Book Notification

Thomas L. Tedrow Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Days of Laura Ingalls Wilder Books

Missouri Homestead (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Children of Promise (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Neighbors (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home to the Prairie (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The World's Fair (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mountain Miracle (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Debate (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of Promise (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dino Mites Books

Dino Mites Declare War (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Troll Family Adventures Books

Kidnapped to Center of Earth (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Younguns Books

The Younguns of Mansfield (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frankie and the Secret (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Circus Escape (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legend Of The Missouri Mud Monster (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dorothy: Return to Oz (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legend of Grizzly Adams and Kodiak Jack (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon

Thomas L Tedrow is a literary fiction author that has more than twenty novels that have been listed in Guideposts and Scholastic campaigns. He is known for creating compelling narratives that grab his readers by the scruff of the neck and never let go until the last page. Tedrow is a well-traveled man and during his life, he had eaten the meat of a freshly slaughtered camel, dined on bear paws living with the Chinese Army, attended a party in Eastern Europe organized by the KGB, spent Easter in Beijing, and dined on rabbit stew to honor Holy Bunny Day and enjoyed a Christmas with Communists that surprisingly loved Christmas carols. He is also the producer of “The Legend of Grizzly Adams,” a family film that he is very proud of. Thomas was honored to go to a remote Asian village and do a God walk during which he carried the well-worn statue of baby Jesus. Before embarking on his many adventures, he had attained a Journalism/Public Relations degree from the University of Florida. He is married to Carla, his wife of thirty-seven years and together they have four children in Winter Park, Florida.

Tedrow has always been a huge reader ever since he was a child. He credits his love of reading in all manner of genres for the great author that he has become. He believes that there are only two ways that a person can improve their writing skills and that is by practicing or even better by reading the works of people better than them. Thomas Tedraw does a lot of reading and practically reads anything that he can get his hands on. Still, he loves to read books that make him think critically about his work. He has been influenced on style by William Strunk, Jr. & E. B. White the authors of “Elements of Style” even as his humor is influenced by Anne Lamott’s novel “Bird By Bird.” Tedrow is also among the litany of authors influenced by Stephen King’s classic writing guide “On Writing.” Having read a lot, he published his debut novel “Missouri Homestead” the first of the “Days of Laura Ingalls Wilder” series in 1992. He is also the author of “The Younguns” series of novels and co-wrote “Death at Chappaquiddick,” that was an insightful look into the Senator Kennedy scandal.

Thomas L Tedrow’s novel “Missouri Homestead” introduces Laura Wilder who moves alongside Manly her husband and Rose her young daughter to Springfield Missouri. They had been forced to move out of South Dakota as they needed to live as far away from danger as they could. During that time America had been inundated with immigrants who are seeking a land of freedom that respected the rights of others. They also wanted a system that allowed everyone to dream and hope to achieve their dreams. They had moved away with only $100 and it is difficult to see how they are going to survive and provide for their needs such as housing and food. Laura is worried but believes that it would be best to move away given the many painful circumstances in her past. While the story is not factual, it addresses many of the issues that were common on the frontier during the period.

The novel “Children of Promise” by Thomas L Tedrow opens with Laura observing her environment. All around are children helping their parents with farming activities. When she goes to check out the village school, she finds it in deplorable condition. The novel is set in the early years of the 19th century when the United States was not as wealthy as its modern iteration. Given that agriculture is one of the mainstays of the Missouri economy, a bad year usually results in many people not affording their basic needs. Laura wants to help the farmers but many of them are against her help as they do not think they have anything to learn about farming from book learning. According to the Almanac, the farmers need to harvest their crop earlier if they are to save any of it. Some agree with her suggestions but many are adamant insisting that they know better. It is a witty and entertaining novel that will make one cry and laugh at different points.

Thomas L Tedrow’s “Good Neighbors” sees provisions hard to come by in Mansfield as the entire region is experiencing one of the worst winters ever. To make matters worse, the town has been isolated from the outside world and it is now up to Manly and Laura to lead a heroic effort to ensure that the residents of town survive. These are silly, somewhat goofy but well-written tales with interesting characters that make for an enjoyable story. Most come with moral teaching on aspects such as the effects of racism and how people ought to treat each other.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Thomas L. Tedrow

Leave a Reply