Book Notification

Tim Hodkinson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Richard Savage Books

Lions of the Grail (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Waste Land (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Forest (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Whale Road Chronicles Books

Odin's Game (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Raven Banner (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolf Hunt (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Serpent King (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bear's Blade (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Eagle (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Spear of Crom (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Undead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Frankenstein Testament (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sword of the War God (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

All the King's Thanes (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tim Hodkinson
Tim Hodkinson was born in Northern Ireland in 1971. He studied Old Norse Literature and Medieval English at University with a subsidiary in Medieval European History, which only deepened his interest and informed his early novels. Tim’s been writing all of his life and has got a strong interest in the mystical, the historical, and the mysterious.

His interest in ancient times, and especially the medieval period, dates back to his childhood when his parents took he and his siblings around the megaliths and castles in Ireland. Tim remembers riding his bike while a boy to see the various remnants of the Normans within reach of his home town of Lisburn. What would look to many to be uninspiring hillocks to him became in his imagination the site of historical battles and he figures that is where inspiration for a few of his stories came from.

After several happy years of living in New Castle, New Hampshire, he and his wife Trudy and their three wonderful daughters have returned to a village in Ireland called Moira.

“Lions of the Grail” is the first novel in the “Richard Savage” series and was released in 2012. The year is 1315 AD. Condemned as a heretic and rotting in prison, Knight Templar Richard Savage gets the opportunity for a reprieve if he goes back to his homeland in Ireland. There’s one catch, however. He must work as a spy for King Edward of England.

England and Scotland are at war. The Scots intend to invading Ireland and somebody in Ireland’s helping them. Savage goes back to a land where he can’t be sure who he can trust. Robert Bruce, who is the King of Scotland, is said to have this mysterious treasure, and many have been flocking to join his cause.

Brutal and efficient murderers are on the loose and in the middle of all of it is Alys de Logan, who is a former love of Richard’s that he abandoned in order to join the Templars, and some say has become a witch. Amid tournaments, feasts, and war, Richard learns that he left much more than only memories behind in Ireland. Can he figure out which side he is on, where Bruce’s secret treasure is, and above all, stay alive?

“The Spear of Crom” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2013. A Celtic warrior rides out on this deadly mission, in first century Roman Britain. This thrilling blend of history and legend, daring deeds and bloody battles. A thankless quest, a priceless relic, who’s going to make it out alive?

Britannia in 58 A. D. Fergus MacAmergin is a man that’s out of place. As an Irish Celt, he passes as a Gaul and he rides with Roman cavalry, affirming Nero’s control over the entire province. Fergus dreams about escaping the fetters of his birth and living freely as one of the citizens of Rome.

Fergus’ commander makes an error on the battlefield, Fergus gets blamed for it. He and his men get handed a thankless task: one that spells despair, danger, and almost certain death. Their mission: to find the Holy Lance, which is the same spear that wounded Christ on the Cross.

Tribune Agricola gets pulled into this quest, and he and Fergus have to overlook their differences in order to survive. However there are enemies and plots everywhere. And just why’s the Holy Lance so crucial to Roman mastery over Britannia?

“Odin’s Game” is the first novel in the “Whale Road Chronicles” series and was released in 2019. Not everybody is going to survive, however who is going to conquer all in Odin’s game?

AD 916. In the Orkney Isles, one young woman flees from her home in order to save her unborn child’s life. Eighteen years later, this witch foretells that evil from her past is reaching out yet again to threaten her son.

Einar Unnsson, who has been outlawed out of his home in Iceland, gets thrown onto the mercy of his Uncle, the infamous Jarl Thorfinn ‘Skull Cleaver’ of Orkney. He joins up with a Norse-Irish princess and this company of wolfskin-clad warriors to become a player in a lethal game for control of the Irish sea, where warriors are the pawns of Jarls and kings and the powerful are themselves just game pieces on the tafl board of the Gods.

Together they go off on this quest where Einar has to battle against unimaginable foes, learn what it really means to be a warrior, and forge some new friendships. While the clouds of war continue to gather, betrayal follows betrayal and Einar realizes that the only person that he can truly trust is himself.

“The Raven Banner” is the second novel in the “Whale Road Chronicles” series and was released in 2020. Einar Unsson is going to be a great warrior, whether he wants to be or not. AD 935. City of Jorvik during late winter.

Einar Unnsson is destined to be this great Icelandic warrior. He’s already beaten the men sent to murder him by his notorious dad, Jarl Thorfinn, the “Skull Cleaver” of Orkney. He’s got a gift that makes him deadly in battle. But he’s cast it all off in order to become a bard.

When these three men attack him, his poetry provides very little in the way of protection. But luckily, the skilled archer and Norse-Irish princess Affreca saves him. She had assumed that Einar left in order to raise up an army, challenge Thorfinn and seize the Jarldom of Orkney. But she’s now determined to set him back onto his rightful path.

Einar quickly himself being entangled on Affreca’s own mission. She is looking for the Raven Banner for King Elrik. Legend has it that this banner is imbued with some pretty powerful magic. That it was actually a gift from the Norse God Odin and any army which marches behind it is going to be victorious. This quest sets some events into motion which are beyond Einar’s control. He’s got no choice but to face his fate and swing his sword one more time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tim Hodkinson

Leave a Reply