Book Notification

Tom Gates Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tom Gates Books

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Excellent Excuses [and Other Good Stuff] (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everything's Amazing (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Genius Ideas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Best Book Day Ever! (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Is Absolutely Fantastic [at Some Things] (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extra Special Treats (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tiny Bit Lucky (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Yes! No. (Maybe) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Top of the Class (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Super Good Skills (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
DogZombies Rule (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family, Friends and Furry Creatures (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Epic Adventure (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Monster? (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mega Make and Do and Stories Too! (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spectacular School Trip (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ten Tremendous Tales (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Random Acts of Fun (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tom Gates Series
Tom Gates is a children’s series by Liz Pichon. The series stars a middle-schooler named Tom who gets in all kinds of mischief like other boys his age. While he often finds himself on the wrong side of his teachers and parents, Tom tries to do the right thing. Throughout the series, you will get to see Tom handle different challenges in school and at home. Friendships will be cemented, enemies will be made, and girls will become more noticeable as the kids get closer to teenage. There are also many lessons to be learnt, not to mention the hilarious illustrations that are sure to brighten your day.

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates
The Brilliant World of Tom Gates comes first in the Tom Gates series. This book introduces Tom Gates, a fifth-grader with an elder sister he finds annoying. Tom wants to get tickets so he can see his favourite band when it comes to his hometown. This would have been easy if he wasn’t going against his Big sister, Delia. However, with Tom often getting in trouble at school and home, it is going to be hard to convince his parents that he deserves the tickets. His parents and teachers have caught him lying and cheating enough times, which gets him into an even tighter position. Will Tom get the tickets he desperately needs.
Tom is a lovable character. You will enjoy meeting the boy who loves drawing and has a huge crush on his classmate. Tom’s family is great, and it is fun seeing how they deal with issues that arise in the course of the story. Derek is another outstanding character. He and Tom have loads of fun talking about their favourite band. It is funny how dramatic the boys get when Derek’s dog chews his tickets. Toms’s teacher, Mr Fullerman, also turns to be a fantastic person. He was the last person Tom expected at the concert, and while he doesn’t like teachers in general, Mr Fullerman makes his day at the concert memorable.

This is a delightful story that any middle schooler will love. The story comes complete with hilarious artwork and a main character that many can identify with. Tom’s relationship with his sister is enjoyable even though they do not agree on many things. Anyone with a sibling knows why Tom finds his sister so annoying. He blames her for his lateness to school and everything else that goes wrong in his life. Amazingly, the writing is easy, and most middle graders will understand the content without needing any help. Towards the end is a glossary that explains the English terms used in the story.

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates marks the beginning of what promises to be an intriguing series. It is a perfect choice for readers who enjoy realistic fiction. You will enjoy following Tom as he goes through the troubles of life in school and at home. There is a lot for the readers to learn from Tom’s troubles. The illustrations will leave you in stitches, and Tom’s train of thought at times will make you laugh. If you have a reluctant reader in your house, this is an excellent choice if you want to encourage more reading. This book is also perfect if you want a funny reminder of how life was in middle school.

Excellent Excuses
Excellent Excuses comes second in the Tom Gates series. Tom is still struggling to be a good boy at school. He is trying to improve his grades and stay out of trouble, but his band, named DogZombies, takes most of his time. When he is not trying to build a successful band, Tom spends his time staring at Amy Porter. His crush on this girl continues to grow, and it is like Amy grows more beautiful every time Tom looks at her. After stressing over finding a good drummer for his band, Tom and his friend Derek are excited when they discover how good Norman is at it. Now they can play in public, and the boys already have some exciting performances lined up.

Tom is excited about the upcoming school break. Two weeks of no school means that Tom can forget about classes and other irritating things about school like Marcus Meldrew. Tom knows that he will have loads of time to invent more ways to annoy his elder sister Delia during the break. On the downside, Tom will have to see a dentist during his break. He has a toothache that will not go, so a visit to the dentist is inevitable. There is also his sister and all her annoying habits.

In this sequel, the author takes us on yet another journey into Tom’s life. His school band takes centre stage in this book, and you will love seeing how the kids perform using makeshift instruments. Tom will be doing a lot of drawing in between his performances while overindulging in caramel wafers, which possibly explains his sore tooth. He will also be going swimming, but when he forgets his swim trunks, he has no choice but to wear a teddy bear, one that makes him look like a 5-year-old. Tom’s family’s dynamics come clear in this story, and you cannot help but envy this boy who is surrounded by so much love.

Just like its predecessor, Excellent Excuses comes with loads of fun moments. Thanks to the school break, Tom and his friends will enjoy a lot of adventure. It is fun meeting the quirky grandparents and seeing whatever mischief Tom gets into in this instalment. This book comes in an easy-to-read format. Since you get about five sentences on each page, it is a perfect choice for kids who do not like reading much. The plot is light and straightforward, and the writing is simple enough for kids from 8 years and up to read with ease. The glossary at the back is also helpful in explaining all those words that some kids may not understand.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Tom Gates

Leave a Reply