Book Notification

Timmy Failure Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Timmy Failure Books

Mistakes Were Made (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now Look What You've Done (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Meet Again (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sanitized for Your Protection (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book You're Not Supposed to Have (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cat Stole My Pants (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now Look What Mistakes Were Made (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
It's the End When I Say It's the End (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zero to Hero (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Timmy Failure book series is an exciting series of children’s fiction, humor, mystery, middle grade, and juvenile stories. It is written by a reputed American novelist named Stephan Pastis. The series contains a total of 7 books released between 2013 and 2018. Every novel in this series features the main character in the role of Timmy Failure. He is described as an 11-year old kid, who indulges in investigative activities. Timmy Failure is the CEO, President, and founder of his detective agency and considers it to be the best agency in the whole world. Over the course of the novel series, Timmy Failure indulging in various detective works and solving the mysteries with his determination and dedication. In the first book, all the historical records mentioned by Stephan Pastis are taken from his own life working as a detective. Each of the drawings depicted in the entire series is made by Stephan, who is regarded as a well known cartoonist. Stephan has said that he tried to get the illustrations done by his business partner, but they didn’t turn out as per his expectations. So, he decided to do the illustrations on his own, and was subsequently praised for his excellent depictions.

Stephan Pastis has mentioned another essential character in the books, a polar bear called Total. He assists Timmy Failure in carrying out the investigations. As Timmy Failure and Total are the main partners of his detective agency, it eventually gets the name Total Failure, Inc. A number of other essential characters created by author Pastis for this series include Rollo Tookus, Aunt Colander, Molly Moskins, Doorman Dave, Emilio, Tom John John, etc. The settings of the plots take place in Key West, Florida and Cuba, and several other places in the country. All the novels of the series are widely successful. They have received praises from several prominent critics, fellow authors, and a large number of readers throughout the world. Stephan Pastis was also praised for his magnificent writing skills and character development. The series’ success made him well known author of children’s books and established him in the ranks of prominent writers. He looks forward to add several more titles in this series and develop other novel series as well.

Stephan Pastis is a bestselling cartoonist and author from Northern California, United States. He is particularly famous for Pearls Before Swine, a successful comic strip that is featured in more than 6 hundred newspapers and has a largely devoted fan-following. As an author, he has penned the widely successful Timmy Failure novel series. Stephan was born on January 01, 1968 and brought up in San Marino, California. He completed his graduation from the California University at Berkeley and obtained a political science degree in 1989. Stephan Pastis had the dream of becoming a syndicated cartoonist. But when he realized that there is very less scope for syndication, he chose to enroll himself at the UCLA Law School. After obtaining a law degree, Stephan started practicing law from 1993 onwards in the area of San Francisco Bay. However, he did not remain attached to this profession for very long because of his never-ending passion for drawing cartoons and quit in 2002.

While Stephan was still working as an attorney, he had started submitting numerous concepts of comic strip to various syndicates. And as with virtually every other cartoonist, Stephan too faced rejections in the beginning. It was in 1997 that he began developing Pearls Before Swine and submitted it in 1999. At the end of the same year, Stephan was called by United for signing a contract with them. And just after his comic strip made its debut in the newspapers, Stephan stopped his law practice. Stephan Pastis received nominations for the Best Newspaper Comic Strip in 2003, 2004, & 2007 by the National Cartoonist Society. He won the prize in 2004 & 2007. Pastis says that he was highly influenced by Charles Schulz, Darby Conley, Scott Adams, and Gary Larson, and this enabled him to come up with his own series of novels. His very first book as a novelist got listed as a NY Times bestseller, which motivated him to write more novels. Stephan has been praised by the critics for his ability to appeal to the young readers through his stories. He hopes that his stories make the children and their parents laugh as he always tries to create stories having humorous elements in it. As of today, Stephan resides in Norther California along with his family.

The debut book of the Timmy Failure series written by author Stephan Pastis is entitled ‘Mistakes Were Made’. It was released by the Candlewick Press in 2013. The book introduces Timmy Failure as an eleven year old detective. He is clueless and is self-confident about being the best detective around. He has a lazy partner in the form of a big polar bear, whom he calls Total. About Timmy, it is famous that any mystery he takes up to solve becomes much more mysterious. With his detective agency, Total Failure, Inc., Timmy hopes to earn so much money that his mom won’t have to worry about bills anymore. Throughout this novel, Timmy Failure is seen having peerless hilarity, which is followed by a hilarious twist. Author Pastis has added perfectly paced elements of visual humor in this story that make it even more hilarious to read. It looks like Pastis has succeeded in creating an outstanding story for kids. There are many other comical twists & turns in the plot that the younger readers can find enjoyable to read.

The next installment of the series is called ‘Now Look What You’ve Done’. It was also published by Candlewick Press in 2014. In this novel, the primary characters are depicted as Great-Aunt Colander, Timmy Failure, and Total. At the book’s start, it is depicted that Timmy Failure does not like pulling rank. He seems very excited when he realizes that he is about to solve the biggest mystery of the generation. Timmy is very close to finding the stolen globe, which is a competition organized by his school authorities. If he wins this competition, Timmy will win the $500 cash prize. And he thinks that it is going to be a big breakthrough in his career as a detective. Timmy thinks that someone is trying to cause problems in his path of winning the prize. So, Timmy prepares himself to battle the unknown enemy and defeat him. He seeks the help of his team members, his eccentric ally Great-Aunt Colander, and his lazy partner Total. Timmy and his team are all set to tackle the enemy and win the competition, but he needs to submit the entry form on time first.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Timmy Failure

Leave a Reply