Book Notification

Toby Neal Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Paradise Crime Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Paradise Crime Thrillers Books

Publication Order of Paradise Crime Cozy Mystery Books

Publication Order of Accidental Matchmaker Books

as Toby Jane
Somewhere on Maui (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somewhere on St. Thomas (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somewhere in the City (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somewhere in California (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somewhere in Wine Country (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Scorch Books

with Emily Reed,with as Toby Jane

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Memoirs Books

as T.W. Neal

Hawaiian author of popular crime novels, Toby Neal has been writing for some time now, along with a number of young adult titles as well. Seen as a leading figure within her field, Neal writes both critically and commercially successful fiction for a wide-range of differing tastes and readers. With her audience growing day-by-day, the potential for her career to continue expanding will increase in the years to come.

Early and Personal Life

Born in the United State, writer Toby Neal initially grew up in Hawaii on the island of Kauai, where she spent most of her formative years. Writing her first story at the young age of five, she not only crafted it, but also illustrated it as well, providing her with the early interest that was to take her on through much of her adult career. This upbringing, along with her passion for literature, helped inform a lot of her material and give her the basis she needed to get started, as well as her inspiration.

Later she graduated from university where she majored in journalism, furthering her abilities with the written word. After this she then went into mental health working as a carer, an experience which also provided her with much inspiration, a career which she’s still involved in today. This has also helped fuel her fascination in other people’s psyches and stories, along with her wanting to help others. Taking part in variety of sports, such as hiking, gardening and body-boarding, she keeps herself active whilst thinking about her next story. Living in Hawaii to this day, she continues to write enjoying what she does, something which looks set to continue on into the foreseeable future.

Writing Career

Writing her first book in 2011 and getting it published, Toby Neal introduced the world to her character Lei Crime, a sharp and efficient detective. With her novels being set within the crime genre, she managed to get an insight into the protagonists psyche along with all those she comes into contact with. For a crime novel this proved to be a winning formula and soon many readers were picking it up, following the ongoing story to see what happened next. Set over eight novels so far and counting, this story and character has provided her with a vast amount of potential and continues to do so as time goes on.

Her other novels have also carried on in a similar vein, providing much of the intrigue and mystery that enticed her readers in the first place. The novel ‘Unsound’ was one such solo work that helped establish an alternate world for her to explore, it being published in 2013 on the 2nd of August. Involving many of the same themes, it proved once again her talent for exploring the inner workings of the mind, which was reflected in both her commercial and critical success. Respected amongst her peers, such as recommendations from influential crime writers such as Gae Lynn Woods, has helped secure her place as a key figure in the crime genre. With a number of other novels, such as her foray into young adult fiction with her novel ‘Island Fire’, she continues to rise as a writer. Producing non-fiction works as well, it is now certain that she’s here to stay and will carry on writing with plenty more on the horizon.

Stolen in Paradise

Published on the 11th of April, 2013, this novel of from Toby Neal marks a distinctive solo entry into her already extensive bibliography as a writer. Taking a somewhat different direction, it works to provide a new perspective with new characters and protagonists for her growing readers and audience. Featuring a different tone and ambiance to what came before, it helps to establish a new style for this now prolific writer of suspense filled crime fiction.

Telling the story of one Agent Marcella Scott, it allows the reader into her world and the life of a Special Agent attempting to get to the bottom of an ever complex case. Strong-willed as she is quick-witted, she manages to use all the skills at her disposal, analyzing any given facts whilst putting all of the pieces together. Faced with her own emotional baggage as well, it manages to avoid the cliches faced with such a trope by displaying her vulnerabilities in a very real and highly relatable style. Looking into the death of an extremely prominent scientist, she starts to investigate his case after they wash up dead on a Waikiki beach having been shot right between the eyes. It seems that someone wants to cover up some stolen algae linked to the Biogreen corporation that could be the solution for much of the worlds fuel crisis. Will she be able to get to the bottom of the case, or is she over her head? Can she solve the murder before the killer, or killers, strike once more? What will become of her as she searches for what’s been stolen in paradise?


Published on the 2nd of August, 2013, this was another solo effort for author Toby Neal, as she explores once again the genre of crime fiction. Taking the story in a different direction once more, she this time opts for a far more nuanced and subtle take on the psychological drama, building the tension to breaking point. With her now trademarked character insight prevalent throughout, she deals with subject matter in a far more subdued tone, with a foreboding ambiance that builds and builds.

Featuring the story of Dr. Caprice Wilson, a police psychologist who wants to take a break from it all by going on a hike through the Maui region. Clearing her mind she hopes to take some much needed rest to help give her a sense of perspective on things, but this isn’t to be after she gets involved in a deadly game of cat-and-mouse. Faced with dangerous consequences out in the wilderness, she must pool all her talents and skills together as a psychologist and defeat the enemy if she wants to stay alive. Will she be able to outwit the person on her trail? Does she have what it takes to stay alive? What will become of her as she faces someone, or something, that remains unsound?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Toby Neal

2 Responses to “Toby Neal”

  1. SuzAnn Ewing: 3 years ago

    Love all your books. I am pretty much in bed due to liver problems just discovered. I am so anxious for your next book in the Wired series. There is never a dull moment and your style of writing is so appealing.

    Wishing the best,


    Loved your ‘Wired’ series. I am hooked. Can’ wait for Book 13


Leave a Reply