Book Notification

Tim Maleeny Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cape Weathers Investigation Books

Stealing the Dragon (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beating the Babushka (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Greasing the Piñata (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boxing the Octopus (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hanging the Devil (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sam McGowan Books

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Till Death Do Us Part (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suspension of Disbelief (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Uncage Me(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bound by Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Malice Domestic: Mystery Most Diabolical(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tim Maleeny is an award-winning American writer of humor, mystery, and thriller novels. He is particularly famous for writing the Cape Weathers Investigation series, the most successful among its novels being the first one called Stealing the Dragon. Additionally, he has written one book in the Sam McGowan Adventures, one novella, and an omnibus collection in collaboration with authors Job Talton and Dashiell Hammett. Maleeny’s debut book is based on a thriller story involving the Chinese Triads. It was labeled by the Association of Independent Mystery Booksellers as the Killer Book of the Year. Maleeny’s creation of the chief protagonist, private detective Cape Weathers, is well appreciated and liked by all. Cape Weathers is praised as an excellent character who makes the readers get engaged in his story without the insistence of being taken too seriously.

Even the writing of author Maleeny has been compared with the likes of Elmore Leonard and praised a lot. The second book of author Maleeny’s career, Beating the Babushka, was deeply appreciated by the fans of thriller novels. Maleeny’s third novel featuring Cape Weathers in the lead role, Greasing the Pinata, has been described by Library Journal as the perfect book for all those readers who like a gritty crime story filled with numerous plot twists. The standalone comedic thriller book by Maleeny called Jump features Sam McGowan as the main character and is described as an excellent mixture of escapism. It was named as the Year’s Best Mystery by the Foreword Magazine.

Author Maleeny is the winner of the Macavity Award in the category of short fiction. His award-winning short fiction has featured in Ellery Queen, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, and a few other anthologies such as Uncage Me, Death Do Us Apart, Fear, Thriller 2, etc. An active member of Sisters in Crime, MWA, and International Thriller Writers, Maleeny has been hailed as one of the prominent authors in the thriller genre. The bestselling novels penned by Maleeny featuring Cape Weathers and his aid Sally are described as energetic, smart, engaging, and snappily written books. Each Cape Weathers novel consists of an independent story and can be read in the order of the reader’s choice. Maleeny’s novels take the readers from the back alleys of the Chinatown in San Francisco to the Hong Kong Triads’ shadowy world and from the movie business’ scandalous face to the deadly drug cartels in Mexico.

Originally hailing from New Jersey, Maleeny currently resides in New York City and carries out his writing work from the comfort of his house. Before taking up writing as a career, he was involved in working as an advertisement maker in an ad company based in San Francisco. An interest in writing thriller stories had already found a place in his heart when he was younger and it grew deeper as Maleeny grew older. Finally, the time came when decided to pursue writing seriously and sat down to write his first novel after quitting his day job. Since then, Maleeny has been writing on a full-time basis. He is happily married and has the full support of his family members.

Maleeny is grateful for the support he has received for each of his books from the readers across the globe. He likes to give credit for his success to all those readers who have read and praised his work. Maleeny also expresses his gratitude to all those who kept him motivated throughout his career through their appreciation and praise. His determination and dedication grew more because of the rave reviews given by the critics and fellow writers to his novels and for that he feels humbled and indebted. Maleeny is hopeful of writing many more engaging stories in the years to come and make them available to his fans to read and enjoy.

The Cape Weathers Investigation series written by author Tim Maleeny began in 2007. Each book of this series features the central character in the role of a San Francisco based reporter turned private investigator named Cape Weathers. He is shown getting involved in various cases of mystery and murder and solving them with the help of his wit, cunningness, courage, and intelligence. Other essential characters depicted in the books by Maleeny include Sally, Grace, Vera Young, Rebecca, etc. The first book of this mystery series is entitled ‘Stealing the Dragon’. It was released in 2007 by the Midnight Ink publication. The book begins by depicting that a container ship carrying refugees from China runs aground near Alcatraz with its crew murdered, soon after the smuggling of an ancient talisman from Hong Kong.

The Triads suspect that it is the work of one among them and zero down on Sally, a female assassin known to keep a complex relationship with Cape Weathers. However, when Sally is not found anywhere, the Triads shift the focus of their attention towards Cape. Even the FBI and the local police begin to keep a watch on his activities. Cape Weathers realizes that he will be screwed if he does not unravel this mystery in time. With the assistance of a couple of neurotic cops, a computer genius, a drug lord, and a reporter, he sets out to find what actually happened on board the container ship and also locate Sally.

Another exciting novel of this series is called ‘Greasing the Pinata’. It was released by the Poisoned Press publication in 2008. Initially, it is mentioned that an ex-US Senator goes missing a few days after the disappearance of his son. Later, both of them are found dead near a golf course in Mexico with parts of their missing. The estranged daughter of the Senator, Rebecca, approaches Cape Weathers to find out who is responsible for the deaths of her father and brother. Cape refuses to take the case at first as he doesn’t feel comfortable around politicians and is also worried about the dangers in the terrain. But, when he realizes that there is the risk of Rebecca’s life falling into danger, Cape doesn’t hesitate to cross the border to look for answers. He contacts his deadly partner Sally and asks her to guard him in the dangerous territory. Cape’s investigation reveals a deadly conspiracy that connects San Francisco’s corporate boardrooms to the Mexico strongholds. And as he continues to dig further, an assassin tries to kill him in an attempt to keep the secrets from coming out. Cape Weathers undergoes a lot of trouble and obstacles before finally getting to the bottom of the mystery behind the brutal murders of the former Senator and his son.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tim Maleeny

Leave a Reply