Book Notification

Thousand Worlds Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Thousand Worlds Books

Ties of Blood and Silver (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emile and the Dutchman (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not For Glory (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hero (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Thousand Worlds” by award winning author Joel Rosenberg (who is best known for writing the “Guardians of the Flame” series of novels) is a four part science fiction series that has a lot of action and a lot of gun play. This is Rosenberg’s foray into the genre of science fiction; as most of his work is fantasy of some kind. It also sees him diving into the genre of military and adventure fiction. Like most of his work, this series features the theme of freedom (or the lack thereof). It focuses on what life is like for a group of people who have to rely on their wits and do whatever it takes so that they can survive (something that he would do quite a bit in the “Guardians of the Flame” books).This is a more obscure series that Rosenberg wrote.

The series features different characters in each of the different novels, but is set in the same world. The final two books in the series focus on members from the same family (the Metzadan Mercenary Corps). These family members (along with other Jews) were forced from Israel by the Islamic Empire and forced to go to an inhospitable planet. On this planet, the best source of revenue is being a skilled mercenary. Rosenberg once described the series as being Jews in outer space with large guns.

The series began in the year 1984, when the first novel (which is called “Ties of Blood and Silver”) came out. It ended in the year 1990, when the fourth and final novel in the series, which is called “Hero” was released. The series is also called the “Metsada Mercenary Corps”.

The “Thousand Worlds” series represents some of the earliest published fiction that Joel Rosenberg has ever put out. As the first novel was released right after the early novels in the “Guardians of the Flame” series and his first short story that got published in a magazine in the year 1982.

“Ties of Blood and Silver” is the first novel in the “Thousand Worlds” series and was released in the year 1984. The few hold much of the wealth on planet Oroga, especially in the city of Elwere. This is where a kid named David was stolen when just a baby; he brought up to be a thief in the Lower City. This is what paradise looks like, it is a treasure trove; this is where he must find the key. Not to mention someone called Eschteef (he has many needle sharp teeth, twice as strong and twice as big as a human, glowing eyes that are frightful). He is also a schrift from the precious metals and jewels schtann. This creature too has a dream, and David is in these dreams more and more. A schrift has been chosen, and once chosen, it cannot be unpicked.

Fans of the novel found that this has all of Rosenberg’s usual strong imagination, that is also quite believable. Most of Rosenberg’s fans will enjoy the novel, it is short and pretty satisfying to read. The novel will please most of Rosenberg’s regular readers. Some found that the novel succeeds the most when going into detail about the aliens and the culture of the city.

“Emile and the Dutchmen” is the second novel in the “Thousand Worlds” series and was released in the year 1985. Major Alonzo Norfeldt is the most ruthless and crudest officer that the Thousand World Contact Service has. He is also called the Dutchman, and finds himself going up against aliens who are very cunning and lethal. He is also partnered with the dumbest greenhorn there ever was.

Fans of the novel found that Emile and the Dutchman were interesting characters; the way that Emile changes throughout the events of the book were interesting. Some were reminded by the someone they knew in the Army when the Dutchman did something in the novel. This focused on the exploration and military side of things. Readers had fun while reading this story about first contacts with aliens.

“Not For Glory” is the third novel in the “Thousand Worlds” series and was released in the year 1988. To keep up the integrity of the reputation that they have gotten as the best that the galaxy has for mercenaries, soldiers in the world stick to a hard code of honor and loyalty to their ancestors. These ancestors are of Jewish and Israeli descent. A veteran soldier (who is named General Bar-El) does not stick to the code, and it is the mission of his nephew (who is named Tetsuo Hanavi) to kill him, assuming he can.

Fans of the novel fans enjoy that this novel does not simply do what you would expect it to do. It does not make the mercenaries simply the bad guys, but it goes deeper than that. It is able to teach a bit of a lesson about Israel, but there is still some science fiction, military, and fun to be had here. Readers were entertained by some things that happened in this book.

“Hero” is the fourth novel in the “Thousand Worlds” series and was released in the year 1990. No one is able to survive on Metzada (an inhospitable planet of Epsilon Indi). Most of the inhabitants are able to go on living due to the fact that they are mercenaries. They are mostly descendants of people that were made to leave Israel. Being a highly skilled mercenary is one of the only things that you can do on this planet. It is the thing that brings in most of the revenue. Ari Hanavi (a young man) freezes in combat two times, making it so that he only has more chance to prove that he can survive. Maybe he can even become a hero one day.

Fans of the novel found this to have an interesting main character in Avi. Not to mention the interesting premise that involved the Jewish to be driven from Israel by the Islamic Empire. The novel has a lot of humor in it, as well as details. It has a very compelling main character that made people, even people who do not like military fiction enjoy reading the book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Thousand Worlds

Leave a Reply