Thomas Mullen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Darktown Books

Darktown (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lightning Men (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Town on Earth (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Revisionists (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Thomas Mullen, an American man of letters, was born in the mid-1970s. His birthplace is Providence upon Rhode Island. However, Mullen spent his formative years predominantly in Barrington, a town situated in Illinois. However, Mullen, who is a quadragenarian, is presently an Atlanta resident. Mullen writes both fiction and non-fiction work; however, he writes especially literary fiction and historical fiction.

For his undergraduate studies, Thomas Mullen went to the Oberlin College wherein he received his bachelor’s degree in 1996. An ardent penman with a laundry list of short stories and essays to his credit, Thomas Mullen’s work has graced different publications including the literary essays-oriented Atlanta Magazine, Grantland, the digital magazine named Paste, and The Huffington Post among others. Thomas Mullen frequents literary festivals and has lectured universities. Thomas Mullen, whose work is partly based on real-life stories, is often out and about when he is neither reading nor penning. Did you know that Mullen is a die-hard fan of Red Sox?

Thomas Mullen: Inspiration
Thomas Mullen is unsure when he resolved to become a writer. Even then he remembers one occasion during his formative years when he wrote flash fiction. Mullen uses the mixed method when writing. Mullen’s characters are developed using both the autobiographical method and biographical method; the starting points for Mullen’s fictitious characters are observation and extensive research. For instance, the inspiration for Mullen’s 2016 book titled Darktown came hard on the heels of relocating to Decatur in 2008. Eager to familiarize himself with the new neighborhood, Mullen started reading materials containing information on Atlanta’s history. It is in this light that he came to know about about the earliest African Americans serving in Atlanta’s police force, dating back to 1948. Incidentally, this is the cynosure of Darktown.

One of Thomas Mullen’s friends adopted a Chinese child and the friend’s reaction when he was notified through a phone call inspired him to write another book. Among the authors that inspired Mullen, who has a penchant for reading books set in the backdrop of Atlanta, include Gary Pomerantz, especially Pomerantz’s coverage of the history of black law enforcers.

Section on Books
Thomas Mullen debuted in the mid-2000s. There are about 20 editions of the first book. The first edition of the first book was initially published in January 2006, entitled The Last Town on Earth. And this standalone book is shelved under the fiction (particularly historical fiction), war novel, and adult fiction genres.

Philip Worthy is the featured central character in Thomas Mullen’s book called The Last Town on Earth. Meet protagonist Philip Worthy. Worthy is an adoptee and his warmhearted adoptive father, called Charles, operates a mill and founded a town named Commonwealth. Philip Worthy, who is a hardworking teenager, is handicapped. He was involved in an accident wherein he lost a section of his leg, prompting him to start using an artificial leg.

Incidentally, the title of Thomas Mullen’s war novel, The Last Town on Earth, denotes the said Commonwealth town. Commonwealth’s population comprises of especially males who are conscientious objectors. The turning point is the historic 1918/9 flu pandemic. Commonwealth’s administration opts to quarantine its residents and prohibits moving into or from the place. Soldiers inflitrate the safe and secure town and jeopardize the Commonwealth residents’ isolationism policy. The ensuing conflict is suspenseful in this award-winning book.

Thomas Mullen Books into Movies
Dreamworks secured the film rights of Thomas Mullen’s debut, The Last Town on Earth. Screenwriter Robert Rodat was mandated to write the screenplay. Unfortunately for Mullen, the said film company has since shelved the film adaptation, apparently due to a shakeup that occurred previously. Even then Dreamworks paid Mullen.

Thomas Mullen Awards
In 2007, Thomas Mulllen’s book called The Last Town on Earth clinched the James Fenimore Cooper Prize, by virtue of excelling in the historical fiction genre. USA Today hailed the said book thus: “Best Debut Novel”. What’s more, the said book was termed as a notable book of the year in a listing compiled by Chicago Tribune.

Best Thomas Mullen Books
The following are the best books authored by Thomas Mullen. The first one is Mullen’s award-winning book titled The Last Town on Earth. Refer to a previous section for a description on this book. The second one is called Darktown. There are about fifteen editions of this book. The first edition was published in 2016. This book chronicles the plethora of problems faced by the earliest African American law enforcers serving in the Atlanta Police Department. These include hostile white workmates, inability to freely exercise their powers, and being ill-equipped. A white man apparently assaults an African American woman and the authorities give scant credence to the case. Two African American policemen go across the grains and resolve to investigate the assault case.

The third one is Thomas Mullen’s thriller entitled The Revisionists. There are over fifteen editions and the first one was originally published in January 2011. Zed is the featured protagonist in this futuristic book. Unlike the present-day world, the future planet is devoid of conflicts, starvation, and desperation. Agent Zed is mandated to safeguard the ideal future and he ends up ruffling a few feathers.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the books authored by Thomas Mullen also sought the following books. The first one is called Change and Cherish Historical series and is authored by Jane Kirkpatrick. This series, which is set in the mid-1800s, features protagonist Emma Wagner; Wagner, an individualistic and willful young woman, surmounts difficulties albeit through an isolationism lifestyle.

The second one is called The Plague Tales and is authored by Ann Benson. The trilogy, set in the 1300s and is centered on the damnable historic bubonic plague (the so-called Black Death), features protagonist Janie Crowe. Crowe, a present-day physician, unearths the hitherto dormant centuries-old disease. She is now grappling with a recurrence of the bubonic plague and the salvation is a Jewish physician’s age-old journal.

The third one is named Aristide Ravel and is penned by Susanne Alleyn. This tetralogy, which is set in the late 1700s, features protagonist Aristide Ravel. Ravel, who is a prospective author and an undercover agent, scours Paris for killers in his quest for solving murder mysteries and save a seemingly innocent suspect from a murder rap which, if found guilty, is punishable by death.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Thomas Mullen

Leave a Reply

No Responses to “Thomas Mullen”