Book Notification

Tom Baker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Doctor Who Books

Doctor Who Meets Scratchman (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Boy Who Kicked Pigs (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Who on Earth is Tom Baker? (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Walk Through a Door (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Doctor Who Game Books

Doctor Who and the Rebel's Gamble (By: William H. Keith Jr.) (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who and the Vortex Crystal (By: William H. Keith Jr.) (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Ghosts of Gralstead & The Devil's Armada (By: Marc Platt) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drosten's Curse (By: A.L. Kennedy) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Ghost Trap (By: Nick Wallace) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Genesis Chamber (By: Marc Platt) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Helm of Awe (By: Marc Platt) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Win Planets and Influence People (By: James Goss) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Mind Runners (By: John Dorney) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Demon Rises (By: John Dorney) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Sons of Kaldor (By: John Dorney) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Who: The Crowmarsh Experiment (By: John Dorney) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scratchman (With: James Goss) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Never Wear Your Wellies in the House and Other Poems to Make You Laugh(1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Boy Who Forgot To Grow Down(1984)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tom Baker is a renowned English comedian, actor, and author. He is particularly well known for playing the role of Doctor Who in the show’s 4th incarnation between 1974 and 1981. Baker has also achieved great acclaim for his narration of Little Britain. He has received a couple of nominations for the Golden Globe Award for portraying the role of Rasputin in a 1971 movie called Nicholas & Alexandra. As a writer, Baker has interests in writing science fiction novels, children’s books, fantasy novels, and biographies & memoirs. Author Baker was born on January 20, 1934, in Liverpool, United Kingdom. His birth name is Thomas Stewart Baker. Tom was the eldest of the 3 children born to his parents. His father served in the Merchant Navy as a steward, while his Catholic mother used to work as a cleaner and a barmaid.

Even though Baker grew up in a poor family background, his uncles, cousins, and aunts were often supportive and kind. So, he didn’t really have an unhappy time as a child. During World War II, Baker’s mother kept him indoors instead of sending him away along with the evacuees as she didn’t want him to get separated from her. The war ended without causing any harm to Baker or his family. He used to collect salvage and shrapnel with a lot of dedication and has often said that he had an exciting time during the war. For his dedication in collecting shrapnels, Baker was awarded a certificate by Liverpool’s Lord Mayor. Later, Baker turned into an altar boy. He used to revel in the incense’s stupefying smell. Baker used to feel that the World War was more fun than carrying out the duties of an altar boy. He was not good in academics as well and struggled to complete the school work on a daily basis. As a result, he had to face failures on a few occasions.

When Baker was 15 years old, he joined the religious order of the Dela Mannais Brothers that originated from Ploermel in France. Baker’s parents felt delighted to hear about this decision of his and thought that being with the religious order is going to take him to the right path in life. For the next few years, Baker got too much engrossed in the monastic life. After a while, Baker felt that there was nothing exciting left about monastic life and with an overwhelming disillusionment, he decided to quit at the age of 21. Baker later described his years spent at the monastery and the religious order in his autobiography. At 22 years of age, Baker joined the National Service. He served in the medical corps for a period of 2 years.

It was during his military service that Baker found and developed an interest in reading and writing. When he was made the head of the medical museum, he used to find a lot of alone time as no one used to visit the museum. Baker used to spend his time at the museum’s library and read numerous books. However, the reading part was not enough for him to overcome the boredom in the silent museum. So, he moved on to become a hospital orderly to a Germany based military hospital. After his military service came to an end, Baker joined theater and got involved in acting. He acted in numerous plays before moving on to become a TV actor. His writing career began and flourished at the same time. Baker is very much satisfied with whatever has achieved in his career as an author. He hopes to continue doing the good work and write as many novels as possible in the years to come.

A popular novel written by author Tom Baker in his literary career is entitled ‘The Boy Who Kicked Pigs’. It was originally published in 1999 and was released in 2005 by the Faber & Faber publication. The illustrations provided in this novel are done by David Roberts. It features the central character in the role of Robert Caligari. Initially, it is depicted that Robert Caligari is a 13-year-old boy, who is thoroughly evil. He likes to kick pigs and believes that the act provides him his kick. Robert goes through a humiliating episode and realizes that he loathes humans very much. Robert takes his revenge in a very terrible manner. This grotesque, depraved, subversive horror-fantasy from author Baker is funny and outrageous. Since its publishing in 1999, the hardback has gone on to take the form of a cult classic. It has attracted a large number of readers in all the places of its release. Most of the readers and numerous critics have spoken highly of the novel and Baker’s storytelling abilities. The characters, plot, settings, and the writing style of Baker received excellent comments from one and all.

Another mind-blowing novel penned by Baker is known as ‘Doctor Who: Scratchman’. It was published by BBC Books in 2019. This is the first even Doctor Who book that Baker has written with the help of his own incredible imagination. Its story appears to be so epic that Baker once thought of developing it into a manuscript for the big screen. Scratchman tells a white-knuckle, gripping, and thrilling story that took Baker almost forty years to write. He has depicted the primary characters in the book in the roles of Sarah Jane Smith, The Doctor, and Harry. The plot opens by depicting that Sarah, Harry, and The Doctor visit a remote island in the Scottish lands to spend a relaxing holiday. Their hopes for an exciting outing are shattered when some strange creatures begin to appear out of nowhere. The hideous scarecrows start preying on the people of the island.

When the incidents of attacks on the locals by the strange creatures continue to be on the rise, the islanders start fearing for their lives. The Doctor decides to find a solution to this problem and save the lives of the local people. However, his plan does not go as planned and the Doctor, Sarah, and Harry fall into a deadly trap. As the universe’s fate hangs in the balance, an ancient force called the Devil, who hails from a different dimension, is required to be defeated. The Doctor attempts everything in his capability to overcome his worst nightmares and battle the Scratchman devil to get rid of the hideous scarecrows once and for all.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Tom Baker

Leave a Reply