Book Notification

The Penderwicks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Penderwicks Books

The Penderwicks (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Penderwicks on Gardam Street (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Penderwicks at Point Mouette (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Penderwicks in Spring (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Penderwicks at Last (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Jeanne Birdsall’s bestselling middle grade “The Penderwicks” book series has warmed hearts of kids and even adults all around the world.

The first novel, called “The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy”, was released in the year 2005, when Jeanne was 54 years old. The book was inspired by the same sort of stories that Jeanne read when she was growing up. The last of these five novels was released in 2018.

“The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy” won the U. S. National Book Award for Young People’s Literature (United States). The citation compared the novel to E. Nesbit’s “The Story of the Treasure Seekers” and “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott.

The books star the four Penderwick sisters: Jane, Batty, Skye, and Rosalind. They are each great kids, however they still have many flaws. Rosalind, the oldest, is overly sensitive, while Skye has temper problems.

Even with their flaws and the mistakes they make, what makes readers adore them is the way that they support one another and Jeffrey, their friend. This is while they save a boy they hardly know from a tough situation, proving themselves to be fantastic role models for young kids.

The books dispel the myth that it is strange for girls to have boys as friends. The friendship that Jeffrey has with these sisters proves this theory and they have each other’s backs no matter what.

The novels feature different leading characters over the course of the series like in the “Narnia” series or “Sarah, Plain and Tall”. Birdsall often refers to elements from classic literature, like Lucy Maud Montgomery’s “Emily of New Moon”.

“The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy” is the first novel in “The Penderwicks” series and was released in 2005. The Penderwick sisters busily discover the summertime magic of Arundel estate’s sprawling gardens, tame some rabbits, treasure filled attic, and the chef that makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts.

Best of all is the son of Arundel’s owner, named Jeffrey Tifton, the perfect companion for their adventures. Icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is less than pleased with the Penderwicks than Jeffrey is and warns these new friends to all keep out of trouble. Could that be any fun? For sure this summer is going to be unforgettable.

This whole story was just charming, darling, sweet, and refreshing. The book completely captures the essence of childhood, and is a touching and sensitive portrayal of childhood. Some readers teared up more than once as they saw the characters in such an honest and raw way, and feel relatable and real.

“The Penderwicks on Gardam Street” is the second novel in “The Penderwicks” series and was released in the year 2008. The Penderwick sisters are now home on Gardam Street and are ready for an adventure! However this adventure that they get is not quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided that it is time for him to begin dating, and the girls know this can only mean disaster.

Enter their Save-Daddy Plan. It is a plot so bold, brilliant, and so funny that it could have possibly come from the Penderwick girls. It is big laughs, high jinks, and loads of family warmth while the Penderwicks return in triumph.

Readers love the relationship between each of these sisters, as they decide that Mr. Penderwick is not actually ready to date again, and humor ensues.

“The Penderwicks at Point Mouette” is the third novel in “The Penderwicks” series and was released in the year 2011. When summer comes, it is time to head to the beach for Rosalind. And off to Maine with Aunt Claire for the rest of the Penderwick kids, and Jeffrey, their old friend.

That just leaves Skye as OAP (oldest available Penderwick), which is a horrifying notion for everyone, but Skye in particular. Things start looking good while they settle into their cozy cottage, with enthusiastic seagulls, a charming next door neighbor, a rocky shore, a just-right corner store.

However can Skye hold it all together just long enough to figure out Rosalind’s directions about not allowing Batty explode? Is Jane’s Love Survey going to come to a tragic conclusion after she meets the alluring Dominic? Is Batty, contrary to all the accepted wisdom, the sole Penderwick able to carry a tune? And is Jeffrey going to be able to keep peace between the sisters, these girls that are his second, and most heartfelt, family?

“The Penderwicks in Spring” is the fourth novel in “The Penderwicks” series and was released in the year 2015. Springtime is finally coming to Gardam Street, and there are some surprises in store for every member of the family. Some surprises are quite wonderful, like Nick Geiger, their neighbor, returning home from the war. And some are simply ridiculous, such as Batty’s new dog-walking business.

Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans on presenting on her next birthday. However when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, these best laid plans are ruined.

This is about family, fun, friends, and dogs, as well as what happens when you bring what is hidden into the bright light of the spring day sun.

“The Penderwicks at Last” is the fifth novel in “The Penderwicks” series and was released in the year 2018. Nine years, a few beloved dogs, five older siblings, and an endless array of adventures. These are just some of the things which have shaped Lydia’s journey since readers first met her in the first book. Now it is summertime, and eleven year old Lydia dances at the bus stop, waiting for Batty, her older sister, to return home from college.

This is a very important dance and a very important wait for Lydia since the two youngest sisters are soon going to come home to learn that the Penderwicks will all be going back to Arundel this summer, the place that it all started. And better still is this occasion: a good old fashioned and homemade by Penderwicks.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Penderwicks

Leave a Reply