Book Notification

Underland Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Underland Chronicles Books

Gregor the Overlander (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gregor and the Marks of Secret (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gregor and the Code of Claw (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ever since the year 1991, Suzanne Collins has been busy penning scripts for children’s television shows. Collins has been part of the staff on the Nickelodeon team, and one of the most popular show that Suzanne Collins has been part of includes The Mystery Files of Shelby Woo, and Clarissa Explains it All. Furthermore, Collins has also been involved in the writing of shows for the preschool viewers such as Oswald and the Little Bear. One of the most popular book series that author Suzanne Collins is widely known for is the Underland Chronicles, which is a critically acclaimed 5-book fantasy series. The Underland Chronicles was published between the year 2003 and 2007.

In the Underland Chronicles, author Suzanne Collins tells the narrative of an extremely young boy Gregor together with his adventures in a hidden piece of land located beneath New York City. Human beings who reside in Regalia, a stone city, inhabit the Underlands. Together with giant versions of animals such as snails, bats, moles, cockroaches, rats, mice, ants, lizards, and snails. According to author Suzanne Collins, the Underland book series involves numerous topics, which revolve around war such as genocide, military genocide, and biological warfare.

The Underland Chronicles Best Books
Gregor the Overlander
Gregor the Overlander is the first installment in the Gregor the Overlander book series. In a curved out city located beneath New York city, human beings who emigrated from the upper side known as the Overland live nest to highly intelligent bats and extremely loyal cockroaches. Using a rather different approach, author Suzanne Collins introduces two heroes, young Gregor, together with his sister’s boots. Through a trip down a long hole; an opening through the basement wall, the two young heroes, are taken into the Underlands. While trying to find a way back to his house, young Gregor gets to learn about the Underlands, their rather strange customs, and their extremely long history. After staying in the Underlands for quite some time, the honorable patriarch of the Underlands, Vikus informs Gregor about an ancient prophecy.

According to Vikus, Gregor is the foretold warrior who was going to liberate the Underland from a giant rat takeover. The relationship between the boots and young Gregor brought so much delight to the narrative. The readers watch as the Gregor grows steadily. Gregor’s love for his father, who had disappeared has a great impact on Gregor’s personality. In a rather surprising turn of events, Gregor gets to learn why his father disappeared and later on comes to learn that his father had a major role in the prophecy as well. With that said, author Suzanne Collins does an exceptional job of world building by infusing a wise economy of words and also avoiding unnecessary details which would have either had a negative impact on the invigorating narrative or the setting.

Unlike the protagonist, Gregor, who is more than determined to leave, the readers are going to find the Underlands as a fascinating place to live in. With that said, all the characters in Gregor the Overlander were fascinating and adorable. The protagonist, Gregor despite being the older brother is not close to perfect. Nonetheless, Gregor was quite logical and extremely smart. Boots or Margaret was also quite adorable. For being a 2-year old, Margaret’s speech and mannerism were undeniably spot on.

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane
In Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane, extremely huge cockroaches are responsible for abducting Gregor’s baby sister, Boots as she was playing in the Underlands. Gregor knows that he has no choice but to head to the Underland to find boots. For those readers who had read Gregor the Overlander are aware that towards the end of the book, Nerissa had talked about the prophecy of Bane. Bane is a huge white rat, one that is more than determined to rise to the helms of power. According to the prophecy, Gregor is believed to be the person responsible for ending the Bane rule. Author Suzanne Collins has once again crafted yet another fascinating tale; a race between the rats and the boys and the reunification of Gregor and with Ares and Queen Luxa.

Terror and humor alternate, as the third person narration gives details of the bickering that had been brought by the close quarters and the mortal danger that the questers are thrown into. The protagonist’s resolution of the prophecy will not only surprise but also delight the readers as well, especially when they get to learn that Narissa has once again packed a fresh prophecy into Gregor’s luggage when he returns to the Overlands.

Mark of Secrets is the fourth installment in the Underland Chronicles book series by author Suzanne Collins. In Marks of Secrets, Gregor goes once again to the Underland to see the fantastic and odd world. First, Gregor meets with Ripred as well as Bane. The last time that Gregor saw Bane, he was a tiny baby, but now Bane is more than eighteen feet long. Ripred informs Gregor that Bane’s friends are suggesting that Bane should be the king of the gnawers. Later on, we meet with Boots, Hazard and Luxa, Aures, Aurora, and Temp. The group goes to investigate a village of mice, but upon arrival, they learn that the village has been deserted. When Hazard looks at one of the Nibbler’s house, he notices that a scythe mark had been curved on the wall. According to Hazard, the Scythe is one of the Marks of Secrets and in meant that the group was going to die.

Their investigation eventually leads them to discover that the rats were planning a total takeover of the Underlands. Eventually, Gregor heads back to the museum to inquire about the prophecy of time and to get his sword back. With that said, Marks of Secrets is filled with so many new creatures and lots of near-death experiences. Everything about Marks of Secrets was filled with secrets and mysteries.

Code of Claw
Code of Claw is the fifth and final installment in the Underland Chronicles. Despite the fact that Code of Claw can be read as a standalone novel, readers are highly encouraged to begin with the first book in the Underland Chronicles book series and then work their way up to the fifth installment. Few hours have passed after the end of the Mark of Secrets. Gregor returns to the Firelands to inform Regalia that an attack was being planned. As the narrative begins, Gregor is extremely shocked after learning that the prophecy of time, had prophesized about his death.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Underland Chronicles

Leave a Reply