Book Notification

The Realm of the Elderlings Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Farseer Books

Assassin's Apprentice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Royal Assassin (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Quest (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Words Like Coins (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Willful Princess and the Piebald Prince (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Liveship Traders Books

Publication Order of Tawny Man Books

Publication Order of Rain Wild Chronicles Books

Dragon Keeper (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Haven (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inheritance (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Dragons (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of Dragons (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fitz and The Fool Trilogy Books

Fool's Assassin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fool's Quest (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin's Fate (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The realm of the elderlings is a fantasy fiction series of 3 trilogies, and several other books like the rain wild chronicles, written by the author Margaret Astrid Lindholm under the penname Robin Hobb. These books follows the life and escapades of FitzChivary Farseer, who is a trained Royal assassin of the Farseer lineage (the rulers of Six Dutchies kingdom).

They also obliquely also narrate the adventures of FitzChivalry’s uncle Prince Verity, who attempts to save Six Dutchies from the threat of the Red Ship raiders who hail from OutIslands. These antagonists have being for quite sometime attacking the Six Dutchies kingdom, utilizing the “forging” strategy, which involves turning the inhabitants of the areas they attack to lack souls or even emotions.

The realm of the elderlings by Robin Hobb like aforementioned consists of three set of trilogies which are the Farseer trilogy, Likeship trilogy and the Tawny man trilogy, and the rainy man chronicles and a set of other stories. This article will try to cover the 3 trilogies. The Farseer trilogy depicts the struggle with the OutIslanders, and goes on to develop the character of FitzChivalry Farseer, and the various other characters.

The liveship trilogy

This is the second trilogy in these series and consists of Ship of magic, The mad ship and the Ship of destiny. While these books do not follow up on the events after the Farseer trilogy, they dwell on the events that take place still in Six Dutchies. In particular to its southwest in Bingtown, which is a colony of the Jamaillia, a neighbouring kingdom.

These books narrate the story of “liveships” which happen to be living and sentient ships. This series is one of a kind in that it dwells on nautical details, which is a very rare setting for fantasy fiction. While FitzChivalry is undoubtedly the main character of the realm of the elderlings series, this trilogy doesn’t follow up on his adventures during this period of the Six Dutchies. Nevertheless, they are remotely linked to both him and his father King Chivalry Farseer, and some of the events that occur in the Tawny man trilogy.

The tawny man trilogy

This set of books namely Fool’s errand, The golden fool and Fool’s fate resume the story of FitzChivalry Farseer, 15 years after the events of the Asassin’s Quest (the last book of the Farseer trilogy) This trilogy largely dwells on Prince Dutiful, son of Queen Kettricken and King Verity, though Verity utilizes the “Skill” to inhabit FitzChivarly’s body and ultimately uses it to impregnant the queen. This is later revealed as his way of having a heir to the Farseer throne.

Prince Dutiful actions are a stark contrast to his given name. It thus necessitates FitzChivalry’s intervention in The fool’s errand to save him from himself. FitzChivalry also begins teaching Prince Dutiful “the skill” and goes on to enlist the aid of Thick and Chade to assist him. Dutiful is eventually declared king in waiting and gets to marry Elliana ( An OutIslander).

The characters of the realm of the elderlings series

As would be expected there are very many characters in this series, and this article will attempt to summarize some of the most important ones. One thing to take note of, is that it is an age-old custom of the Six Dutchies (particularly the Royal lineage) to name children after virtues. This is deemed to go a long way in instilling the import of the given virtue in the children, and make them come to personify them.

King Shrewd Farseer

King Shrewd is the great uncle of FitzChivalry Farseer and in the first trilogy happens to be the Royal assassin of the Farseer dynasty. After lacking an apprentice for quite a long time, Shrewd eventually takes up FitzChivalry (nicknamed Fitz) as his apprentice under the direction of King Chivalry, Fitz’s father.

Chade Fallstar

Chade happens to be the bastard son of King Bounty Farseer the patriarch of the Farseer dynasty and an unnamed female soldier. He was conceived when the kingdom was engaged in a military campaign in the SandSedge region. King Bounty recognized him and provided for his education and upbringing as a noble. Chade is eventually trained to be an assassin.

Despite this he is not initiated in the knowledge of the skill (an ancient mental contact and manipulation ability that is inherent in the royal lineage). He is depicted as being kindly to Chivalry and Verity. He eventually takes up Chivalry’s illegitimate son and the main character of this series, FitzChivalry as his apprentice to succeed him as the royal assassin. After the OutIslander (red ship raiders) threat, Chade is dispatched to Forge, which is the first town in Six Dutchies to be invaded, and he takes Fitz along with him. Chade also appears in the tawny man series as Chief counselor to Queen Kettricken and her son Prince Dutiful.

King Shrewd Farseer

Shrewd is the king of Six Dutchies and step brother to Chade. He is depicted as being especially “skilled”.

Prince Chivalry Farseer

Eldest son of King Shrewd and father to FitzChivalry Farseer. He abdicates his claim to the throne upon realizing the existence of Fitz. He is also portrayed as watching over him through the Verity’s eyes in a number occasion.

King Verity

Verity is the King in waiting after his brother Chivalry’s abdication, but he feels he isn’t up to the challenge. He is depicted as being extremely fond of Fitz, and even teaches him “the skill” whenever he is free from his numerous obligations. He ultimately plays a key role in the eventual defeat of the OutIslanders, but he forfeits his form to that of a dragon to do so.

FitzChivalry Farseer

Fitz is the narrator of the Farseer trilogy and the Tawny man trilogy. He is capable of both the elements of the dragon magic (the skill and the wit). He is despised of the skillmaster Galen, and is therefore not properly trained in the wielding of the skill.

In the first trilogy (Farseer) he is imprisoned by King Regal, and due to Galen’s stratagems plagued by skill-headaches and seizures. He is eventually healed by Prince Dutiful’s coterie in the Tawny man trilogy. Due to his illegitimacy and lack of memory he doesn’t know his exact age. He is sometimes referred to as Tom Badgelock in the Tawny man trilogy. Tom being the name given to him by Lady Patience (His father’s wife) and Badgelock for the white streaks in his hair. Unfortunately doesn’t find happiness at the end of the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Realm of the Elderlings

Leave a Reply