Book Notification

Tod Goldberg Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Burn Notice Books

Publication Order of Gangsterland Books

Gangsterland (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gangster Nation (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gangsters Don't Die (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fake Liar Cheat (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Living Dead Girl (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Secrets (With: Brad Meltzer) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Simplify (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Other Resort Cities (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Low Desert (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Las Vegas Noir(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Usual Santas(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Palm Springs Noir(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silver Waves of Summer(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tod Goldberg is a New York Times bestselling author from America, who likes to write mystery and fiction novels. His writing career is comprised of more than a dozen books and one novel series. His list of bestselling books includes the one called Gangsterland, which was the finalist of the 2015 Hammett Prize. Another popular book of Goldberg is called The House of Secrets. He co-authored this book with author Brad Meltzer. Author Goldberg was born on January 10, 1971, in Berkeley, California, United States. He belongs to the Jewish community and completed his school education from the Palm Springs High School. Later, he graduated from the California State University in Northridge. Goldberg earned his master’s degree in 2009 from the Bennington College in the subject of creative writing. Initially, author Goldberg started his professional career in the field of journalism. It was only after he realized his interest and passion in fiction writing that he decided to switch to writing on a full time basis. The second novel of Goldberg’s career, called Living Dead Girl, was nominated for an LA Times Book Prize in 2003 in the category of the best mystery. The book was also featured as January Magazine’s one of the top books of 2002. The third book written by author Goldberg consists of stories that he wrote in the past ten years of his literary career in the form of a single volume. This book was initially published by Other Voices’ publishing arm known as the OV Books. The book received excellent reviews from numerous critics and publications such as the Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, Los Angeles Tomes, Chicago Sun Times. It was also named as finalist for the 2006 Booksellers of California Association Award. Besides writing the fiction novels, Goldberg has even written a short story collection called Other Resort Cities. It was released in 2009 by the OV Books and received wide acclaim as well as numerous positive reviews.

The novel series, Burn Notice, written by him is based on the TV series from the USA Network of the same name. In 2013, an essay of Goldberg was selected for the Best American Essays. The latest novel of author Goldberg was released in 2014 by Counterpoint under the title Gangsterland. This novel opened to rave reviews and also earned starred notices in Kirkus, Booklist, and Publisher’s Weekly. The novel was finally named a Hammett Prize finalist as its excellent crime writing. In 2005, author Goldberg was awarded with the best teacher award in the program of the UCLA Extension, where he used to teach creative writing. Goldberg serves as the administrative director of the creative writing program’s MFA at the Palm Desert campus of the California-Riverside University. Author Goldberg joined Julia Pistell and Rider Strong for starting Literary Disco, which is a podcast about writing and books. In 2016, Goldberg collaborated with Brad Meltzer in writing a standalone novel known as House of Secrets. This novel became an instant bestseller in New York Times. Author Goldberg is related to the popular author Lee Goldberg as his brother. The novelists Karen Dinino and Linda Woods are also the siblings of author Goldberg. He is also the nephew of the noteworthy novelist and crime writer named Burl Barer. As of today, author Goldberg is happily married and resides along with his loving wife named Wendy Duren in La Quinta, California. Wendy also works as a writer and supports author Goldberg whenever he needs any help.

An initial book written by Tod Goldberg is entitled ‘Gangsterland’. It was released by the Counterpoint publication in the year 2014. Author Goldberg has set this book’s story in Chicago, Illinois, United States, and has introduced the lead characters as Sal Cupertine and Rabbi David Cohen. At the start of the book’s story, Sal Cupertine is introduced as a great hit man working for the Mafia in Chicago. He is known for having the ability of getting in and out of the crime world without leaving a trace. However, he ends up committing his first mistake because of which he is forced to botch assassination and kill 3 undercover FBI officers. This puts a lot of pressure on him from both the police and the Mafia. In order to get rid of excess pressure, Sal Cupertine agrees to undergo plastic surgery and change his identity completely. Due to the multiple surgeries and intensive training, he becomes successful in taking up the identity of Rabbi Cohen. Following this, Sal starts using his new identity to lead his increasing congregation in different cities like Las Vegas. He begins to oversee the new cemetery, the temple, and the population. And when things begin to work in his favor, he starts thinking that he is done with his wicked past. However, it seems that the Mafia is not done with him. Later, Rabbi’s new cemetery begins to get used for body and money laundering scheme for the Mafia Family in Chicago. Rabbi learns that an FBI agent is on his trail, trying to bring him out from hiding and make him pay for murdering his 3 fellow agents. The recent turn of events makes Rabbi Cohen realize that his new life is not as easy as he had thought. In the end, the novel appears to be a funny and wickedly dark description of the criminal world in Chicago.

Another highly exciting novel written by Goldberg is called ‘The End Game’. This book was released by the NAL publication in the year 2009. The primary characters depicted in this book’s story include Michael Westen, Sam, Fiona, Madeline, and Paolo Fornelli. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Michael Westen is a former covert ops agent. After his retirement, he has started taking up rescue and protection job from clients on a freelance basis. His new client is Paolo Fornelli. Mr. Fornelli works as Helmsman in a yacht and is about to participate in the upcoming Hurricane Cup yacht race. This race is being organized by the super rich and is being held after a week long of high stakes gambling, high class attitude, and high risk businesses. The winner of this race will take away the money collected from all these events. As the expectations of Paolo Fornelli winning the race are very high, his family gets kidnapped and Paolo is ordered to lose the race after making it to the final phase. If he fails to do so, he might not see his family members again. So, he decides to take help from Michael Westen. In order to find the people who have held Paolo’s family as hostage, Michael is required to enter into the high society and play a deadly game against some deadlier opponents. Michael prepares himself for the tough journey ahead and becomes determined to bring back Paolo’s family safe and sound.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tod Goldberg

Leave a Reply