Book Notification

Thomas Chaloner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Thomas Chaloner Books

A Conspiracy of Violence (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood on the Strand (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Butcher of Smithfield (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Westminster Poisoner (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murder on London Bridge (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Body in the Thames (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Piccadilly Plot (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in St James's Park (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on High Holborn (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cheapside Corpse (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chelsea Strangler (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Executioner of St Paul's (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Intrigue in Covent Garden (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clerkenwell Affair (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pudding Lane Plot (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Thomas Chaloner series is a series of Mystery and Thriller novels written by the well known British author Elizabeth Cruwys under the pseudonym Susanna Gregory. The series is comprised of a total of 10 books published between the years 2006 and 2015. All the novels of the series feature the main fictional character in the form of Thomas Chaloner, who is described as a reluctant spy working for the Secretary in England, United Kingdom. The books of the series are set in the 17th century and author Susanna Gregory has drawn inspiration to characterize the main character from the original Thomas Chaloner, who was a famous poet and statesman during the Elizabethan era of the 16th century England. He had two famous grandsons named Thomas and James and author Susanna Gregory has described the fictional character Thomas Chaloner of this series to be the nephew of James and Thomas.

This way, even though author Susanna Gregory has described Thomas Chaloner to be a fictional character, his family is described to be a real one from the Elizabethan era. The real Thomas Chaloner lived between the years 1521 and 1565 and used to write poems in the English and Latin languages. He had a son who was also named as Thomas Chaloner. He lived between the years 1559 and 1616, and enjoyed the patronage of the wealthy and the powerful Cecil family. Chaloner later became one of the favorites of King James I. He had married two times in his life and had a total of 15 children, 8 from his first wife and 7 from the second one. Chaloner was well known naturalist and ha developed alum mines in many places in Yorkshire, which were very profitable. This Thomas Chaloner had two very famous sons named James and Thomas. The former lived between the years 1602 and 1660, while the latter lived between the years 1595 and 1661. These two were famously known as the regicides as they had signed the death warrant of King Charles I.

The nephew of Thomas and James is the fictional character of this series, named Thomas Chaloner. He is also the grandson of the alum mines owner and naturalist Thomas Chaloner. The alum mines are featured extensively in the series as it is believed that King Charles I tried to seize the mines due to which the Chaloner family turned against him. Thomas had a very happy and joyful childhood at his family home situated in Steeple Claydon, Buckinghamshire, England. Later, his uncle whisked him to fight in the New Model Army of the Cromwell during the time of the civil wars. Thomas completed his studies afterwards from Cambridge and enrolled himself at the Lincoln’s Inn. The spy-master of Cromwell, General John Thurloe noticed Thomas very early and made him join the intelligence services of the Commonwealth. Everything went well for Chaloner over the next few years as he was mostly posted to the provinces of Netherlands, Spain, and France. When the Commonwealth fell, it proved catastrophic to him. After the restoration of the monarchy, Chaloner was dismissed in favor of the faith keeping men along with King Charles II, who was exiled. However, Chaloner was fortunate enough to be inveigled a post by Thurloe in the household of the Earl of Clarendon. He does not like the Earl as well as the duties assigned to him, but is forced to live at the mercy of the Earl.

The first novel of the Thomas Chaloner series was published under the title ‘A Conspiracy of Violence’. It was released by the Sphere publishing house in the year 2006. The plot of the novel revolves around the life of Thomas Chaloner during the reign of King Charles II. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is depicted that the severe days during the rule of Cromwell are over and now King Charles II has earned his throne in the White Hall Palace. With his re-establishment on the throne, the heads of a few regicides are held for the public display and the whole of London rejoices with a new form of energy. However, some of the inhabitants have lost their means of livelihood and among them is Thomas Chaloner, who is forced to work as a reluctant spy for the Secretary, John Thurloe. He has returned to London in search of employment.

The erstwhile boss of Thomas knows that he has a number of enemies around the court and therefore, he recommends him to the household of Lord Clarendon. In return of his favor, Thurloe demands to keep him well informed about any conspiracies taking place against him. Soon, Thomas learns that Thurloe had sent one of the other ex-employees to the White Hall Palace who is now dead. Chaloner believes that he might have murdered and goes on to investigate his murder. However, he is sent to unearth the buried gold at the Tower. Instead of finding the treasure hidden by the previous Governor, Chaloner discovers many evidences relating to the self interest and greed of the men in power. Eventually, he realizes that his life does not have value for either of the sides.

The second novel of the Thomas Chaloner series written by author Susanna Gregory was published by the Sphere publishing house in the year 2007. It was titled ‘Blood on the Strand’ and continued to depict the life of the main character named Thomas Chaloner during the time of the year 1663. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Thomas Chaloner has just returned from destroying the planned revolt against the monarchy in Dublin as he worked as a spy in the intelligence service of the King of London. After returning, he learns that rebellions are rising against the monarchy during the time of the spring season of the year 1663.

Due to this, the capital of England does not remain a peaceful place anymore. For his next job, Chaloner is told to investigate the death of a beggar during the shooting of a royal procession. After his initial investigation, he learns that the man actually had links with the powerful Barber-Surgeons Company. Meanwhile, the Earl of Clarendon, his master, gets involved in a deadly feud with another Earl. In order to save Clarendon, Chaloner races against time and also strives to discover the real identity of the murderer of the beggar. He also takes it upon himself to prevent an innocent man from getting hanged at the hands of the executioner.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Thomas Chaloner

Leave a Reply