Book Notification

The Witcher Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Witcher Books

Blood of Elves (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time of Contempt (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baptism of Fire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tower of Swallows (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady of the Lake (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Season of Storms (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lady of the Lake (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chronologically, it is advised to read The Last Wish then Sword of Destiny and finally Season of Storms prior to Blood of Elves then read in publication order.

Publication Order of Witcher Collections Books

Sword of Destiny (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Wish (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witcher Series is a fantasy book series written by Polish writer, Andrzej Sapkowski. It is a collection of novels and short stories about, Geralt of Rivia, who is a Witcher. Witchers in the Witcher book series are monster hunters who develop extraordinary abilities at a tender age, which they will later use to battle exceedingly deadly monsters.

All the books in the Witcher book series have been adapted into a television series, film, graphic novel and video games as well. The novel series is known as the Witcher Saga. The novels and short stories have been translated into several languages, with one of the languages being English.

Initially, the Witcher Saga were first published in the Fantastyka, a Polish-based fantasy and science fiction magazine. Wiedzmin, the first story was penned down for a contest magazine, and it took the third place. A short story collection by the name, Wiedzmin, was published in the year 1990 and it featured the first four stories in the Witcher book series.

The second collection was titled Miez przeznaczenia. Despite the fact that Ostatnie zyczenie was published after the installment, Sword of Destiny, Ostatnie Zyczenie replaced the Witcher as the first installment in the series, since it included all the narratives in the Witcher except The Road with No Return, which is the only story without Geralt.

With that said, all the stories in the Witcher Series have been set in a continent that was settled by elves so many years ago. Once the elves arrived, they encountered dwarves and gnomes. After a period of war between the dwarves and the elves, the dwarves eventually retreated to the mountain while the elves settled in the forests and the plains.

One of the main character in the Witcher series s Geralt of Rivia who is also known as Gwynnbleid. Apart from being a Witcher, Geralt is also the protagonist of the Witcher book series. Geralt is also referred to as the Butcher of Blaviken. Sorceress Yennefer is also another significant character in the Witcher book series and is featured in, The Last Wish, a collection of short stories.

Yeneffer, later on, went to appear in several other Witcher stories as Geralt’s soul mate. Another significant character in the Witcher book series is Triss Merigold, who is not only a friend to both Yeneffer and Geralt. Merigold took care of Siri, and in most of the time, she was like an older Sister to Siri.

Triss Merigold admires Geralt to such an extent that she begins to develop feelings for him. The Witcher The Last Wish is the first book in The Witcher book series. In the Last Witch the reader is introduced to the protagonist, Geralt, who is Witcher; an enhanced human being who not only has an enhanced eyesight but also has the ability to recover quickly and is immune to a majority of the emotions that human beings normally feel.

As a natural born Witcher, Geralt main job is to roam the towns and the countryside’s, looking for true monsters so that he can destroy them. Despite the fact that this may sound like a perfect D&D style adventure series, the author Sapkowski quickly displays an amalgamation of a tendency and a sly wit to not just subvert these voyage tropes but also twists them and also spin them as well.

Despite the fact that Geralt is a trained killer and also possess some exceedingly impressive skills as a warrior, violence is not something that he likes so much. Instead, it appears as if there are two predominant themes to these tales. Each of the stories in the Last Wish have moments where Geralt decides to show his truest strength.

Geralt’s truest strength is not how fast he can be able to annihilate a monster, or how he can quickly avoid an attack, but rather, how he can quickly take a much keener look at what is at stake, compared to a majority of the Witcher. There are several moments where the author employs the use of humor especially when Geralt was interacting with Nivellen, a monster.

The book is filled with several elements of Slavic mythology from the various creatures, which do not have precise dialogues in the Western mythology to code of behavior. The second book in the Witcher book series is also a great read. Sword of Destiny is a collection of stories, which feature the protagonist, Geralt of Rivia.

As the second book, Sword of Destiny acts as a bridge between the first chapter and the third chapter in the Witcher book series. Irrespective of the fact as whether you are a fan of short stories or not, picking up this book is exceedingly essential for the readers who may want to get a full picture. Swords of Destiny opens up with the story Bounds of Destiny, which is a story about an old-fashioned dragon hunt. In the beginning, things begin innocently enough.

Geralt and Dandelion, join forces with a group of adventures to look into the rumors revolving around an exceedingly rare dragon. The group eventually come face to face with the creature. Geralt is an outstanding protagonist, who from time to time loves to prove his worth. Yeneffer is another outstanding character whom we met in the first installment.

This is an exceedingly great story that is full of action and a healthy dose of humor. A Shard of Ice is the second story in this installment. A Shard of Ice is not your typical short story but rather focuses mainly on the romantic relationship between the two main characters.

How the two have flaws and a crack in their defenses as well. Eternal Flame is another short story in this book, which features Geralt and Dendelion are up to their mischiefs. The two are going back to the city to visit an old friend, only to discover that their friends to discover that he has been replaced by an exceedingly mischievous doppelganger.

This is an exceedingly funny story. A Little Sacrifice is another great story as well as the Swords of Destiny. In this installment, Geralt is asked to meet with the Dryads. While traversing through the forest, major events come to pass that will forever change the course of his life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Witcher

Leave a Reply