Tim Willocks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tannhauser Trilogy Books

The Religion (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Twelve Children of Paris (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bad City Blues (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Green River Rising (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloodstained Kings (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Amy Foster Film tie-in (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Swept from the Sea (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Doglands (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Memo from Turner (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Tim Willocks is a reputed British novelist and physician. He is popular for writing historical fiction, mystery, crime, thriller, action, contemporary, fantasy, and young adult stories. Some of the well known published works of Willocks include the Mattias Tannhauser series and a few standalone novels. His books are popular all over the world and are enjoyed by a large number of readers. Willocks was born on October 27, 1957, in Stalybridge, Chesire, England. He joined the University College Medical School and studied medicine. Following his graduation, he worked for a few years on the rehabilitation of patients suffering from drug addiction. Author Willocks is considered a qualified psychiatrist and doctor, having successfully treated many patients over the course of his medical career. He shifted his focus towards writing novels and published his book under the title of Bad City Blues in 1991. Willocks followed it up by the 1994 novel called Green River Rising and the 1995 book called Bloodstained Kings. Later, Willocks co-wrote the novel Sweet Angel Mine.

In 1999, Willocks penned a documentary of Steven Spielberg called The Unfinished Journey. In the same year, Willocks’ debut book was adapted into a movie that starred Dennis Hopper in the lead role. Willocks has also written the screenplay for the 1997 movie Swept from the Sea, which is based on Joseph Conrad’s 1903 novel called Amy Foster. Currently, one more script penned by him, called Sin, is under production. In 2006, author Willocks began his new book series, the Tannhauser Trilogy. He has written and published the first two books of that series so far and is currently working on the development of the third book. Willocks is expected to release the final installment of the trilogy book soon. The first novel of the Tannhauser series is called The Religion and is based on the Grand Siege of Malta is 1565. In addition to writing novels and screenplays, Willocks has an interest in karate and holds a black belt of the second dan rank in Shotokan karate.

The debut book of the Mattias Tannhauser series written by author Tim Willocks is entitled ‘The Religion’. It was released by the Sarah Crichton Books in 2006. Willocks has mentioned the central characters in this book in the form of Suleiman, Carla La Penautier, Mattias Tannhauser, and several others. This novel’s setting takes place in Malta and Messina, Sicily during the time of the year 1565. Initially, it is seen that the Ottoman emperor Suleiman the Magnificent declares war against the Saint John Knights. As the large armada of Suleiman approaches the Christian stronghold of the Knights on the Malta island, they prepare themselves to face the biggest battle of that time. Suleiman’s people think of the Christian knights as the Hounds of Hell, but they like to call themselves The Religion. Meanwhile, a French countess named Carla La Penautier looks to find a way to reach Malta in order to find her lost son. She tries to contact people in Messina, Sicily, who would help her with a passage to Malta to look for her son, who was taken from her 12 years ago at the time of his birth.

Carla Penautier learns that the only man capable of helping her in her mission is a Saxon adventurer named Mattias Tannhauser. Mattias possesses the daring and expertise required to take up the expedition with Carla La Penautier. He is known to be a Rabelaisian soldier, former Janissary, arms dealer, and a man of fortune. After listening to Carla’s request, he agrees to help her. As soon as they arrive in Malta, they come to know about the most spectacular siege in the history of military battles. Now, they must try to locate the boy without getting stuck in the siege. Mattias Tannhauser and Carla La Penautier prepare themselves to find the boy and take him to safety. But, the biggest problem of all is that they do not know the name of the child and have never seen his face. This book gives an epic account of the greatest conflict between West and East. Author Willocks seems to have done an excellent job in plunging the readers headlong into a different time and world. Many critics have credited him to have revived historical fiction.

The second installment of the series is called ‘Twelve Children of Paris’. It was published by Jonathan Cape in 20123. This book’s plot is set in Paris in the year 1572. It features the primary characters in the roles of Mattias Tannhauser, Grymonde, Carla La Penautier, etc. This book opens by mentioning that Mattias and Carla have married each other. Also, Carla is pregnant with his child. When Carla La Penautier disappears mysteriously, Mattias Tannhauser decides to set on a journey to find his wife. The search takes him to a place that is about to witness the bloodiest massacre in the history of Europe. After facing three religious wars, Paris turns into a place full of hatred, corruption, and intrigue. A Royal Wedding is announced with the intention of healing the wounds of the people. But, it adds salt to the wounds and poisons the fanatics of opposite creed. Carla had also received an invitation to the wedding ceremony and she is on the way to reach Paris without having any knowledge of the volatile situation there.

When Mattias Tannhauser learns about the upcoming bloody massacres of Paris, he follows Carla’s trail to locate her and take her home safely. He arrives in the town on the occasion of Saint Bartholomew’s Eve. Soon after, the massacres begin to take place and thousands of Huguenots get killed in the process. As the city falls into the hands of anarchy, a grotesque leader of the gang of Yards named Grymonde kidnaps Carla. Mattias Tannhauser also gets framed into a conspiracy and imprisoned. Later, he is wanted by an assassins’ guild, Saint-Jacques militant army, and the law. When he realizes that the situation is not going to turn favorable anytime soon, he makes up his mind to face the pitiless extremes. Mattias rides into the bloody massacres with the assistance of a stable boy with the hope that Carla is still alive and well.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tim Willocks

Leave a Reply