Book Notification

The Unaltered Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Unaltered Books

A Diamond in My Pocket (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Diamond in My Heart (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond of Freedom (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Bearer's Secret (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Bearers' Destiny (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Bearers' Rising (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Bearer's Ring (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

American writer Lorena Angell has come a long way over the years, writing a large number of series during the course of her literary career. Writing mainly in the urban fantasy, paranormal and young adult genres, she has made waves throughout the industry as a whole. Not only that, but she is also being optioned for the silver screen as well, with some of her work set to be adapted for the cinema. This has allowed her to create a style and tone that has become universally recognizable, whilst also staying true to herself. With ever enduring characters immersed in larger than life stories, she really manages to draw the full potential from her many intriguing premises. Readers from all over the world have also found a lot to relate to in her work, with an audience that varies enormously. Drawing huge amounts of inspiration from her dreams, she injects an otherworldly quality into her work that makes it quite unlike any other. This also allows for her work to be unique to her, as she creates long-running sagas with unique and iconic characters throughout. Set within the Young Adult urban fantasy genre, the Unaltered series is a perfect example of this, as it exemplifies her handling of her craft. Following the young character of Calli, it sees her as a teenager being bestowed with superpowers, following DNA alteration. This then leads to her being placed upon a special team, as she must protect a diamond from falling into the wrong hands. Sought after by a set of evil clans, she must keep it out of harm’s way at all costs, with it holding cosmic powers that have energized her. Dealing with the superhero genre, Angell writes for a young adult audience, whilst also making the most of her subject matter, playing with the many tropes of the genre.

Beginning in 2011, this series would come to amass a worldwide following of readers from all across the globe. With a total of four books so far and counting, the series has definitely managed to maintain a strong sense of momentum throughout. Currently optioned for a film as well, it has managed to generate a high amount of buzz as well, with many taking note of its big-screen potential. Giving an alternative look at the Young Adult genre, this is one franchise that definitely has a lot of life left in it yet.

A Diamond In My Pocket

Brought out by Lorena Angell herself, this was to be the first book in the long-running ‘The Unaltered’ series of novels. Published on the 27th of May in 2011, it would work at setting the world up, along with the many goals and motivations of the main characters. Introducing Calli Courtnae for the first time too, it allows the readers to get a clear idea of who she is, as they really invest themselves in the series to follow.

Flowing forwards in a fun and engaging manner, this is a story that really manages to get underneath the skin of its principle characters. This allows the younger readers to really feel as if the story is speaking to them, as it’s written in an exciting and fast paced style. The world that they all inhabit is extremely compelling too, as it really manages to come alive off of the page for the reader, allowing them to feel as if they’re really there.

Believing her life to be normal, Calli Courtnae has her whole world turned upside down after travelling to Montana and discovering that she’s superhuman. Sent there under the belief that she’s entering National try-outs following her breaking of the world record for the 100m, it appears that there’s other plans for her. Known as a runner, she realizes that she’s being lied to and that her new role will be transportation of packages to other superhuman groups. Tasked with transporting a mysterious diamond to a group of psychic terrorists, she is looked down upon by her team leader Chris, but it appears that she is really being tasked with another far more secret mission. What powers does the diamond really hold? Can she learn the truth about what’s really going on? ‘Why’ she asks ‘is there a diamond in my pocket’?

A Diamond In My Heart

Published by Lorena Angell herself again, this would continue directly on from the previous novel, this being the second in the ongoing ‘The Unaltered’ series of books. Picking the story up from where it last left off, it was first brought out in 2012 on the 29th of January to an already eager audience of loyal fans. Developing her world and characters, Angell would manage to take the series in new and exciting directions for her readers, constantly keeping them guessing throughout.

Faced with a world of supernatural dealings, the now sixteen year old Calli Courtnae has had to turn her world-views upside down in order to deal with this new influx of information. Possessing superhuman abilities herself, she has to come to terms with her place within all of this after having her powers bestowed upon her by none other than Maetha the Immortal. That’s when she is then tasked with helping a classmate of hers deal with his own newfound powers, using them for good and not his own selfish pleasure. With her own powers, Calli is able to view the future, as well as heal and locate, as she must find those that have sided with the US government, betraying them all. Will she be able to find them before it’s too late? Can she help her classmate deal with his powers? ‘What’ she asks herself ‘does it mean to hold a diamond in my heart’?

The Unaltered Series

As a strong example of the Young Adult genre, these stories excel in transporting the readers in far off new and exciting worlds. With themes and ideas surrounding coming-of-age and what it means for people to find their place in the world, these books are timeless. Taking the field of urban fantasy forwards as a whole, Angell really manages to create a style and tone that is just right for the story that she is telling. Open to readers both young and old, these books really do have something for everyone, as their messages will resonate universally. This is something that can clearly be seen reflected within their current popularity, something that shall continue for some time to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Unaltered

Leave a Reply