Book Notification

The Rules of Scoundrels Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Rules of Scoundrels Books

A Rogue by Any Other Name (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Good Earl Deserves a Lover (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Good Duke Goes Unpunished (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rules of Scoundrels by Sarah MacLean
Author Sarah MacLean writes the “Rules of Scoundrels/Fallen Angels” series of historical romance novels. The series began publication in the year 2012, when “A Rogue By Any Other Name” was released. It has four books in the series, concluding with “Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover”, released in the year 2014.

The novels are stand alone romances with different lead characters each time. That said, Sarah recommends that you read them in order.

Four aristocrats, that were exiled out of society, now are royalty in the London underworld. Four Scandals that were whispered about in the ballrooms all over Britain. Four loves that are all powerful to tame the darkness then return all of these fallen angels back into the light.

“A Rogue By Any Other Name” is the first novel in the “Rules of Scoundrels” series and was released in the year 2012. The novel stars Bourne and Penelope Marbury. What a scoundrel wants, a scoundrel gets.

One decade prior, the Marquess of Bourne got cast out of society without anything except his title. Now he’s a partner in London’s most exclusive gaming hell, and the ruthless and cold Bourne is going to do anything he has to in order to regain his inheritance, including marrying the proper and perfect Lady Penelope Marbury.

Years of disappointing courtships and a broken engagement have left Penelope with little interest in a comfortable and quiet marriage as well as a desire for something more. How lucky that her new husband’s got access to one unexplored world filled with pleasures.

Bourne might be a prince of London’s illicit underworld, however he vows to keep her untouched by its evil. Certainly a challenge while the lady discovers desires of her own, and her willingness to wager anything at all for them. Even her own heart.

There’s never a dull moment in this, with heartache and happiness, turns and twists and readers found themselves adoring each and every word of it.

“One Good Earl Deserves a Lover” is the second novel in the “Rules of Scoundrels” series and was released in the year 2012. The novel stars Lady Philippa Marbury and Cross. Lady Philippa Marbury is odd, as she needs a Scoundrel.

The bespectacled and brilliant daughter of a double marquess cares much more about books than balls, for laboratories than love, and science way more than the season. She just looks forward to marrying her simple fiance and live her days out quietly with her scientific experiments and her dogs. Before that, Pippa has just two weeks to experience the rest of it, fourteen days to research the more exciting aspects of life. It ain’t a whole lot of time for her. To do it right, she requires a guide that’s familiar with the darker corners of London.

She needs Cross, the controlled and clever partner in the most exclusive gaming hell in all of London, with his carefully crafted reputation for wickedness. Reputations tend to hide the darkest of secrets. When she propositions him, looking for science without any of the emotion, she threatens all that he has worked to protect. He is tempted to just give her exactly what she wants. However, the scoundrel is a lot more than he appears, and it is going to take every bit of his own willpower to resist giving this lady more than she ever imagined.

These are exquisite characters and the book simmers with plenty of tension and heat. Cross and Pippa are fantastic together.

“No Good Duke Goes Unpunished” is the third novel in the “Rules of Scoundrels” series and was released in the year 2013. The novel stars Mara Lowe and Temple. A scandal revealed. A rogue ruined. A lady returned.

He’s the Killer Duke, having been accused of murdering Mara Lowe the night before her wedding. Without any memory of that night, Temple has reigned over London’s darkest corners for twelve years now, powerful and wealthy, but beyond any redemption. Mara resurfaces one night, and offers the one thing that he’s dreamed of. Absolution.

Mara planned on never coming back to the world that she ran away from, however her brother falls deep in debt at Temple’s exclusive casino, she’s got no other option but offering Temple a trade that ends with her going back to society and proving to the world only what she knows. That he’s no killer.

It is a fine trade, until Temple realizes that both this lady, as well as her past, are more than they appear. It is going to take every ounce of strength to resist the pull of this maddening and mysterious woman that seems willing to risk it all for honor. And to keep from putting himself at risk for love.

Sarah is magnificent at writing seductive, original, and emotionally driven tales with bold and clever characters, some passionate love scenes, and steamy sexual tension.

“Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover” is the fourth novel in the “Rules of Scoundrels” series and was released in the year 2014. The novel stars Lady Georgiana and Duncan West. She is Lady Georgiana by day, the sister of a duke, ruined before she can start her first season in the worst sort of scandal. The truth is much more shocking, as in the darkest parts of London, she is known as Chase, the unknown and mysterious founder of the town’s most legendary gaming hell. For many years, her double life has gone undiscovered. Until now, that is.

Driven, handsome-as-sin, and brilliant Duncan West is intrigued by this ruined and gorgeous woman that is in someway, linked to a world of sin. He knows that she is much more than she appears to be, and he vows to uncover each of Georgiana’s secrets, to lay bare her past, which threatens her present, and risking everything that she holds dear. Including her own heart.

With this novel, Sarah crafts a compelling and intelligent story with a strongly characterized central couple and an intricate plot. Readers liked how Georgiana’s story unfolds and comes together with Duncan West is fine storytelling. Readers liked Duncan and Georgiana. Duncan’s not an aristocrat, and seems to be compassionate and smart

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Rules of Scoundrels

Leave a Reply