Nick Petrie Series

Tim Sullivan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The DS Cross Mysteries Books

The Dentist (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Cyclist (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Patient (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Politician (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Monk (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of DS Cross Chronicles Books

The Lost Boys (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Timothy Sullivan is an American screenwriter, film director, actor, short story writer and science fiction novelist.

Over the years, he has written many critically acclaimed novels and has won many awards including a Nebula Award. His short fiction and novels have also been translated into languages such as Chinese and German, with some being adapted into screenplays.

The author was born to postal service worker Edward Sullivan and his homemaker wife Lilia Sullivan in Bangor, Maine. Sullivan got his love of storytelling from his father who used to bring him and his siblings all manner of comics and books from “Mad Magazine” to Vladimir Nabokov and Edgar Rice Burroughs.
Timothy Sulivan went to the Bangor based John Bapst Memorial High School before he proceeded to attend Miami Dade Community College. He would later on graduate with a bachelor’s degree in English literature from Florida Atlantic University.

Even though he currently makes his home in Miami, Florida, he has lived all over the United States from southern California, Washington D.C. and Philadelphia.

Sullivan is the author of a lot more short stories and novels, even as he is best known as an actor and director in several films in the horror and science fiction genre.

Before he made his name as a screenwriter and author, he worked all manner of jobs from taxicab driver, construction, night guard, liquor store clerk.
Timothy Sullivan published “Destiny’s End,” his debut novel, in 1988. Since he was great friends with the “Washington Post” chief book reviewer, he has worked on many reviews for the “Washington Post Book World,” “The Washington Post,” and “USA Today.”

He has been known to use different iterations of his name when publishing his fiction that have included Tim Sullivan, Timothy R. Sullivan, and Timothy Robert Sullivan.

Tim got started acting in 1989 when he was part of the cast of “The Laughing Dead.” During the 1990s, he was a script writer, director and actor in a range of low budget horror and science fiction films that included “Hollywood Mortuary” and “Twilight of the Dogs.”

Following his graduation from college, Sullivan for many years made Silver Lake in Los Angeles his home.
When his ailing mother became sick in 2000, he moved to South Florida until she died in 2004. He then moved in with Fiona Kelleghan with whom he started sharing a house.

The self declared atheist is quite the reader and has a whole bookshelf full of horror and science fiction tomes. He also has a ton of books on histories, biographies and other works of science in both fiction and nonfiction.

In his professional life, Sullivan has been friends with many fantasy authors over the years. Some of his friends in the literary world include Michael Swanwick, Kim Stanley Robinson, John Grant, Gardner Dozois and Gregory and Virginia Frost.

The author has been immortalized by many of his contemporaries in their fiction novels, most notably in Sharon Webb’s works.

Tim Sullivan’s novel “The Dentist” opens to the discovery of the body of a homeless man found strangled in what must have been a vicious struggle.
DS George Cross is an outsider who is very much interested in the case. The case seems connected to a cold case, which only draws him in even further. He is convicnced that the answert to the murder lies in resolving the cold case.

Cross is relentlessly obsessed with patterns, detail and logic, which is what makes him one of the best detectives to ever practice. But his methods have not made him any friends among his superiors and colleagues. In fact, there are many who would love to see him fall.

Soon after, there are all manner of red flags as suspicious errors and inconsistencies are found in the original investigation. The man who worked on the case is recently retired and just like his many friends in the forces, strongly dislikes Cross.

The work is set in the Southwest of England, in the picturesque town of Bristol where Cross soon comes to terms with the dark underbelly of the city.
It is a case full of turns and twins that ultimately astonishes almost everyone involved.

“The Cyclist” by Tim Sullivan opens to the death of an amateur cyclist that took his sport very seriously. Cross deduced all this from the man’s muscular legs and odd tan lines during the autopsy.

When the autopsy is concluded, the investigators find some unusual blood work. According to the report, Alex the dead man has been a heavy user of performance enhancing drugs.

Cross is a man with a knowledge of just about everything and anything and makes use of this knowledge to look closer into the case. He has also been known to be an avid cyclist, even though all he has is a plain bike bike given that the more expensive ones he bought used to get stolen.

The dead man he is investigating has strange burn scars and further investigations point to a popular Greek restaurant in the locale. There they find the man’s father, mother, brother and a heavily pregnant secret girlfriend.

It does seem that the family is hiding something from the investigators, particularly information on his substance abuse.

Tim Sullivan’s novel “The Patient” continues to follow the life and times of Detective George Cross, champion of the dispossessed and voiceless.

He is known for being awkward, rude and difficult but his conviction rate is the best given that he can be dogged and relentless in the search for truth using logic. As a person diagnosed with Autism Spectrum disorder, he is an outsider who understands other people like himself.

In this outing, he is investigating a young woman recently deceased in a case with no witnesses, no weapon or fingerprints. The Bristol Crime Unit was on the verge of closing the case as a sucide given the victim’s history with abusing drugs.

But her mother insists she had been sober and clean for two years and that she was murdered. Cross intends to go over his boss’s head to reopen the investigation even if it could cost him his career.

It is not long before he finds himself having to deal with an intricate web of potential suspects. He needs to solve the case before his superiors are on to him and shut him down for good.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tim Sullivan

One Response to “Tim Sullivan”

  1. Daphne Doreen Dack: 2 months ago

    love these books


Leave a Reply