Book Notification

Time Quintet Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Time Quintet Books

A Wrinkle in Time (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wind in the Door (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Many Waters (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Acceptable Time (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Intergalactic P.S. 3 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Time Quintet Graphic Novels

A Wrinkle in Time (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Time Quintet” series is for young adult and is both science and fantasy in genre. Originally, “A Wrinkle in Time” was rejected by over twenty publishers before it was accepted and published in 1962. Some of the reasons she was given for rejection included the fact that it was unlike anything else out there and no one could tell if it was for adults or kids and it deals extremely with the problem of evil. The series also has a female protagonist in science fiction, something that was unheard of at the time. It was not until a friend insisted she talk to a man with Farrar, Straus, and Giroux who liked the novel and wound up publishing it. This is despite the company not having a line of children’s books. It would go on to sell over six million copies.

The series is made up five novels that includes “An Acceptable Time” and the “Time Quartet”. “An Acceptable Time” is a novel that takes place a generation after the novels in the “Time Quartet” and stars Polly, the daughter of Meg Murry and connects her adventures.

“Time Quintet” stars Margaret “Meg” Murry, who is the oldest child of Alex and Kate, both scientists. She is the outcast of the family. She is considered a genius in math, but does not do well in the other subjects. Meg is awkward, not popular, and she gets defensive around peers and authority. Meg is jealous of her mother’s looks. Meg is believed to be capable of great things, even though she is immature emotionally. Meg, who is thirteen years old in the first novel, is seen by her teachers and her classmates as being both troublesome and stubborn. She is the main protagonist of the series.

Then there is Charles Wallace Murry, the youngest child of Alex and Kate. He is a genius, most extraordinary, but at the same time, he is the most vulnerable. It took until he was four years old for him to start talking, and was able to talk in complete sentences. He has the ability to read certain thoughts in two different ways.

Charles and Meg have twin brothers named Alexander and Dennys, who are in between Meg and Charles age wise. The twins are considered the squares of the family. They are skeptical of things that Meg and Charles say has happened.

Another character in the series, is Calvin O’Keefe. He is the third born child of eleven; he is tall, red haired, and thin. He is so tall and his family poor that he has to wear different hand me downs or clothes that do not fit him very well. In the first book, he is already almost finished with high school (a junior), even though he is fourteen years old. He is a basketball player and is so neglected that he joins in on the fun that the Murrys have.

“A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle is the first novel in the “Time Quintet” series that was released in 1962. Meg is unable to sleep during a noisy thunderstorm, and leaves her room in the attic. She sees her brother at the dinner table, eating a jam sandwich and drinking milk. Soon, they are joined by their mother, and their neighbor, Mrs. Whatsit, stops by. Her father, who has disappeared, was working on a tesseract, something that Mrs. Whatsit says actually exists. Later, Calvin, a junior in high school goes with both Charles and Meg on a trip to a haunted house and find a strange woman named Mrs. Who. Mrs. Who is a known friend of Mrs. Whatsit. Mrs. Who also agrees to help find their missing father. They find there is more to Whatsit, Who, and another woman named Mrs. Which than just being strange. They are supernatural beings and take them through the universe with the help of the tesseract. The tesseract is something that can fold the fabric of space and time.

Fans of the novel keeps them engaged, and there is good writing, amusing moments, and still has some mystery to it. The novel is quite enjoyable and touching for quite a few readers, even if they have read the novel before. This novel is a must read for any young women or kids before they grow up. Some find that they can keep reading and reading the book, and that it never gets old to them.

Some did not like all of the Christianity in the book, finding that it is a little too much religion for a kids novel. Some found the noel to only be a Christian or religious book.

“A Wind in the Door” by Madeleine L’Engle is the second novel in the “Time Quintet” series that was released in 1973. The novel takes place just one year after the first novel in the series. On day in November, Meg comes home from school one day and is told by Charles that he saw some dragons in the vegetable garden that belongs to their twin siblings Alex and Dennys. When C.W. Meg, Calvin, and Charles go to the garden at night, they meet someone called the “Teacher” (or Blajeny) who says that they are actually seeing a cherubim who is named Proginoskes. C.W. Is sick and it is Blajeny and Proginoskes’s job to save him and keep the evil Echthros from ruining things.

Fans of the novel like the way that L’Engle does not dumb things down, even if this is a series for kids, feeling that this gives them respect. It also shows that she understands that they too have intelligence, and she is not talking down to her audience. There is a lot (message wise) in the novel, and it is only slightly over two hundred pages. These here novels stand the test of time.

Some did not like the lack of acknowledgment of the first novel’s events, almost as though this novel forgets them completely.

“A Wrinkle in Time”, the first novel in the series, won the Newbery Medal. It also won the Lewis Carroll Shelf Award and Sequoyah Book Award, and wound up being runner-up for the Hans Christian Andersen Award.

The novel “A Wrinkle in Time” has been adapted by Disney in a television movie in the year 2003.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Time Quintet

Leave a Reply