumen to reveal the killer. Is he going to be able to become just as cunning as the predator he’s hunting, before he is its prey?

Andrew treats his readers with the utmost respect and gives them a ton of science info in this. Inside of Theo’s head is an interesting place to be with all of the interesting facts and theories up in there. It adds a contemplative feeling to the book as Theo spends much of his time thinking about what happened and how it all connects.

“Looking Glass” is the second novel in “The Naturalist” series and was released in the year 2018. Theo caught one of the very most prolific serial murderers in all of his using his revolutionary scientific methods. Since he is cut off from his university research, due to the shroud of suspicion surrounding him after the death of his old student and the aftermath from catching his quarry, he attempts to rebuild his life. Although, he finds himself getting drawn into one more unsolved case.

The desperate dad of a missing kid, who’s been ignored by the authorities and abandoned by his community, goes to Theo to get help. The only clues are the kids’s drawings and one inner-city urban myth about somebody called the Toy Man.

To unravel the mystery surrounding the Toy Man, he has to set aside all of his scientific preconceptions and embrace a world where nightmares and dreams carry an equal amount of weight as reality does. While he becomes immersed in his latest case, he finds a far-reaching conspiracy, one that has not quite claimed its last victim.

Andrew keep the intensity and fast pace with his vivid descriptions of scientific processes and interesting facts, as a result, some spent much of the book with their hearts in their throats. Theo is a favorite of some readers, since he is a bit of an unconventional hero, a tad socially awkward and without tact because he works more with facts than he does with feelings.

“Murder Theory” is the third novel in “The Naturalist” series and was released in the year 2019. Dr. Theo Cray gets an off-the-record request from the FBI to investigate one inexplicable double murder. It happened at the excavation site where the killer had buried the remains of his victims. In custody is one forensic technician, who’s in shock and without any history of aggression. He doesn’t remember a single thing. His colleagues do not even recognize this man that they thought they knew. An MRI reveals something both strange and abnormal. Why would he kill somebody?

After learning that some mysterious man has been stalking around crime scenes and stealing forensic data, Cray has got a horrifying and radical theory. Now he has to race against the clock in order to locate a darker version of himself: a scientist that has an obsession in pathological behavior that uses his genius not so that he can apprehend serial killers. But to create them.

Fans found this to be dark, intelligent, and suspenseful, and this is a tightly wound thriller that has an intriguing lead character. The book is a well-written and clever book that left readers wanting more by the end. Andrew tells these stories very well, with his quick chapters and style of writing propel them along and make them highly thrilling.

“Dark Pattern” is the fourth novel in “The Naturalist” series and was released in the year 2019. Theo Cray is on the hunt for a killer nurse, and some redemption.

Theo has got a legendary mathematical knack for apprehending serial murderers. Until he’s exposed to a mind-altering pathogen knocks him way off of his game. It upends an investigation, ruined his reputation, and then left him to question his very sanity. Only a single person still trusts him to finish this job. Amanda Paulson, his former professor, helps point him down a logical path to catch his prey: a nomadic health-care worker whose killing spree dates back decades and whose victims actually number into the hundreds.

Cray, who is never more desperate to save innocent lives, as well as save himself, follows every new lead all around the world. With his own personal hold on reality getting away from him, he realizes that to follow this elusive killer’s patterns, he has to also confront his own dark side. It’s in these dangerous shadows that he can find what he is hunting for. For Cray, going into a world that is without reason will be the most frightening journey he’s ever gone on.

Andrew’s style of writing is delightful, with its heaping spread of funny dialogue and bits of biological backup.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Naturalist

Leave a Reply