Book Notification

Tim Downs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bug Man Books

Shoofly Pie (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chop Shop (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
First the Dead (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Less than Dead (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ends of the Earth (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nick of Time (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bug Man Collection (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Where the Wind Leads: A Refugee Family's Miraculous Story of Loss, Rescue, and Redemption (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tim Downs is an American author of fiction novels. Born in 1954, he graduated from Indiana University in 1976, graduating Phi Beta Kappa. Sometime after graduating, he created the comic strip Downstown. It was a daily strip and it ended up being syndicated for six years by Universal Press Syndicate which brought readers such daily strips such as The Far Side, Calvin & Hobbes, and political tongue-in-cheek comic Doonesbury.

Tim Downs has created cartoons that have appeared all over the world in newspapers. They have been featured in over a hundred newspapers worldwide that come out on a daily basis. In addition to his drawing and writing of cartoons, Tim has also ventured into the world of writing and has done quite well after the success of his published mystery and suspense novels. Now he is an official author of crime fiction and readers are dying to get more of his work!

Downs was the recipient of the Christy Award in 2006 for the best mystery or suspense novel of the year. for his novel Plague Maker His novel Less Than Dead ended up being a finalist for the Christian Book Award for suspense fiction in 2009. Tim currently lives with his wife Joy in Cary, North Carolina. They have three children that are all grown up.

Tim not only has written crime fiction, he has penned a few books about the topic of Christian relationships. He first became a novelist with the official publication of his 2003 novel Shoofly Pie. This is the first book in his Bug Man series. This series has the main character of Dr. Nick Polchak, a forensic entomologist. Shoofly Pie was followed up by Chop Shop and the third novel was titled Plague Maker. It was followed by Head Game, First the Dead, Less than Dead, and more, Nick of Time ending out the series. Collections came out of the series as well.

Tim Downs does not only write fiction but he has also penned a memoir. His memoir was titled Where the Wind Leads and was published in April of 2014 with the assistance of Vinh Chung, who also worked on the novel. He has also written the standalone novel Wonders Never Cease and was featured in the 2003 book The Christian Fiction Collection for Men.

Shoofly Pie is the first book in the Bug Man series. It stars the main character of Dr. Nick Polchak, who is also known as the Bug Man. This is where the series gets its title. We start out as readers in a remote county located in North Carolina. It is there that a young woman named Kathryn Guilford gets horrible news.

Kathryn finds out that her long-time friend has died. He also used to be someone that was really into her and wanted to win her over. Nothing about this news makes sense to the woman of thirty, especially when she finds out that the death has been ruled a suicide by the authorities. Kathryn is not sure that he killed himself like the authorities say, and it all seems a bit too easy to jump to that conclusion. Just because it looks that way doesn’t mean it is.

She turns to the Bug Man so that she can get some help, basically because she has nowhere to go. Dr. Nick Polchak is the only one that might be able to help her. In turning to him, she enters into a world that is filled with flies that suck blood and beetles that eat your flesh. This would not even be a problem except for the fact that Kathryn has a really big fear of insects. In fact, it is a fear that borders on the pathological.

Kathryn must face her fear if she is really going to get anywhere with this case. She needs to figure out what happened to her friend– but in the process just might dig up a conspiracy that goes back a decade and could turn everything that she knows upside down. She’s desperate to figure out what happened. If only the bugs on the wall could talk– or can they?

It seems that the good entomologist Dr. Nick might just know what they’re saying– and what it means for the case. Can Kathryn crack it wide open or is she destined to be forced to accept an unfortunate situation? Pick up the exciting mystery book Shoofly Pie and find out for yourself!

Chop Shop is the second book in the Bug Man series. Dr. Nick Polchak is back, the entomologist that is known through certain circles for his ability to look at the insects found on the bodies of victims and see things that other people would not be able to otherwise. Dr. Nick is called on once again by a lady in the field when she needs help quite out of the blue.

Dr. Riley McKay is an interning forensic pathologist. She’s experienced enough to notice irregularities but wants a second opinion on the differences in the autopsies she’s been performing at the Coroner’s lab in Allegheny County. She thinks that there’s been foul play involved, but she can’t be sure. So she’s got to get the opinion of someone who knows what they are doing. Who better than the guy who’s actually called The Bug Man?

Dr. Riley can use all the help that she can get. Dr. Nick doesn’t disappoint, and all of a sudden they have uncovered a link between PharmaGen and the lab’s director. PharmaGen is a drug company that has just started up and it seems that there are more people connected to it than they know. When they find out that the true nature of PharmaGen is a lot darker than they originally thought, the two are shocked.

Wealthy clients have to get their organs from somewhere. When this company gets the transplant organs for them through dubious means (finding and killing the unwilling donors) underground and Riley and Nick find out about it, it’s a security breach of the highest level. The two try to stay one step in front of the company’s killers, the two eventually discover that they have more in common than a love of science. But will Riley’s secret ruin everything? Pick up the thrilling novel Chop Shop to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tim Downs

4 Responses to “Tim Downs”

  1. Richard: 1 year ago

    Did he ever print a collection of his Downstown strips?
    I remember them with fondness. I have the Laylo one, but its really not that many strips.

  2. Beth Dodds: 2 years ago

    I found the book First the Dead. I really enjoyed it. Can’t wait to read mor bug man books. Have a great day.
    Beth Dodds
    Valdosta, Ga

  3. leslie amato: 3 years ago

    Did Tim downs ever finish the bug man series. He left us waiting to see what happens with Nick and Alana. Is he going to finish the story?

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Hi Leslie – the list above is the complete list. No additional books within that series has been written at this time.


Leave a Reply