Book Notification

The Squire’s Tale Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Squire's Tales Books

The Squire's Tale (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Damsel and the Dwarf (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Parsifal's Page (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ballad of Sir Dinadan (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princess, the Crone, and the Dung-Cart Knight (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lioness and Her Knight (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quest of the Fair Unknown (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Squire's Quest (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend of the King (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Squire’s Tale Series is a series of novels by renowned children’s author Gerald Morris. The series of novels are a contemporary retelling of the Arthurian legends, and include many of the characters that make an appearance in the legends. Sir Gawain one of the most popular characters in the legends and his squire Terence who is author Morris’s creation, are characters in all of his books. For the most part, each novel in the series is a narrative following on Arthurian legend and the different characters, though he sometimes blends two or more stories in the writing of one novel. For instance, The Ballad of Sir Dinadan features a protagonist whose experiences mirror the narratives of Tristram and Isolde, and those of Culwch and Olwen. With so many characters, Morris rotates the character even though the themes of the novels remain similar from novel to novel. All the novels have a different lead character except for the first two that have the lead as Terence Sir Gawain’s squire. The series is noted for having amazing humor and given the fact that Gerald Morris is an expert of the Arthurian legends, the stories have a unique flavor that you would not expect to find in similar works. Morris writes from the point of view of the women, pages, squires rather than that of the knights which quite innovative and intriguing in itself. The first novel in the series “The Squire’s Tale”, which spawned nine more titles culminating in the 2010 published, “The Legend of the King”.

The series of novels are young adult type of novels similar to the “Hedge Knight” though with less childish humor. There are many encounters between the fair ladies and the knights and much jousting with people dying left and right, making for a very realistic feel to the medieval setting of the novel. The character are multi-dimensional in how they relate to each other and despite these being young adult books, they do not have the over the top romantic aspects of similar novels. Terence and Gawain who are the leads in three of the novels in the series are interesting characters rather than the insufferable characters they are in other renditions of the legends. Nonetheless, even with their grown up attitudes, the narrative have something of an “Alice in Wonderland” feel with their endearing and interesting characters who go on fun adventures. Morris’s ability to turn phrases of humor and wit are evident throughout the novels as he crafts some of the most entertaining comedy, in novels that are supposed to be medieval works. The novels are something of a grown up version of the “Once and Future King” or “Le Morte D’Arthur” and would make for great introduction for teenagers not familiar with the Arthurian legends. Morris paints the characters such as Guinevere, Lancelot, and Gawain in such unconventional ways that makes them even more relatable and more interesting. With such genuine and delightful characters, it is very easy to feel as if you have known the characters for years.

Many of the characters in the novels retain their Arthurian legend dispositions that often come out in the narratives. Gawain who lives in Camelot is often looking to fight whenever he gets bored and will challenge any knight to a duel to pass the time. However, the Squire’s Tales series incorporate the magical in their adventures making for even more interesting subplots. For instance, Gawain challenges a mysterious Green Knight to a duel and chops off his head on to see him bend, pick it up, and put it back on. The knights, ladies, and pages of the novels are involved in several skirmishes and adventures outside the main plot and get involved with a range of interesting characters. Some of the characters include the feisty Lady Eileen, who recurs as a romantic interest to Gawain that joins Gawain and his Squire Terence on several quests. However, unlike our male protagonists, the Lady Eileen is kind of shallow and is not that lovable, particularly when contrasted with the courtesy charm and wisdom of King rather or Sir Gawain. Lancelot despite his ruthless streak comes across as quite an agreeable fellow, though he is more of an idiot than a gentleman for the most art. Nonetheless, despite the difference in experiences, the series is a lesson on romance, love, shame, bravery, and courage in the face of life’s tribulations.

In “The Squire’s Tale”, Terence is young orphan who has been living with the old hermit Trevisant in a remote wood. His fortunes change when strange green sprite appears to him and guides him to Gawain who is King Arthur’s nephew. Gawain is heading to Camelot where he is to be knighted and needs a squire. Trevisant had long ago seen a vision of his charge serving as squire to Gawain, and hence he asks Terence to follow the prince and become his squire. Thus begins an adventure-filled tale for Terence as his life is now has to fight envious men, and fight damsels in distress all in the service of his lord and king. Along the way, he finds new magic skills, which he comes to learn, are a gift from his long dead parents. Using his magical abilities, he tries to find answers to the questions about his past, while his lord Sir Gawain pursues the quest to be named a knight.

“The Squire, His Knight, and His Lady” is the sequel to the first novel in The Squire’s Tales series of novels. Sir Gawain and his squire Terence are on a quest to have Gawain knighted, but first he needs to meet a mysterious Green Knight who could just be the end of the lord. On their journey, they encounter an assortment of odd characters such as the feisty Lady Eileen, and the obligatory hair-raising adventures. The sparks immediately fly between Eileen and Terence, as she joins the knight and his squire on their quest. Weaving their way between the Other World and the world of men, Terence and Gawain come to a better understanding of themselves. The novel is an exciting Arthurian road trip down memory lane that is just one of the best books in the series showcasing the best of author Gerald Morris.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Squire’s Tale

Leave a Reply