Book Notification

Time Wars Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of TimeWars Books

The Ivanhoe Gambit (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Timekeeper Conspiracy (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pimpernel Plot (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Zenda Vendetta (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nautilus Sanction (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Khyber Connection (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Argonaut Affair (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dracula Caper (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lilliput Legion (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hellfire Rebellion (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cleopatra Crisis (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Six-Gun Solution (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Time Wars Series
Time Wars is a series of sci-fi novels by a bestselling American author of historical fiction, sci-fi & fantasy and mystery and thriller books Simon Hawke.

The stories revolve around the adventures of an agency tasked with work of preventing time travelers from changing the history of mankind as we know it and many of the events and people considered fictional are historical, and the story of each book revolves around the events of renowned work of literature.
Simon Hawke began Time Wars series in 1984 when The Ivanhoe Gambit was published. The series lasted twelve books concluding in 1991 when The Six-Gun Solution was published.

The Ivanhoe Gambit

In the 27th century, disputes are solved through time travel where soldiers from the future are sent to resolve the conflicts of the past. It seemed a like a brilliant idea: as wartime industries controlled the economy without subjecting nations through the troubles of real war.

For Lucas Priest, joining the United States Army seemed like an adventurous idea compared to his boring corporate job, but after fighting alongside the Roman soldiers and many other battles, his corporate job boredom could be better.

History, as we know it could be easily changed through time travel and a scheme to abduct and impersonate King Richard is discovered in the nick of time. However, can that be stopped before the course of history is forever changed? Two Special Forces elite tried before but their attempts failed terribly, and now Lucas Priest is drafted to complete the mission.

The first in the Time Wars series is a brilliant read. The main idea of the series is that physical warfare is outlawed in the 27th century. Instead of bringing destruction to the present world, countries have agreed to solve their disputes through time travels where soldiers are sent to resolve the conflicts of the past.

Each country sends their military back to the agreed conflict and the country that has most of the soldiers alive after the battle wins the war. As a game of football, people are playing the “referee” role to monitor the body count and decide the country that wins a particular battle.

This idea seemed ideal as it speared the weary Earth from destruction and it was a simple and effective technique. Nations continued sending their young men to die over petty political issues, and no collateral damage would happen in the world since all the destructions and the death would occur in the past. Since time travel “war experts” claimed that nothing the armies from the present could do would change history, all the time wars seemed quite safe for every nation.

Lucas Priest is one of the present soldiers, having marched with Roman legions and fought many other battles. However, none of these battles have prepared Lucas for what he is about to get entangled in, for it seemed that the time war experts were wrong, and history could be changed.

It seems that history as we know it could be changed in such a way that no a single living creature of the present would exist anymore. However, thankfully, the United States Army has discovered that history can be changed and uncovered a dark scheme to change the history by one of the war referees to change the course of history.

Unfortunately, uncovering the scheme and putting it to an end are two different things. Since two elite commandos have tried and failed, Lucas is drafted to complete the mission with his role being to impersonate a person close to King Richard for him to locate the traitor.

However, the big question is- can Lucas find the traitor and stop him before the timer runs out? Will he achieve the mission without changing history?

The Timekeeper Conspiracy

At first, the discovery of time travel seemed like a blessing to the whole world. Nations could go to war and fight their battles in the past rather than ravage the world and destroy the present. However, now the world faced danger with immeasurable consequences as a result of the efforts to change the past.
So Lucas Priest, a member of the Temporal Corps is sent to the 17th century France to infiltrate a terrorist network known as the Timekeepers and put an end to their evil plan once and for all using whatever means.

The Pimpernel Plot

Time travel was not all fun and adventure. Major Lucas, a soldier of the Time Wars was aware of the danger of messing with the time travel since one false move and the course of history would be forever changed.

In the third book in the series, Lucas is faced with the most significant test of his career- to correct the events of the French revolution and rectify the mistake made by an agent working for the Temporal Corps.

In his first-time travel mission, Alex Cordero caused the death of an English aristocrat named Percy Blakeley who played a vital role in saving French royalist from execution. Someone had to impersonate Percy and continue carrying out the task of saving the French royalists.

The Zenda Vendetta

Prince Rudolf is about to be crowned the king in the kingdom of Ruritania, but due to the machination of his stepbrother, the prince becomes a prisoner of Zenda.

That was way back in the 19th century, and history is set to repeat itself but this time around with a twist. A terrorist organization dubbed the timekeepers from the 27th century has traveled back in time to change the course of history.

However unimportance the kingdom of Ruritania may be, the smallest change of the past would result in significant changes to the present. The elite forces of the Temporal Intelligence Agency Finn Delaney, Andre Cross and our man Lucas Priest have another task at hand- a mission that requires them to prevent the past from being changed and all they have as a guide is a vaguely 19th-century novel.

The fourth in Time Wars series keeps up with action and thrills of the earlier books in the series and this time the story makes reference to the fictional novel that the events are based. Simon Hawke adds some fascinating depths to his characters and the games all of which add weight to the story plot.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Time Wars

Leave a Reply