Book Notification

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secrets Of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel Books

The Alchemyst (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Magician (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sorceress (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Necromancer (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Joan of Arc (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warlock (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Billy the Kid and the Vampyres of Vegas (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Enchantress (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lost Stories from the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Books

Nicholas Flamel and the Codex (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Machiavelli: Guardian of Paris (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aoife and Scathach, Shadow Twins (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nicholas and the Krampus (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virginia Dare and the Ratcatcher (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ballad of Black Hawk and Billy the Kid (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bard and the Knight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Stories Collection (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Michael Scott began publishing his “Nicholas Flamel” series in the year 2007, when “The Alchemyst” was published. The series ended in the year 2012 with the release of “The Enchantress”, the sixth book in the series. There are some stories published from this universe.

The series stars Nicholas Flamel, who is an alchemyst. Both he and his wife (named Perenelle) have been alive for almost seven hundred years. He has been looking for Sophie and Josh Newman (who are the Gold and Silver twins from legend) they can save Earth’s Shadow realm from an evil man named Dr. John Dee along with the Dark Elders that want to destroy it. Flamel is a legendary figure that has built his fortune by using alchemy. He uses alchemy to do battle with the different horrors that Dee sends after him and the twins. He has good intentions, but still has flaws.

Perenelle Flamel is the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter, which makes her able to contact ghosts. She even has an old feud from way back with Machiavelli. Some have said (and they are correct) that she is more powerful than Nicholas.

Josh Newman is the Gold twin from legend. Mars Ultor awakened him, and Josh is a history buff and a natural with strategy. He is suspicious of Nicholas because he did not tell them of the previous set of twins’ demise. This causes him to side with Dee for a time, but later changes sides back to Flamel, after being cautious of John Dee.

Sophie Newman is the Silver twin from legend. Hekate awakened her, and was trained later on by The Witch of Endor, who put her experiences and memories in her. She is scared of their fate; she also protects Josh and is a lot more patient than he. Sophie makes the choice to side with the Flamels so they can save Earth, but looks for her brother eventually.

John Dee, the big villain of the series, is both a necromancer and English magician. He was once one of Queen Elizabeth I’s advisers. He is declared an outlaw by the Dark Elders because he fails them, and decides to use Excalibur, Durendal, Clarent, and Joyeuse (the four swords of power) to time travel backward to Danu Talis to destroy them.

Books from the series have won awards. “The Alchemyst” won Irish Book of the Year, Maine Student Book Award, Rhode Island Book Award, and Nevada Young Readers Award as well as some others. “The Magician” won an Irish Book of the Year.

“The Alchemyst” is the first novel in “ Nicholas Flamel” series and was released in the year 2007. Nicholas Flamel was born on September 28, 1330 in Paris. Almost seven centuries later, he is credited with being the best Alchemyst of his time. It is believed by some that he figured out the secret of eternal life. Records state that he died in the year 1418, but the tomb that his remains were supposed to be kept in are empty. Flamel is alive and well. The secret is kept in a book he protects that is called Book of Abraham the Mage. There has never been a more powerful book. In the wrong hands, it would destroy the world.

That is exactly what Dr. John Dee has planned when he steals it from Flamel. Humans will be unaware of what is going on, until it gets too late to reverse it. Josh and Sophie Newman are the only ones capable that can help save the world, if the prophecy has it right. Sometimes legends are right. Sophie and Josh Newman will find that they are in the greatest legend there ever was.

Fans of the novel enjoyed reading about these characters, whether they knew of them or not, either historical or fictional. Readers also liked the use of references to history and the things going on in present day. Some have high hopes for this series, in the future installments due to the promise found in this one.

“The Magician” is the second novel in “Nicholas Flamel” series and was released in the year 2008. Nicholas, Scatty, Josh, and Sophie have fleed Ojai and come out in the City of Lights, which is Paris. It is Nicholas Flamel’s home. It is no sweet homecoming, though. Perenelle is still in Alcatraz and locked up, while Paris is full of people that want them dead. Machiavelli (celebrated for his art collecting and an immortal author) works for Dee.

He hunts them while time runs out for Perenelle and Nicholas. Everyday they are without Abraham the Mages’s book, they age a year because their magic gets weaker as do their bodies. Flamel sees the Prophecy getting clearer and clearer.

For Sophie, the time has come for her to learn Fire Magic, the second elemental magic. Only Comte de Saint Germain alchemist magician and rock star can teach her. He is one of Flamel’s old students. Josh and Sophie are the only hope the world has, that is, if they kill each other first.

Fans of the novel found they enjoyed this story as much, if not more, as book one in the series. Both of the novels taught them some things about certain events in history or certain people from history, one of which being Flamel himself. Some liked how they never felt lost, even after reading book one so long before this one.

“The Sorceress” is the third novel in “Nicholas Flamel” series and was released in the year 2009. It almost broke Nicholas’ heart as Paris crumbled. It was destroyed by Dee and Machiavelli, yet Flamel played a role in it crumbling. Sophie and Josh seem to proving they are the twins in the Prophecy and Flamel has to keep them and the pages safe from the clutches of the Dark Elders.

Nicholas continues to get weaker as time passes. Perenelle is still stuck in Alcatraz, and with Scatty missing now, the whole group has no one to protect it. Clarent (Excalibur’s twin sword) is the only thing they have. The power makes it almost impossible to use without the evil getting into the wielder’s soul.

If Nicholas is to beat Dee, he must find some Elder that can train Sophie and Josh Water Magic. The only problem with this is that the only one able to is quite insane, and is Gilgamesh.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

Leave a Reply